We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend stay at Ibis budget Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“weekend stay at Ibis budget Newport”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is basic but value for money the staff are helpful. The rooms are clean we have stayed 3 times and will stay again.
There was a problem with a burst pipe on one stay they informed us and moved us very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Chezza444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards Katarzyna Durczynska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    198
    155
    58
    50
See reviews for
123
185
67
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Not alot you can say about these places really. they are all exactly the same!
there surprisingly wasnt a lot of noise from the motorway... the rooms was clean and i slept pretty well.
nothing bad to report. nothing great either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brunosmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Katarzyna Durczynska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We travel down to the Merthyr valleys area twice a year, found this hotel three years ago, and now stay here every time we come down.
As other reviewers have stated, the rooms are small, as is the loo, but the power shower is superb. To be able to stay in a clean, modern hotel at this price, I don't think you should expect tea and coffee making facilities (we have a travel kettle and two mugs that travel with us), but there is a double bed and bunk bed in each room, and coupled with the triple glazed windows, it makes for a good nights sleep.
If you are planning a protracted stay in the area, the room might be a tad small if you want to spread your luggage out, but we stay for a maximum of two nights and for that it's absolutely ideal.
Situated about a minute from the motorway sliproad, parking is outside the hotel in it's own gated compound.
The reception area, which doubles as the breakfast/work area with tables and seating, is clean and functional, with vending machines selling food and all kinds of drinks (including alcoholic ones), there is an upmarket coffee machine also. You can purchase a continental breakfast if you so wish.
Eating out in the evening? In your car head out to the dual carriageway traffic lights and turn right. 400 yards up the road on the left is a large "Carvers Table" inn (not the right name, but you can imagine the type).
Walking? Turn left out of the hotel and take the little tunnel under the motorway. About 400 yards down on the left is a local pub that sells it's own food, with a great range of beers and very friendly locals.
Staying on that road and you will find numerous food outlets including the ubiquitous fish and chip shop, a pizzeria and chinese/indian take aways. There is also a well stocked off licence on the corner if you wish to buy your own drinks to take back to the Ibis.
The staff are faultless. Attentive and polite, your arrival and departure is dealt with smoothly and efficiently and any problems are ironed out without a thought.
Yes the rooms are small, but they are functional and spotlessly clean, and for the price this hotel is exactly what you need if you need a one or two night stopover in the Newport area. Take your own kettle and coffee, and that's all you will need, at a bargain price.
Hope you found this helpful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are triple glazed so keep the external noise out, and there is a lift to each floor, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Katarzyna Durczynska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Was ideal as a base for travelling to Cardiff, situated less than a minutes drive from the M4. Small rooms, with no storage space and a tiny toilet but was fine for the short time we were there. Clean enough

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank KillieBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Katarzyna Durczynska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent value for money.We would stay at this hotel again.We had six rooms and all friends and family would stay again.Very clean and staff friendly and helpful.Good value continental buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Bodie1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Katarzyna Durczynska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed overnight and for a budget it was clean and had enough for the one night. Shower is glass screen in bedroom which is fine if you are that close to person sharing with if not you will reveal more than you would like.
Toilet closet bit small slightly claustrophobic pee with door open lol.
Shower was really good and hot.room had good temp.
Windows were great couldn't hear the m4 which was a plus.
Bed is firm which is good for me with back problems others may find it too firm. If staying with a child room has a bunk bed.
You can have a breakfast as well if you need it.
Comfortable for one night would use again

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the ibis budget Newport. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Katarzyna Durczynska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had my concerns having seen a few of the reviews but booking a last minute trip, we decided given the price, it was a risk worth taking.
Yes the rooms were small and there were no tea or coffee making facilities but what can you expect for such a small amount of money.
The car park was bigger than expected and secure.
We were given Room 206 on the second floor, the standard rooms have a double bed and a single bunk above, so will sleep 3.The bed was firm but I always find that preferable to too soft and without support. Despite being opposite a very busy road, there was virtually no noise from outside due to very good glazing. The staff were friendly and helpful.
It was clean, comfortable and warm. We would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Katarzyna Durczynska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
6.3 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
534 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
6.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Newport

Property: Hotel ibis budget Newport
Address: 164 Malpas Road, Newport NP20 5PP, Wales (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibis Budget Newport Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing