We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT”
Review of plymouth arms

plymouth arms
Ranked #477 of 1,223 Restaurants in Cardiff
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Plymouth Arms in Saint Fagans is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
cardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Having heard that the Plymouth Arms had been refurbished, we booked a table for six on what turned out to be a very quiet evening with the restaurant almost empty. Ordered the Beef and Merlot Pie! Should be called "Hunt the Beef Pie". The pie is served in a larger than average pie dish but don't be fooled. It was topped with the usual puff pastry which disappears once you put you knife into it, the beef consisted of approximately four pieces of beef, several large onions and a mass of gravy!! Won't be visiting again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank llangattock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    137
    74
    101
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very under-rated pub”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I have been visiting the Plymouth Arms very regularly for 15 years or more. In all of that time I have had precisely one bad meal. 99.9% have been very acceptable or I wouldn't have returned time and time again. The menu is extensive and changes with the seasons. They offer good hearty puddings all year round which is a bonus from my point of view. There has been a regular turnover of staff (a hazard of the catering scene) but from our experience the staff are generally friendly and helpful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday celebration”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We visited The Plymouth Arms last wednesday to celebrate a 60th birthday. We ordered a homemade cake for after the meal which came with candles and was delicious. We reserved a quiet corner so we could put up balloons etc and we had our own personal waiter for both the food and drinks. The meal was very good indeed and the staff most attentive,giving us time to choose and making sure we had all we needed. We had a great evening and the lady celebrating her birthday was so pleased. We have visited several times previously and never been disappointed. Thankyou so much to everyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
179 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We called in on a very busy afternoon and ordered from the lunch menu. The food was good and served quickly and we decided we would go back in winter after a visit to st fagans. It looks like the sort of place you can easily spend a winter afternoon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adele48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great setting.... slow service”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Every time I've visited this establishment, it seems you must wait an eternity at the bar to order a meal, drinks or both. I must say that when an order is placed, my experience is that there isn't too much of a wait afterwards. The pub has a great setting with large car park and a good outside area. The menu has a few delicious surprises, and good old fashioned favourites.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Buster B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed plymouth arms also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
 
 

Been to plymouth arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing