We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying here and will return”
Review of Number 62

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Number 62
Ranked #11 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Loved staying here and will return”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I spent four nights at Number 62 and would recommend this guest house to anyone. Liz and Alan were great hosts - very helpful and friendly. The accommodation was super clean and very quiet. The bus into Cardiff stops a few steps from the front door and on return on the other side of the street. Restaurants close by and wonderful areas to walk. I loved it and when I return to Cardiff will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    31
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
62
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We were extremely happy with our accommodations. We had a lovely family room with lots of space. The guest house is situated on a lovely street walking distance to Besutiful Bute Park.
Alan and Lisa were wonderful hosts.
Several good pubs close by. The only thing missing was breakfast. Our hosts have an arrangement with a pub accross the street but we did not care for this. We would search for another breakfast spot.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juhaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Our hosts at Number 62 were delightful. Our room (facing the back) was quite comfortable and quiet--a great "home away from home" for our days in Cardiff. If we had a question, our hosts had the answers. Location is fantastic--we walked through the gorgeous gardens behind Cardiff Castle to get into the center of town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeregrinaSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The hosts went out their way to be accomodating. They were very nice and catered to all our needs. The rooms were impecable, the bathroom was clean and new. It was a good 20-25 minute walk to town but going through the park made the walk very pleasant. Cardiff and surroundings were wonderful to visit. We took a tour of the valleys and enjoyed it immensely. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMSGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Spent 4 nights in April - attending a conference, accompanied by my wife. We were wonderfully hosted and it was a great experience staying in an old Victorian gem. "Number 62", Cathedral Rd is within walking distance of Bute Park, Cardiff Castle, the Welsh Museum, City Hall, Millenium Stadium, Glamorgan Cricket (Swalec Stadium), Cardiff city centre etc. We found parking in Cathedral Rd, generally close to Number 62 most of the time (the B&B does not have it's own off street parking). The spring flowers in Bute Park and in front of City Hall were glorious.

The house has clearly been lovingly restored to a high quality finish, and the bathroom appointed with luxury fittings. Great touches of decor and attention to detail - setting this B&B above many others we have stayed in over the years. Free wi-fi in our room worked perfectly. Overall an excellent experience.

I'll mention 2 small issues, neither of which would stop us staying here again. All could be rectified by the wonderful owners. The large screen TV (perhaps too large?) in our bedroom (top of house, 3 small front windows) was too low down - if you lie in bed watching TV ones feet at the bottom of bed obstruct the TV view; the breakfasts at the small hotel/pub across the road (part of our package) were not particularly appetizing - were served by staff who seemed to have a chip on their shoulder about having to get up early to serve paying guests, in a stale pub environment. We would probably give these breakfasts a miss if/when we return. But don't let that put you off staying here. You probably couldn't do much better in Cardiff - and we've been to Cardiff a number of times.

Room Tip: Ask your host!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeadogCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2011

An excellent B&B, Liz & Alan were always on tap for advice, assistance and general good will. The accommodations are spotless, quiet (even though our room overlooked the street) and beautifully restored with modern conveniences such as wifi. The beds were comfortable and the Wales cookies with tea/coffee a pleasure.

The location allows one to walk to Cardiff Castle & great shopping as well as having taxis and buses along Cathedral itself. Excellent pubs and restaurants on the block.

Breakfast is across the street in the Melrose Hotel and far, far below the high standards of Number 62.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysSummer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

There is a reason this B&B has received such fantastic reviews on this site - it is perfect. The room I stayed in with my partner was beautifully decorated; the bed was incredibly comfortable; and everything imaginable was provided. The attention to detail is impressive - the place was spotless and every day, the room was immaculately made up and cookies were provided (and eaten!) every day. The bathroom was stocked with toothpaste, disposable rasors, face wipes, q-tips - everything someone could potentially forget! My partner and I had the best night's sleep we had had in a very long time. From the very start, Alan and his wife showed great care and kindness - they texted us as soon as we booked, made up the room earlier than planned to suit our early arrival in Cardiff, provided us with many guide books etc etc etc. Without reservation, I recommend this B&B to anybody. This is the kind of place that reminds people why staying at a great B&B (for the same price) will always beat a generic chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilou_Bwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.0 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 45 in Cardiff
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jolyon's at No. 10
Jolyon's at No. 10
#8 of 45 in Cardiff
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 62? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 62

Property: Number 62
Address: 62 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 62 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation right in the heart of Cardiff. Our well appointed rooms, are located only 10 minutes walk from the city centre and Millennium stadium, on tree lined Cathedral Rd.Our objective is to offer top quality accommodation to guests who are visiting Cardiff for business or leisure.Our rooms are finished to a high standard, and all have En-Suite Bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Number 62 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 62 Hotel Cardiff
Number 62 Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing