We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average chain restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bella Italia Cardiff - CLOSED

Bella Italia Cardiff
Price range: $9 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: Perched along Cardiff High Street, Bella Italia provides the perfect retreat from a busy day's shopping or an after work dinner with colleagues. Part of the hugely successful Bella Italia restaurant group, this Cardiff High Street branch boasts the signature Bella Italia design with a rustic yet stylish style dining room. The menu is full of Italian classics where you could start with a dish of Formaggio Fritto (mozzarella, fontina and parmesan cheese in breadcrumbs deep fried with sweet red onion marmalade followed by a mushrooms risotto or a chargrilled salmon fillet with tomato and olive salsa. Great for any dining occasion, Bella Italia is one Italian restaurant that won't break the bank.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average chain restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Been a few times. The food is okay. Portion size is small-to-average. Food tastes okay, ain't going to rock your world. If you have Tescos voucher's worth a visit otherwise I weren't pay full price

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    103
    54
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So Good, We Went There Twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were only in Cardiff for a week, but found this restaurant opposite the castle and decided to try it. The food and service were so good, we returned another night. Even our seven-year-old son (who is a picky eater) loved the pizza!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteMountainsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable meal would highly recommend Bella Italia.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I had a day out in Cardiff and when lunch time arrived decided to look for a suitable venue for a meal.

In the High Street whilst walking from the Cardiff Castle we saw a restaurant called “BELLA ITALIA”. We decided to look on the outside menus. Not understanding Italian language was a little bit difficult for us to know what was offered. We went inside and asked the waitress what was available that day. They do cater for all tastes as well as Italian and so we decided to have Rump steak with fries, mushrooms, some garnish and Italian special tomato sauce. The steaks were possibly the best we have eaten and were cooked just how we had wanted them, perfect to the enth degree. Everything about this main course was perfect and would always recommend that it be a venue where you will find very good waitress service, food cooked beautifully and quickly too. Tea and coffee served for us as well.

This was followed by the best Ice-cream sweet that I have ever tasted and was called “Honeycomb” That was a real treat!

In all, the portions were good, the steaks were 5 ounce, fries were all chips and no wasted bits and nicely lightly coloured reflecting perfection and not at all dripping with fat but served in a separate tall dish stood up so that they can be added to your plate as and when. Absolutely no waste at all – just perfectly cooked!

The restaurant was full of character and very much with the expected Italian decor and with old family photographs around the walls and other Italian pictures too. The Bella Italia is a very clean, tidy and orderly – well looked after and with really excellent service. There is a huge choice of wine and a bar services. The toilets very clean and tidy and up to date – pristine.

This has to rate a 5 star+ with me and I will certainly go again next time I am in Cardiff.
My thanks to the attentive and very capable waitress and the chef for an excellent experience in their restaurant.

ILOVEMYFOOD

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lunchtime specials OK!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Called for our lunch just after mid day and we all had meals from the lunchtime specials menu, staff friendly service was quick food was very nice and was priced very reasonable however please find my revue for the Bella Italia in the Red Dragon Centre that was a whole different ball game!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

lovely restaurant, the food is very nice ( I recommend the pate as starter) and the atmosphere and staff are both excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia Cardiff also viewed

 
Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing