We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite restaurant ever!!!!”

Las Iguanas - Cardiff
Ranked #95 of 1,223 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Walk through the doors of Las Iguanas and find yourself transported to Latin America, full of rich, vibrant colours, quirky features and custom-made wooden mosaic tables made especially for the restaurant from sustainable woods in Brazil. Each restaurant is unique and the staff love bringing unusual things back from their travels, ranging from large lobster sculptures to giant drums. The philosophy of Las Iguanas is to serve delicious and authentic Latin American food and drink in an environment which evokes the very best of Latin life. With recipes dating back to the 16th century, the food successfully fuses native Latin American Indian, Spanish, Portuguese and African influences. Working hard to ensure that everything comes from the best possible source, Las Iguanas is proud of its fresh GM free food and top quality ingredients.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant ever!!!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe I have never reviewed this place. I love it here! Staff are fab, food is delicious superb atmosphere....
I practically live there, from a cozy table of 2 to at party of 70 the staff and service are impeccable
Love it love it love it
Megan and Charlie you guys are awesome

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraPPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    189
    83
    49
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food and staff”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have been here 3 times in last month, this is not the norm but am glad i did. The first time was an evening outing and the other twice at Tea time.
The food is gorgeous and fresh and I recomend the chicken wings to start with the very hot sauce (not for the faint hearted). Blazing bird is really nice and the Burrito divine.
The staff are very attentive and explain the food and drink menu.
I have been served twice by Fillipa (sorry if spelt wrong i know it is an F not P ) and she is a credit to the comany.
The only downside i can find is the loos could do with a bit of work and a clean.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muchbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Little Bit Too Much Waiting Around”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Having read good reviews we eagerly pre-booked a table for 7:00pm but still had to wait 45 mins to be seated. Ten minutes more at the table before a menu even arrived, it was not a good start! Eventually when the food and drink arrived the quality was worth the wait and we enjoyed the meal. Overallthe restaurant appeared to be under staffed all round and very little attention to personal service was there. Would we go back? Yes I think we would.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liverian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great drink great food and great fun!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Came here on the last Saturday in June as part of a small hen party -have to say we really enjoyed the whole "package" food drink and above all the staff -ALL the staff came across really friendly and you felt they really did want you to enjoy you night.
Thank You!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorrHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING food!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our dinner at Las Iguanas was the highlight of our (my friend's and mine) trip to Cardiff. The food is delicious, delicious,delicious. Ambiance, the Bay, and everything else is a pleasant backdrop to. The. Food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Iguanas - Cardiff also viewed

 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Las Iguanas - Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing