We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for a great day”

The Waterloo Hotel and Bistro
Ranked #40 of 426 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: British, European, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thanks for a great day”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Chosen because of family history in Pill, Cueto's Chip Shop, a great venue for an 80th Birthday Party. With people flying in from South Carolina, New Jersey and upper New York State as well as those travelling across the UK we were hoping for a good time.
50+ guests with a Tapas buffet and a fantastic atmosphere combined with good food and attentive but not overbearing service, empty platters at the end speaks for itself, thanks folks, you are likely to find the family using the venue again.
Reviewer is someone that knew the venue in its dockside heyday in the 70's & 80's, including when it had a boxing ring inside the small bar and one out the back, many of the family guests knew it from earlier days! Pill has a heritage and we were all pleased that it is still there to see.
The American contingent were impressed, especially with the tiled bar and the rest of the decor.
Go see for yourselves and enjoy a wee bit of history, along with fine food and good value..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baldred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    48
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caerdydd, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This place has it all... The food & the atmosphere..”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a Christmas meal with work colleagues who are based in Newport so came not knowing what to expect. In the shadow of the old Transporter bridge, the building looks ok from the outside, but does not prepare you for the seemingly genuinely untouched, tile and wood interior. In short, a gem. Aha, but surely the food can't be that good then ? Wrong. Had a wonderfull and reasonably priced Xmas three course lunch which was wonderfully prepared, with quality ingredients at an extremely reasonable price. It's a bit of a trek from my home, and certainly an effort for me to make, but one which I fully intend making as often as possible in future. Spread the word. Quality, independent pubs like this need us in these tough times, so lets use them do as to keep them. Excellent !

Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesycwmmer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Posh Nosh for Newport”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Dined here a few times and happy to commend it as somewhere offering good quality well presented food for folks looking for a bistro/restaurant level meal. Today's lunch (see photo below) was Beef, Mushroom and Stilton casserole, my partner enjoyed the bacon wrapped faggots with mash and mushy peas. This is bistro style dining with attention to detail in the presentation and in the restaurant setting. The real treat of this place is of course the stunning Victorian ceramic tiled bar. Service is courteous and professional - and the proprietor (who always puts me in mind of actor Howard Keel) is there as the avuncular maire d'. Main course menu was around £15/head; light lunch menu less than a tenner so excellent value for this quality of food and presentation.

For reference, the local authority food rating is currently 3.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grrlAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
241 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Amazing Building and Food!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I ate here with 8 work colleagues on our monthly lunch out. I had previously heard a lot about this place from other people and have always wanted to try it. I was not disappointed! The building itself is absolutely beautiful. All the old features have been restored, and the paintings inside of the local area how it used to be are fascinating. Make sure when you visit you have a good look around the place.
We were greeted by friendly staff, who took our drinks orders then showed us to our table. We had pre-ordered our food and this came out exactly on time, all piping hot and all at the same time. The majority of us ordered from the Light Bite menu, however the portions were very generous! Most of us ended up having to leave a chip or two (the chips by the way are amazing, really large square cut homemade chunky chips and very fluffy inside). All 9 of us loved our food, there was not one complaint about anything during out visit.
The prices were very reasonable, lots of choice (light bite, grill and a la carte), beautiful building with a great atmosphere, even at lunch time.
Keen to go back and try out the Tapas night which is the last Thursday of each month!
Thoroughly recommend a visit to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannahBWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were staying on the edge of Newport for work and looked for a recommended restaurant on here. The Waterloo came up and it wasn't far, so we headed there.
The area seems a bit run down and the Waterloo hotel doesn't look much from the outside, but on the inside it is a whole other story, like walking back in time. The hotel had a very welcoming atmosphere so we chatted to the staff, got drinks and sat down. The menu is huge and there are blackboards with other options, which was impressive considering it was quite quiet. When the food was ready we were taken to the main area and brought our food. The service was faultless and attentive without being intrusive and the food was fantastic, and after a long day very welcome.
Very worth a detour if you are in the area, and if we are back in the Cardiff / Newport area, we will definitely go out of our way to go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woodinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterloo Hotel and Bistro also viewed

Newport, South Wales
 
Newport, South Wales
Newport, South Wales
 

Been to The Waterloo Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing