We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shish kebab in Cardiff!”
Review of Troy

Troy
Ranked #163 of 1,223 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best shish kebab in Cardiff!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This restaurant located on City Road looks very unassuming from the outside. We went without booking on a Thursday evening earlier this year at around 7:30pm and were lucky to get a table; I definitely recommend booking for a later time and for a larger party.

We were offered a warm welcome, the service was excellent as well as prompt and we were provided with appetisers as soon as we sat down. The mixed shish kebab was excellent and fresh; can't recommend this place enough... great value too!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    45
    6
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Troyumphant”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Situated amongst many of the takeaways on City Road, this is a hidden gem. I'd never really tried much Turkish food before, but if you're a foodie this is the place to go. It is not pretentious, not a stylish/romantic place but do not let this put you off. Staff are always friendly and more than happy to suggest something for you to try if you're unsure.

I always go for the Lamb Kofta kebab is delicious and all the mains come with heaps of salad, rice, sauces etc. The generous portions makes it a sure bet if you've got big appetite and there is something satisfying about seeing your food on the charcoal grill at the front of the restaurant.

Also good for groups - often seen people after work going for food together.

They also do take away kebabs on the charcoal grill - popped in for one on a late Sunday night after a gig - not cheap but a real treat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TywiTatws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and great people”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a chicken and lamb kebab takeaway, it's by far the best iv ever had!! Portions are HUGE and delicious! We had a lovely warm welcome from all the staff and a complimentary apple tea. Really lovely experience and all so so cheap would recommend to anyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Best Food in Cardiff!!! Definatley the Best Kebab in the WORLD!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Definitely the Best Kebab in the WORLD!! My Wife and I visit Troy's on a regular basis after being introduced to it by a family member studying in Cardiff University. From the outside it looks like one of the other 100's of food outlets in the City Road area, but when you walk in you greeted by a very personable owner who remembers your name and your interests. You can either take away or eat in, upon arrival your always offered a free cup of homemade Turkish tea which is a delight. To many people’s surprise there is a massive open chargrill pit in the middle of the Restaurant where all food is cooked (Except for Fries). On the wall in a frame is a copy of the Times newspaper's top 10 Kebab shops in the UK and Troys is No:1! Yes No:1!!

The Food one word OUTSTANDING!! if you’re taking away I would recommend the rolled kebab which comes with Lamb or Chicken Sish meat a large selection of fresh salad and sauce. The other thing on the menu I HIGHLY Recommend is the freshly make Turkish Pizza which are unbelievable!

I do and I will continue to recommend Troy to everyone I know! tasty!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gavlaa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A leaving do made special by the great service!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

As said in the other reviews, it may look like a typical kebab shop at the entrance but there is a cosy, slightly cramped restaurant behind.
The staff were welcoming and friendly, and the menu was very wide ranging. The party I was with was quite large but we were all served on time with great food and lashings of great flatbread, sauces and house salad.
I had chicken skewers, rice and the accompaning extras and found it all delicious.
I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearsheadrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Troy also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing