We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made the best of it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cayo Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cayo Arms
Ranked #37 of 46 Cardiff B&B and Inns
uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Made the best of it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had a booking for the Cayo Arms that my wife had made more than 8 months in advance. We had tickets to the Wales v England rugby international, and knew the city would be full of visitors and beds at a premium.

On arriving at the pub we were informed by the manager that they had no knowledge of our booking and were fully booked.
The manager, Nathan, couldn't have been more helpful. He immediately found us a room at the Holiday inn, and after speaking to his area manager, confirmed that the owners, Marstons Inns, would meet the extra cost. He allowed us to leave our car in his car park for the weekend and even bought us a drink.
What could have been a disaster, he turned into a memorable weekend, and we will definitely be back to stay at the Cayo Arms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scooterpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    38
    23
    12
    20
See reviews for
16
46
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Regardless of what some other reviews comments were, we decided to stay here as it was within our budget and close to the city centre for the rugby!
The service we received was brilliant from the off (particularly from Nathan) and was consistent through out from all staff.
Room: not expecting a 5* hotel what we got was excelent value for money, cleanliness was top notch, and even though we were right above the front of the pub, the noise was non invasive and had we been light sleepers ear plugs were provided!
Bonus of the inn was that as we were attending the rugby match we were able to leave our car in their locked car park until after.
5* service for a place we will be returning to!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank X_naomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

They look like they have a good range of real ales. Nice-looking place too. However, when I couldn't decide which one of two (unknown) beers I'd like to try and asked for a small taster "We don't do tasters" said the barman promptly. Backed up by the owner. I was so surprised/taken aback that I didn't think quickly enough to just leave the bar without ordering ( I really wish I had) - and I ended up giving them custom i now regret. Very bad attitude, really.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girl1mex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Cardiff for family holiday. The service was very nice, and the breakfast was very delicious. My daughter said:” If this uncle was our family, I could often eat the delicious food.”

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank fanyp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed at the Cayo Arms for one night, during a trip to Cardiff to watch the cricket. We were greeted on arrival by the very friendly hotel manager who showed us to our room immediately. After a quick drink in the bar, we headed off to watch the cricket at the Swalec Stadium, which is only five minutes walk away. On our return the bar was really busy, with an excelllent buzzing atmosphere. We were served at the bar straight away and shown to a table for dining. We both chose the same meal - Tempura Battered Prawns to start and Slow Roasted Belly Pork to follow. The food was faultless and served in an efficient and friendly manner. We followed our meal with a few drinks at the bar. All of the staff were really friendly and obviously well trained, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was lovely, with a large bay window. Everything was very clean and tidy, and we were provided with fluffy towels and toiletries. We both had an excellent night's sleep. Overall, the whole experience was excellent and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathgavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Refurb looks really good - a definate step up from last time I stayed. Thanks to the staff who were super helpful. Nice pub, traditional with a modern twist. Good full English inlcuded in the rate too, always a bonus!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racheljw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

Let me say from the outset that the Cayo arms was due for a 3 week refurb immediately after my stay so I'll say no more about the shabby room and smell of stale urine.

On the positive side, the room was pretty clean and the shower stayed hot long enough for a quick shower. It's also less than 10 minutes to the Millennium stadium.

On the negative, the bed had seen better days and anything between the mattress and the thin sheet would have made it more comfortable. The breakfast was the worst thing though: Completely self service just a toaster and kettle with instant coffee and tea bags on the side. There was a fridge with Orange juice (but no glasses) a carton of milk (whole only) and a ramekin dish with some butter in it. Cereal was Weetabix, corn or bran flakes. There was also a jar of cheap and nasty marmalade. That was it. No cooked breakfast, no yoghurt, no fruit.

OK, so £45 isn't much to pay for B&B but I think I have a right to expect a little more than was delivered. The overall impression was one of minimising costs and maximising profits - assuming that the unfortunate guests are unlikely to return. This one certainly wont

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perlogalism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 46 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number 62
Number 62
#9 of 46 in Cardiff
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jolyon's at No. 10
Jolyon's at No. 10
#6 of 46 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Town House
The Town House
#16 of 46 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#14 of 46 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayo Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayo Arms

Property: Cayo Arms
Address: 36 Cathedral Road | Pontcanna, Cardiff CF11 9LL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Cayo Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayo Arms Hotel Cardiff
Cayo Arms Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing