We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean stay in a comfy pub atmosphere”
Review of Cayo Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cayo Arms
Ranked #33 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Cayo Arms is quite a nice alternative for a stay in Cardiff, we have stayed there before on a business trip. The reception is friendly, the rooms spacious and well decorated and the breakfast is absolutely yummy! (Not the cheap style sausages!)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyKa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Cayo Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 117 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a pub that does bed and breakfast, but doesn't look like your average pub. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, warm and confirmable. The breakfast is excellent. There is parking on site but awkward to find if you don't know where it is. It is next to Sofia Gardens and is a 10 minute walk from Cardiff Castle through Bute Park. I will definitely stay here again when in Cardiff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrueBornWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

£5 taxi from the station this inn is in a quiet part of Cardiff. When I arrived with holdall and lap top the manager welcomed me immediately and checked me in. My room was light, clean and tidy overlooking Cathedral road. It had the usual facilities but no phone. Dinner was typical pub chain except the veggie pie which was exceptionally good. With 20% resident's discount the price was very good value. They had two excellent guest real ales, the Hobgoblin very well kept. The door between pub and rooms is locked between 0030 and 0800 so exit is by fire escape. This means I was not disturbed by late comers. Noise was fairly limited although there was some traffic noise. I heard no noise from the pub. Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked to order and first class ingredients. Overall this was excellent value for money. The outstanding bits- the friendly helpful staff, breakfast, veggie pie and the light bedroom. The could do better bits- fresh veg with dinner instead of frozen, proper coffee at breakfast I shall go again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waffler_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went as 4 lads for a saturday night - warm welcome, Sky Sports on the TV, room did have an old sock in, and the room was a bit dated, but other than that was clean and tidy, and the shower was powerful - staff were great - didnt have any issues with noise. You could set up a tab so you can settle the account in the morning, and the breakfast was great - even asking the chef to modify the breakfast was no problem! Will definatley be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank covlad1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at the Cayo the night before the opening 6 Nations match. I knew there was a car park at the rear, but coming from the M4, I turned left at the traffic lights just past the Cayo, and parked in the wrong car park. Walked to the Cayo and was re-directed with no problems. Turn left just before the pub. My son and I had the family room pre-booked. We checked in at the bar and were brought to the room by Alanna, who was very helpful. The room itself had a double, and two single beds, with an en-suite bathroom. Dumped our bag and headed down to the bar. Ordered 2 mixed grills, which were very good, and very reasonably priced. The bar was busy and lively and very good humoured. After a few pints, went to bed. The room was very warm, but we slept well. OK the room was basic, and perhaps a little tired, but hey, my eyes were closed. Good shower over the bath. Breakfast was good-I like a good fry up, and this was a good fry up. I was allowed to leave the car in the car park until after the match! Excellent. If you are used to the Ritz, this is not for you. If you're after VFM in a location 10 mins from the city centre, and somewhere to put your head, you'd be pushed to beat the Cayo. £59.95 for two people bed and breakfast + car parking + great location + friendly staff + good food and beer = great value for money!

Room Tip: There are only five rooms above the bar. Just get into the atmosphere and enjoy yourself.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smalltree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

First of all :-
+Great pub ,Good location, Lovely staff(nothing to much trouble),Good pub grub, Car park..

- Good start was We couldn't open room door!! but like I said staff were great,got locksmith in..

Plenty of sockets,but not one near the only mirror which was located in bathroom,again Staff came to rescue and got me an extension lead,great only thing was it didn't work!!

My partner opened curtains first morning,and they fell down,as they were busy for the Rugby We managed but on leaving mentioned it, to be told "oh they have fallen down again"!!!!

Handle on bath very dodgy! And lastly I think they should invest in pillow and mattress protectors..

After saying all that I don't blame Staff for any of the above and if Marstons spent a little money on the rooms it would be perfect, Would I stay again, most probably for convenience....

Room Tip: If a little money was spent on the rooms I would say any room,We were in 4 twin room ,our friends ha...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RINGLET55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

stayed here with a few friends for the weekend was exelent value for money, staff were really friendly knew all the good clubs in town and gave exelent directions. the rooms were clean and tidy and the bed was made just the way i like it so perfection for me.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhys1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.4 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
CFeleven
CFeleven
#10 of 49 in Cardiff
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Avala Guest House
The Avala Guest House
#27 of 45 in Cardiff
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#3 of 45 in Cardiff
146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#2 of 45 in Cardiff
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayo Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayo Arms

Address: 36 Cathedral Road | Pontcanna, Cardiff CF11 9LL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range: $68 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cayo Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayo Arms Hotel Cardiff
Cayo Arms Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing