We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like sitting in a little Greek Taverna!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aegean Taverna

Aegean Taverna
Ranked #286 of 1,215 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just like sitting in a little Greek Taverna!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

As soon as you step in off the street, you are transported to Greece! It's so authentic even the staff are all uniformed in black which makes them 'fit in' as part of the scenery even more. The food is absolutely stunning. We had not had a traditional meze since about 2004 when we visited Rhodes and when we had one here it was just like being back there again. We're definitely going back there again.
I've given it a 'very good' instead of an excellent, as our waitress was having a bit of a bad day I think and didn't seem as friendly as I'm sure she could have been.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RubstersMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    37
    8
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I visited The Aegean last night and had an excellent meal. I have been going there for many years and have had birthday and work parties there too. Lefteris and his staff always make you feel welcome and offer a great range of Greek food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CF1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just like Greece”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Fabulous food, helpful staff. Decor was simple but pleasant. Chairs were the same as Greece-not good, reminds me of holidays. Will certainly go again and again and again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Xmas Mediteranian meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Had a great night at the Aegean Taverna. Lovely food and a lovely welcoming atmosphere which lead to a wonderful evening. The Christmas menu had a Mediteranian feel which everyone in our party of ten enjoyed. The Lamb was to die for and the Pork and Stifado equally as nice. The Greek wine helped the evening along with a special mention to Lefteri and his team for making our Christmas night out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickeybrowneyes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

have been to this restaurant a few times and the food is very good and reasonably priced the staff are very helpful and friendly would definately go back

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leeannCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aegean Taverna also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Aegean Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing