We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Saturday lunch, ever!!”

Giovanni's On the Hayes
Ranked #183 of 1,327 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Centre
Transit: Dont worry about transport as there is a main taxi rank just outside as well as a main bus stop infront of the restaurant. The train station is also just a 2 minute walk from Giovannis.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were in the big city again and were getting peckish, so we decided we'd quite like something hot and nourishing, so, Giovanni's on the Hayes was where we headed.
A bottle of house red was duly ordered, with some garlic bread and a portion of the legendary spaghetti bolognese, a particular favourite with my wife and I.
Then, the man himself, Mr. Giovanni, popped in with his sister!! The food was already excellent and then to see Gio and his sister, Franchesca having lunch and chatting with customers, brilliant!
This is how a restaurant should be, great food, superb service and the owner, eating there himself!
We come here as often as we can and will continue to do so, as it's value for money, great people and a very central location. And, it was on TV in the Sherlock series, which my wife loves :)
You have to try this restaurant, the staff are brilliant, authentic Italian and are happy to do whatever they can to make your experience as good as it can be.
To steal a word from a previous review...Fantastico!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnStar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiovannisRest, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's On the Hayes, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Hi John,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our restaurant!
We're really glad you enjoyed your experience - our bolognese is very popular, we can see why you like it!

Giovanni and Francesca try to visit the restaurant as often as they can as they really do love chatting to the customers and checking first hand that everyone is happy (plus, they already know the food is great!) and i'm sure they'll be over the moon to read how happy you were with your visit.

We also have a new restaurant on Park Place which we'd love for you to try - if you'd like to book yourself a table please call 02920 226299.

Hope to see you again very soon, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 897 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Excellent meal , would highly recommend, this restaurant, scallops were amazing , , staff are always friendly and smiley :-)

Thank holidayqueenwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiovannisRest, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's On the Hayes, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant, it's very much appreciated!

We're glad you enjoyed the food, particularly the Scallops, we often get good feedback about them :)

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Went here with my wife on a wednesday night. I loved the old fashioned theme in the restaurant, it was like going back to the seventies. Lots of banter amongst the italian staff really gave the place an authentic feel. The waiters and a young Lady were very able and professional delivering a faultless Service throughout the evening. The food however did nothing to impress , my wife's Chicken cacciatora seemed to have been boiled and smothered with a sauce that didn't please the palate. My Spaghetti Marinara consisted of mainly North Atlantic cooked prawns, a couple of mussels & clams, again smothered in tomato sauce. I Didn't have the heart to say anything on the night but as this is not a chain restaurant, I did expect more.

1  Thank euroroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyS212, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's On the Hayes, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

We're awfully sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal. Had you mentioned it on the night we would have done our utmost to make sure you left our restaurant happy. We'd like to discuss your complaint further with you, so we can make sure it doesn't happen again, and to try and keep you as a customer. Please email myself on marketing@giovanniscardiff.com.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Mushroom tagliatelle. No sign of mushrooms, tasted like ... not sure, maybe yeast vite? Bad choice? Probabaly mas cooked, frozen and microwaved Horrible. Also the salad was not fresh. Staff great, place not changed for years.Stick to pizza!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank stillmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyS212, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's On the Hayes, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

We're awfully sorry that the pasta wasn't to your liking, as they are porcini mushrooms it's the flavour more than the amount of mushrooms that goes In to the dish. Did you ask the manager or waiter to put it right? We would have happily rectified the situation. Did you complete a comment card when you dined stating what happened?

We would appreciate you contacting us on marketing@giovanniscardiff.com so we can help to rectify the situation and put things right, and keep you as a customer in the future.

After all, we have been trading 30 years and without you as a customer there is no us.

Thank you, I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was taken here to celebrate Valentines’ day – I adore Italian food so was looking forward to the meal. We had reserved a table for around 8 o’clock and were seated immediately. The wine was good and the food was great!

I had a creamy pasta dish and it was amazing! A good size portion and so rich with flavours! My partner had seafood pasta and he too very much enjoyed.

They had gone out of the way to set the tone for valentine’s day so it was very mellow and romantic – the food was served very quickly too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JadeCC_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiovannisRest, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's On the Hayes, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Giovanni's Restaurant. We're really glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's On the Hayes also viewed

 
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Giovanni's On the Hayes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing