We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every respect! A home from home”
Review of Tanes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tanes Hotel
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every respect! A home from home”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We have a daughter at uni and have been coming back to Tanes for the last year or so. We have always been made verywelcome and are always pleased to come back. The family is super friendly and extremely helpful, with nothing too much trouble. We have noticed that the hotel is being renovated and have stayed in one of the ‘new’ rooms which was superb - lovely décor, comfly bed, LCD TV.

We love the guest’s lounge with the bookcases and the original fixtures and fittings. Breakfast is always top notch - a proper fresh cooked breakfast, and cereal and fresh fruit as well.

They have free car parking (which makes a change from the big chain hotels) and are reasonably close to the centre - 5 mins in the car. All in all, we love the place and are made to feel welcome and at home.

Really excellent stay, will use frequently.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funnyface986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    75
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
24
39
45
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stayed with a few friends for the recent rugby weekend. We had rung around and found it difficult to get reasonably priced rooms for this weekend ( we knew it would be more expensive). I have read some of the other reviews and had to respond positively. Tane’s was the best priced and was good value. We were all extremely pleased with it (our first visit to the hotel). From the minute we came in we were warmly greeted by the polite and friendly host who already knew our names. The rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable and well decorated with up to date facilities. We all had a really comfortable night’s sleep.

We wanted to have breakfast, which was excellent – freshly cooked and delicious.

Overall, a fantastic stay - would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billybob92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taneshotel, Manager at Tanes Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review!

We are all extremely pleased that you to took the time to post such appreciative comments and are absolutely thrilled that you gave us such high marks for your stay!

We are so pleased that you found us pleasant, comfortable, clean and good value for money and we are happy that you enjoyed our home cooked breakfast - we would love to have you back!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

The hotel was clean but very dated. The tap in the bathroom was falling off and there was no toilet roll holder, or complementary toiletries. We did not get a wink of sleep as the windows were single glazed and the noise of the traffic was horrendous and the only heater was a portable electric heater.. The breakfast was disgusting but the service was quick. We paid £266 for 2 nights but only stayed 1 as we could not stand another sleepless night. The price was double because of the rugby. We would never recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cantwalkerwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Stayed the night, they charged double for the rugby and extra for breakfast. I wrote this on my comments and the owner rang me back and argued with me over my comments. How disgusting is that. I am the customer and entitled to my comments. I did book the hotel they took the money right away. What company rings you back and complains about your comments. Never stay in this hotel,

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank deeppurple1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taneshotel, Manager at Tanes Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to put your views online.

We did contact the customer by the only means available as the views she expressed on another website (which we are not allowed to name here) do not allow management feedback. We merely wanted to understand her grievance; unfortunately, she was not interested in hearing our point of view.

The customer selected a non-refundable room which is charged on the day of booking on a third-party booking website (at a cheaper, preferential rate) for a Premier weekend where availability was at a premium. In line with all other accommodation providers, we do increase our room prices on Premier weekends - we think we provide a fair price compared to other hotels that increase by 3-400%, in any case, the customer can choose one from the other.

Similarly, we have always charged breakfast as an optional choice; the customer can then choose if they wish this to be included for their stay.

The customers other comments did all positively reflect how comfortable, clean, well located and well staffed she thought we were.

We are sorry if the customer was upset at being contacted; we do consider all comments made in our endeavour to improve and maintain our standards of quality, comfort and value – our review scores overall on third-party websites is 8 out of 10 overall and on our own website is currently 4.2 out of 5 overall customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Didn’t get off to the best of starts when I parked in hotel car park to book in (and was due to go straight out again) and one of the staff came out and told me that I ‘had blocked everyone in now' (although I hadn't). Not even a hello. I wouldn’t recommend staying in the front rooms of the hotel as the Newport Road is noisy. Breakfast was good and other staff were very pleasant. Hotel décor and lounge is very nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taneshotel, Manager at Tanes Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We provide secure, off-road car parking for no extra charge in two car parks (one main and one overspill). This service is based upon customer’s parking in a reasonable manner within clearly marked bays for everyone’s benefit. The customer in the review did park across the bays, thereby blocking in three other customer’s cars. We are sorry if the staff member was impatient in pointing this out to the reviewer, and he has been re-trained to be more polite in future.

We are in the process of replacing all of our front windows to improve soundproofing on our front rooms and we apologise for the reviewer’s sleep being disturbed by this (although most people do not notice this).

We are very pleased that the reviewer enjoyed our freshly cooked breakfast and our comfortable, well decorated rooms and guest’s lounge.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,090 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 876 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Tanes is a very cosy little place a little out of Cardiff centre. It took me about 15-20 minutes to walk into the centre of town, so it is not too far away, and there is a good bus service right out the front.
The owners were very helpful and friendly. My room was on the to floor and was reasonable, if just a little small considering the price. It was comfortable, though, and a good place to stay. The wall heater was very effective - essential in early February!!!
The WIFI was a little patchy for me, so could not be relied on, but not bad considering it is free!
Overall a nice place to stay that is just out of the hussle and bussle of central Cardiff, but close enough that it is not a hike to get into town. Very clean, with a nice cosy feel to the hotel. Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taneshotel, Manager at Tanes Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

We are all extremely pleased that you to took the time to post such appreciative comments and are absolutely thrilled that you gave us such high marks for your stay!

We note your comments and are in the process of improving our free WiFi service to increase coverage and reliability.

We are so pleased that you found us pleasant, comfortable, clean and good value for money - we would love to have you back!

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

It is a nice and pleasant 3* hotel, clean and decent, with kind staff and appropriate breakfast. I stayed 40 days during November and first half of December 2010.

Nikin Zoran, Novi Sad

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikinzoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
3.6 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
1.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanes Hotel

Property: Tanes Hotel
Address: 148 Newport Road | Roath, Cardiff CF24 1DJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel operating in Cardiff for over 30 years. We pride ourselves on our welcome, quality and comfort. We have 21 bedrooms, a mixture of singles, doubles, twins and triples, some en-suite. All rooms are well furnished and centrally heated, they all have colour televisions, washbasins and tea and coffee making facilities. We have a lounge room and dining room for use by our guests, and ground floor rooms available for easy access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Tanes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanes Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing