We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at Ty Rosa is exemplary.”
Review of Ty Rosa B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ty Rosa B&B
Ranked #2 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I booked here hoping for something a little different to the usual generic city stay and I was not disappointed. We were visiting the city to see Michael McIntyre at the MotorPoint Centre.

Hospitality at Ty Rosa is excellent. After a long car journey, I arrived desperate for the bathroom and as soon as the door opened, the kind host immediately pointed the bathroom and offered myself and and my travel buddy a cup of tea. You couldn't ask for more after being couped up in a car for an age. The excellent service continued with the host bringing out a map to guide us on how best to navigate the city. He was unbelievably kind and hospitable and made us genuinely look forward to breakfast in the morning.

You can book breakfast in advance or pay afterwards- we chose to do the latter. The breakfasts were hearty and delicious. We grazed on the generous spread of cereals, yoghurt and fruit before ordering from the menu. We literally didn't need to eat for the rest of the day we were so full up.

It's a well located place with buses direct to the city centre departing from a bus stop right outside the front door. The atmosphere at Ty Rosa is so relaxed and the hosts are so accommodating, you couldn't really ask for more. The rooms were well kept and clean with good bathroom facilities. They aren't the most spacious, but with the city so close and so much to explore there and the fact that you wouldn't feel uncomfortable chilling out in the lounge area downstairs if you wanted to spread out a bit, it doesn't take away from the experience at all.

I'd highly recommend a stay here. It's a shame we only got one night here but we will be back. Thank you Ty Rosa.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMillieNadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Ty Rosa B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 586 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stuart and Paul are amazing!!! The room we had was very nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed. The food is delicious. The biggest difference are the owners though. So helpful and caring. It is about a 25 min walk from city center but the guys give good advice on buses and taxis (which are inexpensive). Would recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FancyNeuron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in the area. Room was immaculate and well stocked. An excellent breakfast which set you up for the day. Owner were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them.
Would be my number one choice if I had to stay in Cardiff again.
Thank you for such a pleasant and relaxing stay. hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed one night, working in the area, Fabulous room with quality linens, and very comfortable bed. Genuine warm welcome, from hosts who are laid back and relaxed, and very helpful... .The whole place had character ,is very stylish and comfortable. Fantastic breakfast and great company ...and THE most impressive Black Labrador EVER. hope to see the Three of you at Duck Egg cottage sometime!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank DoowopYeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyrosa, Manager at Ty Rosa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

So glad you had a good trip to Cardiff and the stay here was all OK for you, we do look forward to having a little break away at Duck Egg Cottage some point this year and chill out in that hot tub !. thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

a really nice place to stay, paul&stu the owenrs really look after you they make you feel like a family friend has come home. the food is wonderfull, the rooms are great, we have already booked to go back in december. can' wait. if you go to cardiff this place is a must.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizjimswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you haven't visited Ty Rosa then you have missed a treat..

Forget all the other B&B's in Cardiff, this one is amazing, the food is of the very highest standards not surprising because Stuart is a high level trained chef.. The rooms are fit for a king... or should I say Queen... the welcome is brilliant the guys make sure that you know all the best places to go in Cardiff...

Room Tip: just tell the guys what you are looking for... both really friendly...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank De465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Ty Rosa. It was a very enjoyable, pleasant stay. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. Stuart, Paul and Max the dog are amazing hosts. Making you feel so at home and welcome. We were given a map of the area and directions to city centre and the bay. and taxi numbers very useful. The B&B is a good 20minute walk to city centre. but just round the corner from Ikea!!! There is a bus stop outside, no.9 bus (every 30mins). We stayed in Lundy island, a room in the opposite house. With a bathroom shared by 2 other rooms. The room was clean and cosy and well stocked with tea, coffeee and bottled water. Iron & ironing board, kettle and lots of wardrobe and drawer space. The breakfasts on both days were outstanding. Plenty of fresh fruit, juices crereal, yoghurts (buffet) and gorgeous cooked to order breakfasts. We would recommend to all and will definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol2Aberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
5.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 74 in Cardiff
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Rosa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Rosa B&B

Address: 118 Clive Street, Cardiff CF11 7JE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range: $49 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Rosa B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gay owned boutique B&B that welcomes everyone to stay. Luxury styled rooms with all the facilities you would need inc mineral water and tea/coffee facilites. With free parking and free fibre optic wi-fi. TyRosa is only a short walking distance between the city centre and Cardiff Bay (bus stop just outside to city). We have an extensive breakfast menu fresh cooked to order, so we can cater for dietary adjustments like vegan/dairy/gluten/nut/soya free. You are also welcome to dine in with us and sample some Welsh dishes, all on a 24 hour pre-order as we get items in fresh to cook for you. We look forward to you coming to stay as guest and leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ty Rosa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Rosa Boutique Gay Hotel Cardiff
Ty Rosa Boutique Gay Bed And Breakfast
Ty Rosa B&B Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing