We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better”
Review of Tanes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tanes Hotel
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Expected better”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Customer service was so poor - the guy who met us when we checked in couldn't wait to get back to what ever he was doing. The rooms are nicely decorated but very few have ensuite and there is only 1 toilet and shower per floor, beware the shower is not powerful at all. It's more like a nice hostel, I certainly wouldn't call this a hotel. Hotel is right beside bus stop which is great to get into city centre - bus takes only 10 minutes and buses are every 5-10 minutes.
Overall wouldn't recommend and certainly would not use this accommodation again when we return to Cardiff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marino18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    75
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
24
39
45
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed overnight with my family while collecting my sister from university.
The greeting was fantastic and friendly.
After being placed in my own room (as requested) I found it be clean, roomy and light.
The only problem I faced, was my room was on the ground floor at the front, so I could hear buses all through the night.
My father explained the next day that I had not closed my window, so the noise was me not thinking!
very happy with my stay, would happily stay again and have recommended to friends.

Room Tip: Close windows of a night if room is at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferrXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avezzano, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I have gone in this place because it had the best price of all hotel in Cardiff. I imagined it would be an hovel, but... Everything was perfect: clean bathroom (shared), kind staff, good position. The manager has deserved compliments personally and on TripAdvisor. Well-reccomended

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 5ergio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2014

It is a family owned business and the pride in what they have built shows in everything they do. As so many of the reviews have indicated, this is a lovely stop in Cardiff. It is comfortable; rooms are updated and our top of the building ensuite was a bit of a climb, but worth it. It sparkled, it was so clean! The road noise was a bit distracting for us, but the bed was so comfy, I fell to sleep easily. Breakfast was lovingly prepared by the sweetest woman. Cardiff QUEEN St rail station is close, but coming from London, we got into Cardiff Central and it was a bit farther than I expected. However, to get to the center of town is a 15 min easy walk. Taxis run about 3 pounds and the bus is 1.80 one way, so 2 of us used the taxi if we tired of walking. I would definitely stay here again if I were to ever be in Cardiff again.

Room Tip: Rm 24 is ensuite double bed, but at the top of the building, so plan to tote luggage up many steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable beds, convenient bus stop to city center, and Tony the manager was very helpful in amending my reservation! Also, walking distance from pubs and grocery. Safe car park in back. I recommend this property!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Really nice comfortable hotel. Reasonable price. Breakfast is extra if you want it. A one night stay while I was there for a conference. I was helped to find somewhere to eat and even offered a takeaway menu. The décor and general condition of the hotel was high. Enjoyed the stay and had a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I needed a single room for one night before my daughter arrived and we started our holiday. This was a lovely old house, I was right at the top of the house but thankfully I didn't have to carry my own case all that way. Breakfast was a bargain so I took advantage, and it was very enjoyable.

Nice comfy room, lovely and clean, and friendly host, in the morning I asked him to call me a taxi. "You're a taxi." he says... oh how we laughed!! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
3.6 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
1.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanes Hotel

Property: Tanes Hotel
Address: 148 Newport Road | Roath, Cardiff CF24 1DJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel operating in Cardiff for over 30 years. We pride ourselves on our welcome, quality and comfort. We have 21 bedrooms, a mixture of singles, doubles, twins and triples, some en-suite. All rooms are well furnished and centrally heated, they all have colour televisions, washbasins and tea and coffee making facilities. We have a lounge room and dining room for use by our guests, and ground floor rooms available for easy access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tanes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanes Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing