We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place to visit cardiff”
Review of Number 62

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number 62
Ranked #11 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a very nice week end, in a very nice place. We were in Cardiff for a 6 nations match. The number 62 is near the millenium stadium and the city center but it's very calm. There is a nice decoration, and the reception is very warm. We liked too the pub across the street to have breakfast and the pub nearby served very goof food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 168 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Alan and Liz were very welcoming. The room was bright ,clean, spacious and well decorated. They provided a well -stocked supply of hot beverages and I especially enjoyed the freshly ground -style coffee. The proximity of the hotel was very central just a few minutes walk through a lovely park took you to the stadium and the city centre.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back may be quieter as the traffic was quite busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

It took me sometime to find a B&B close to the town centre with reasonable price and I think this is the best place to stay for a short visit to Cardiff. The room is clean, nicely decorated, and well-equipped. The customer service was surperb; the manager upgraded the room type to suit my need without extra charge and provided all the information of places I need to visit in Cardiff. The B&B is close to a number of nice restaurants. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank promkont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend for the rugby world cup. Alan was very welcoming on arrival, and on showing us our room gave us plenty of information on places to eat, visit etc. First impression was of a very well kept house. The bedroom was warm, very clean, the bed was comfortable and there were lots of little extras - toiletries, chocolates etc. The wi-fi worked quickly. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was nice and powerful.
If we go back to Cardiff will definitely try this B n again. Can't be called a B n B as there is no breakfast, however the hotel right across the road has an excellent breakfast menu at very reasonable prices, from £2.99 up.
Location was great, only 10 minute walk to the city centre/castle.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I received a very warm welcome and found the house beautifully and tastefully decorated. A lot of attention to detail and a lot of thought given to providing everything one could possibly need - quality toiletries, sweets, teas, hot chocolate, umbrellas, etc.
The room was very comfortable. The bathroom was big and looked brand new.
Wi-fi worked perfectly, even on the top floor.
Liz and Alan are lovely people and were available whenever I needed their help with busses, finding a good place to eat, and a shortcut through the park.
With the park and the river around the corner and the castle an 8-minute walk away, this is a perfect location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berlinerkindl_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Last weekend I stayed in Number 62 with my husband and we both loved it! We were looking for a romantic, friendly, warm and quiet place in Cardiff to celebrate our wedding anniversary and this guest house is exactly what we were looking for. Our ensuite room was beautiful, very clean and nicely decorated and the host couple (Alan and Liz) are very friendly and helpful. The location is also great; it's not far away from the town centre and only a few minutes away from beautiful Bute Park and Cardiff castle. I would definitely recommend this place to any of my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethereal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Not properly named a B&B as there is no breakfast provided, but the room, location and amenities make up for that. Lots of good places to eat nearby and the walk through the park to the city centre is simply wonderful. Hosts are very friendly and helpful and the room was bright, well supplied with all the little things that make a stay comfortable, lots of hot water in the newly fitted bathroom, and lovely character features. Would stay again !

Room Tip: The double in the rear is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie6658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Dexby Town House
Dexby Town House
#10 of 47 in Cardiff
282 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Exchange Hotel
The Exchange Hotel
#1 of 47 in Cardiff
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#4 of 47 in Cardiff
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#3 of 47 in Cardiff
150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#2 of 47 in Cardiff
592 reviews
3.1 mi away
Old Post House
Old Post House
#13 of 47 in Cardiff
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 62? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 62

Address: 62 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range: $92 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 62 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation right in the heart of Cardiff. Our well appointed rooms, are located only 10 minutes walk from the city centre and Millennium stadium, on tree lined Cathedral Rd.Our objective is to offer top quality accommodation to guests who are visiting Cardiff for business or leisure.Our rooms are finished to a high standard, and all have En-Suite Bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Number 62 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 62 Hotel Cardiff
Number 62 Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing