We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterloo Hotel & Bistro
Ranked #3 of 34 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a place!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have just stayed in The Waterloo hotel. I arrived by motorcycle and was thoughtfully directed to a more secluded parking space where the bike would not be seen from the road. after a wonderful early dinner and thoroughly enjoying the old style bits and bobs of the bar retired to a pleasant, warm room with the best shower head ever!! Love, love this place. teri, you are gorgeous and I thank you for your good humour,, friendliness and the most excellent of stays. I shall return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    54
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
51
9
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent two nights here in February 2013. Having found the hotel at the very last minute, we were delighted to find such a friendly, welcoming place to stay.
The room was large and warm, the bed comfortable, the food (particularly the steak) was great, the price was very reasonable, and the staff were unfailingly friendly and full of local knowledge.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a break in Newport or (if you're willing to drive half an hour) a few days hiking in the Brecon Beacons and Black Mountains.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscarstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lovely food in a great old pub which takes you back in time. The early bird menu is excellent value though the service was, on this occasion, a but random. For example, extra side orders were forgotten, the pork was advertised as including an apple element (which was not present in the dish) and upon request we were given a bowl of apple sauce! Home made bread is to die for. I would recommend the Waterloo for diners who like their food and aren't bothered about what's outside. Avoid the car park unless you drive an exceptionally small car!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MrsG1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the hotel in December. From the start, Bob and Teri were brilliant and helped us make the day exactly what we wanted. Lots of our friends had never been to the hotel before and were absolutely wowed by the bar and decor - if you want something a bit different then it's a perfect wedding venue.
The food was fantastic - from the main meal itself, to the fabulous buffet and then a tasty full English breakfast in the morning.
We stayed in the room with the four poster bed which was luxurious and very comfortable but all the rooms we saw were big and plush looking. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNewportNibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
234 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Having just arrived I am smarting somewhat, compared to what I was expecting. the location is in the docks area of Newport, in the industrial sector right on a busy road and even with all my many windows and curtains closed across, my albeit well appointed room, the noise is still very present, which does not bode well!

Not only that the car park entrance from hell has claimed another scalp. The entrance, described as " a bit tricky" is a nightmare - so tight with virtually no room to re-position thanks to neighbours cars parked outside I managed to scratch the front and back of my car squeezing it in as you might imagine I was anot too happy about that! The very polite and friendly receptionist was clearly used to it and feigned careful indifference whilst making sure it was clearly NOT the hotels responsibility.

The bar was quaint and homely although there was an penchant for taxidermy about the place which I found a little creepy
The service was attentive and the menu reasonable if not a little pricy given the location. That said the food, I had the steak, was very good to be fair
But for all that I would say the location and carpark really did kill it for me

But if you are a heavy sleeper, drive a small car and don't like venturing out of your hotel for a walk then sure give the place a go

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdcsmith2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a great place to stay. Staff are all friendly and treat you like a real person and not like something direct from the good guide to customer service handback where all they know is Sir or Madam. As it is Newport Dragon trail season they have one in the hotel where the staff and residents sem to be looking after it very well ( You could say it is almost party of a special family). The settings in the bar are absolutely stunning and this is complimented with an array of freshly prepared food that is as equally stunning. The bar is well equipped with a great choice of spirits,wines and beers (draught and bottled). For some reason one of the favourite tipples is Remy(You know you are) and the draught cider seems to present a special kick for some people ( Yip you know who you are also). They offer great wekend deals and it is certainly worth having a look at having some nice food and wine and staying overnight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheJockaneseLunatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I've eaten at the Waterloo several times and have always had very high quality food and received great service by the staff.
Have just had my 40th birthday party there as well and cannot fault the place. Excellent food, great atmosphere and very friendly, accomodating staff. We were a big group and we had several more than originally expected but the staff coped brilliantly and did everything possible to ensure we had a top night.
I can't recommend this place highly enough and will definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJI999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
2.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#8 of 18 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterloo Hotel & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterloo Hotel & Bistro

Property: The Waterloo Hotel & Bistro
Address: 113 Alexandra Road | Pill, Newport NP20 2JG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterloo Hotel & Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a prominent position next to the Transporter Bridge in the centre of Newport Docks regeneration scheme The Waterloo offers residents a pleasurable stay in our newly refurbished 21 ensuite bedroom hotel. The hotel provides a unique and comfortable stay in our spacious rooms with tasteful decoration and beautifully tiled bathrooms with under-floor heating.Come and try our superb cuisine in delightful and unique surroundings. The mosaic tiled bar and the beautifully laid terrazzo floor are only part of the exquisite surroundings. All complimented by our Head Chef Kevin Brooks, formally Welsh Chef Of The Year, his determination to provide customers with British and European culinary delights in the form of the Early Bird Menu and the A la Carte Menu.With easy access to the M4, only 15 minutes from Cardiff, or 15 minutes to the Second Severn Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Waterloo Hotel & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterloo Hotel And Bistro
The Waterloo Hotel & Bistro Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing