We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, service, atmosphere and price”

Giovanni's On the Hayes
Ranked #178 of 1,331 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Centre
Transit: Dont worry about transport as there is a main taxi rank just outside as well as a main bus stop infront of the restaurant. The train station is also just a 2 minute walk from Giovannis.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere, and great value for money. We'll definitely go back, every time we visit Cardiff

Thank gail_metcalfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiovannisRest, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's On the Hayes, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant, we really appreciate it. We're very glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to you visiting again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 903 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

We went to Giovanni's after seeing it's rating on TripAdvisor.we only wanted a simple pizza and we went early at 6.15 before the restaurant got too busy.The welcome was warm and we preferred to have water rather than wine with our meal but this was not a problem.We ordered two different pizzas and these were served in a reasonable time and had a generous filling with obviously fresh ingredients.The staff were attentive without being intrusive.The restaurant filled up while we were there and the music and general buzz gave the place a great atmosphere.
I have read some of the poor reviews on TripAdvisor but these in no way reflected our experience.
We hope to return again when next in Cardiff and based on our experience would happily recommend the restaurant.

Thank travelling-golfer-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiovannisRest, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's On the Hayes, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant, we really appreciate it.
We're glad you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you at the Hayes or our new restaurant on Park Place soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have been here twice now, after stumbling on this restaurant just before the New Year. First time we had amazing food and fell in love with the atmosphere. It's a very intimate restaurant playing Italian music in the background, with the happy serving staff singing along and clearly enjoying their work. The service both times was absolutely impeccable and you cannot fault the quality of the food or how quickly it arrives. Certainly the best Italian in Cardiff and it would now take a lot for us to dine elsewhere in the city when we are there. I would certainly recommend booking a table as it has been busy both times we went. Looking forward to our next trip there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 5LF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiovannisRest, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's On the Hayes, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thanks for your review - it means a lot to us.
We're glad you've enjoyed your visits and we hope to see you back with us again soon. We also have a restaurant on Park Place if you haven't tried it yet, offering the same wonderful food and great atmosphere :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stopped in on St Davids day evening and managed to get a table for one. Food was really nice & good price. would go again

Thank whitbyabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiovannisRest, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's On the Hayes, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.
We also have a restaurant on Park Place & we'd love to see you there :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I lv this little gem of a restaurant,lovely people fantastic food everyone who visits Cardiff shld try it out bellisimo

Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiovannisRest, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's On the Hayes, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hi Jason!

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to our restaurant. We're really glad you enjoyed it, and look forward to seeing you again in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's On the Hayes also viewed

 
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Giovanni's On the Hayes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing