We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for vegetarian's!”

Vegetarian Food Studio
Ranked #114 of 1,324 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are an award winning Indian Vegetarian/Vegan Restaurant and Takeaway, based a stone's throw away from Cardiff City Centre. Our wide menu offers dishes predominately Gujarati dishes but we also offer a vast selection from around India & East Africa. These are traditional, home cooked dishes, not usually found in western curry houses. We are a family run restaurant and very popular, so booking is advised. We allow diners to bring their own alcohol for which we charge a £1 per person corkage charge.Recent awards include:The Times & The Sunday Times - Top 130 Restaurants in UK under £50 The Independent - The 50 best cheap eats in UK The Guardian - Top Ten budget places to eat in Cardiff (2008,2009 & 2010)& Winner of the Asian Food Awards 2014.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

An absolute gem of a restaurant, spotlessly clean, impeccable service, excellent food and exceptional value. This was my first visit since the restaurant has moved to bigger premises and I was not disappointed. I went with a group of friends who included committed meat-eaters as well as vegetarians. The service was friendly and welcoming without being over-bearing, the food was really tasty (the meat-eaters especially commented that they did not miss eating meat). the choice is extensive but at £6.25 the thali special is fantastic value as well as being delicious. The restaurant is unlicensed but for a corkage fee you can bring your own alcohol. An absolute gem of a restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegstudio_mngr, Owner at Vegetarian Food Studio, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 293 of 455 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

It's a 90 minute drive from home to Cardiff, but well worth every minute! Superb vegetarian Indian food. Really friendly owner. We travelled in India *many* years ago, and this is so perfectly authentic. My favourite Indian restaurant perhaps of all time.

Thank Bigcoluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegstudio_mngr, Owner at Vegetarian Food Studio, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was the first visit opportunity to try out the VFS and was not disappointed. We will certainly return for a fuller meal again preferably later in the day when there should be a greater ambience. The staff were helpful and the food went down a treat. Two of us enjoyed a taster selection and red bean curry rent well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegstudio_mngr, Owner at Vegetarian Food Studio, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

This was our 1st visit to the vegetarian food studio and it certainly won't be our last.With an extensive menu at ridiculously cheap prices I feel we need to return just to sample everything!
What a find!Bright and airy,super clean and welcoming I urge everyone to give it a try and not be put off by the fact there is no meat in sight.
The food is tasty and best of all,so filling! I thought we were going to struggle with our mains after having the mixed starter platter but we powered through.The thali meal is more than enough for too and at just over £6,a total bargain.
I can't rave about this place enough.Give it a try.

1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegstudio_mngr, Owner at Vegetarian Food Studio, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

What a find just 10 mins walk from st Marys sreet on the Penarth Rd.Had a great lunch the place is amazing. I was Quiet but the place was ready for a busy takeaway session.
Try the potato bombs or the noodles with vegetable balls similar too falafel.Even better try the daily platter which was £6.75 and more than enough for one.
After a pleasant lunch with our niece who is in Uni the waiter explained about the student deals and the delivery service would recommend but make sure you are hungry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 2angiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegstudio_mngr, Owner at Vegetarian Food Studio, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vegetarian Food Studio also viewed

 
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Vegetarian Food Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing