We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great cosy nights sleep”
Review of New Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Inn Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Not the biggest room in the world, but they made good use of the space. I had the best nights sleep in that bed it was so comfy. The room was very warm too.
The bathroom is modern, clean and there are ammenties.
Ammenties in the room include, iron and board, kettle, cups, tea, coffees, biscuits, hair dryer, shower gel, shampoo and extra pillows.
Overall very good value for money

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 223 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is a budget motel style establishment which was perfect for our one night stop-over. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped, the receptionist on arrival was friendly and efficient and the breakfast was acceptable. The adjoining pub was good value for dinner so all in all it was better than we were expecting and we would be happy to use this small chain again as long as the price was right.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelcft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Arrived on saturday morning to watch the rugby in Cardiff, the hotel is located brilliantly for the M4 and has a bus stop nearby for access to Newport. The hotel is budget and the quality reflects this. We arrived earlier than expected and asked if we could leave our bags, we were told our room was ready and we could check in. We did so and found two maids in our room making beds. Nevertheless, they helped us with where the bus stop was. As we left, the receptionist asked if. We were going to be late back, we said no, but we kept the keys just in case. Upon arriving back from the rugby at half ten, we found reception to be empty with the shutter down. We went to our room and couldn't find the remote control for our TV. In the morning, the shower was no more than a cold dribble and as we were making the beds, we. Found the remote control under one of our mattresses! breakfast was greasy and the sausages were horrible. Rubbery. I wouldn't stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pappleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Great value and a good place for a stopover en route to somewhere. Not too far from the motorway but far enough as to avoid all the noise. A fairly basic room but for the price we were actually pleasantly surprised. The bed was very comfortable, the room didn't seem that worn as other reviews say and we found the staff friendly. On value alone I would recommend this place and we will be staying here again when driving to Wales. It is fairly basic but it suited our needs and we didn't pay very much for it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stranger44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alun155, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Thanks for your positive feedback hope to see you again soon!

Many Thanks

Alun Friswell

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My friend and I took our Mum's to see Take That and booked this 'motel' so we didn't have to drive home after the concert. The booking was made 5 months in advanced and I called to double check the booking a month before but on the day our booking had been 'mucked up' and instead of 2 twins we had a double and a twin. No apology from reception although she as very polite she didn't even appear to try and resolve it. The room was ok, I a bit dated but you could see evidence that improvements had been made. Our bathroom was vile, it smelt of stale urine, the floor was covered in marks and the shower was grimey. The Mangeress (a blond lady) had absolutley no customer service skills and although I saw her on 4 different occasions not once did she even smile of greet me or any other guests. She was quite frankly miserable. Breakfast was appallling I was glad I ordered a veggie breakfast as my Mum's sausage was pink and uncooked in the middle and all the bacon had purple marks all over it. We were glad though that we'd arrived berfore 9 am as other guests who arrived at 0903 were 'told off' for being late! The booking itself was inexpensive but I did not expect that quality of accommodation, service and food in this country.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimniemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alun155, Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

This hotel has now had a full refurbishment! please come back and try us again

Many Thanks

Alun Friswell

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Arrived about 8 and finally hunted down someone to check us in .Check in was a "relaxed" affair conducted in a friendly manner.

The room itself was fine albeit a little "lived in". TV reception was a little iffy but dealt with quickly once reported.Only problem was the noise from youngsters leaving the attached pub at & well after closing time.
.
Parking was difficult to find when we arrived due to said pub - and the next morning - a mini-market was in process at the other end of the car park. More noise & lack of parking.

Overall, the stafff of the hotel & pub were friendly - and anything we asked for was provided quickly & with a smile. The place could do with an upgrade - but its clean. Now if they could impress on their younger patrons that pub closing time is not a licence to shout, scream & rev your engine in the car park than I'd be happy.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlannoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alun155, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Please note the Hotel has now had a full refurbishment and I hope to see you again soon!

Regards

Alun Friswell

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

stayed for one night after dropping off our son at Newport uni. At £36 for the night we couldn't complain at all. the staff were friendly and accommodating, the room was clean and a decent size for a motel. if you want a beautiful view and romance then you need to look elsewhere but if you want a good value, clean and well situated hotel then this is for you. the pub next door was handy for a pint and 'fill a hole' food and was cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillbrian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
4.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#11 of 18 in Newport
596 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#8 of 18 in Newport
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn Hotel

Address: Chepstow Road | Langstone, Newport NP18 2JN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: $61 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COME AND STAY IN OUR BRAND NEW REFURBISHED ROOMS, THE BEST NIGHT'S SLEEP GUARANTEED!! The New Inn Hotel is highly recommended by our guests and offers great value food and a clean, comfortable and competitively priced stay. Located on the edge of Newport within easy reach of the M4 we are ideally situated to meet your needs, be it a business meeting, a stopover, sporting event or family occasion. In our recently refurbished bar and restaurant we are proud of our reputation for serving good quality, value for money food from our Fayre & Square menu and have a good selection of award winning real ales, beers and wide choice of wines to relax with by our log fire. We also have car parking spaces for up to 100 cars and an award-winning indoor children's play area adjoining the restaurant. Our countryside location offers a calming escape from the outside world, our 35 comfortable twin or double rooms are furnished to ensure your relaxation and comfort as are our two family rooms. They are all en-suite and equipped with FREE Wi-Fi, Tea and coffee making facilities, A flat screen digital television, Telephone, Hair dryers and iron. We are pet friendly with designated rooms available. We can also offer credit account facilities to our business guests upon application. Please ask for details from our reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your New Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Newport
New Inn Hotel Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing