We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Ranked #30 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 21, 2014

A comfortable stay in a modern, clean and friendly hotel. Excellent buffet breakfast, comfortable bed and good bathroom/shower facilities. Polite and courteous staff with a helpful reception giving good advice about Cardiff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and the friendless of our staff. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here for one Friday night,whilst attending the 2.8hrs later zombie event(which I can highly recomend,loads of fun)Three of us shared a room,and it cost £88 in total including the car park fee,so as long as you don't mind sharing,you cannot beat it for value for money.Also one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in,couldn't fault it all in that respect.Staff very efficient and friendly.Only problem I found that night,there was a few stag do's staying there,so it was very noisy at night.Superb location for walking into the city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay the cleaniless of the hotel and the friendless of our staff. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed at Ibis Budget for two nights with my children - ages 11 and 14. The hotel is a five minute walk from the city centre and close to public transport. It's a great base for exploring Cardiff and the Bay. The hotel itself is great. So long as you remember it's a budget hotel. Having said that, our room was clean and surprisingly spacious. Take a travel kettle if you like a cuppa because no tea and coffee making facilities are available.
Positives:
The breakfast is good value for money.
Towels are provided in your room.
The staff are great.
The negatives:
You only get one pillow per guest.
The shower cubicle isn't in a room of its own.
The toilet cubicle is tiny!
Overall a great stay, in a fab location. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LShipman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and the friendless of our staff. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I didn't expect too much when I booked the Ibis Budget in Cardiff for £28 a night. I was pleasantly surprised. Check in staff were efficient and very friendly. The room was spotlessly clean, but was seriously "no frills". A comfortable bed, a decent shower when I figured out the controls, and a perfectly adequate but small toilet. I was staying with my husband, but if visiting with a friend the fact that the shower opens directly into the room, and is behind a frosted glass door might be a bit problematic. We stayed mid week, and all other guests were middle aged couples or families. We were not troubled by street noise, although there were a few clanking doors. I am sure the atmosphere is different at the weekend. The location is excellent- 5 minute walk to Cardiff city centre and the station, and a 15 minute stroll to Cardiff Bay. The buffet breakfast at £4.95 was good value. Fresh fruit, yogurt, croissants, toast, cold meats, cheese, jam and Nutella. The only reason I could not give it 5 stars was due to the small car park. There was no opportunity to reserve a disabled parking bay, and even if you had paid the £4 per day fee, your space was not guaranteed if you went out and returned later in the day. There is absolutely no on street parking anywhere nearby, and disabled bays in the car park were allowed to be used by all drivers. For wheelchair users this could be a serious set back. The car park was full when we visited. Spaces outside are all for office users and cars are clamped if parked in private car parks (quite rightly).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenofdrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and the friendless of our staff. Regarding the car park, we do the maximum to avoid the use of the disabled bay from non authorised car. We use car from the staff in order to be able to keep these bays available . We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Fandangopolka
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Ibis Budget gives you exactly what you’d expect from a budget hotel. Don’t stay here if you’re looking for five star luxury. It’s primarily a stag and hen hotel at weekends, and it’s well located for the bars and shops in Cardiff city centre, which are a mere 10 mins walk away. The train station is a similar distance. The rooms are small, but functional with an odd double-single bunk bed combo and a small TV, and that’s about it. The shower is built into the wall, and the toilet in a small separate cupboard. Overall, everything was reasonably clean(ish). The hotel felt safe, particularly on Saturday night, when they have bouncers at the door and patrolling the corridors (not necessarily a bad thing..). The breakfast is basic but reasonable, you won’t find a fry up but there’s a small selection of cereals, pastries and mini cheese to enjoy. The room rate appeared to be quite cheap, but we booked this through an events company, Chillisauce, and vastly overpaid for what we got, so you’re best off booking directly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter and brighter, as the main road that runs outside the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedDragon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a great value budget hotel. Stayed here for one night and paid only £19 for a double room. An absolute bargain. Bed was comfortable and room might be small but when all you want is a bed for a night, then you really can't go wrong. It's clean, modern and comfortable and just a very short walk to the motorpoint arena and shops.
We even parked at the hotel for just £4 for 24 hours.
Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sharonelaine35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and the friendless of our staff. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,198 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 74 in Cardiff
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Address: Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF10 4BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $45 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Cardiff is a hotel in the City Centre of Cardiff with affordable prices. All rooms are en-suite, with double bed and a single bunk bed. TV with freeview channels. Snack are available at our 24 hrs reception and Continental Breakfast Buffet for only £5.50. On site car park for just £4/24hrs. Free WIFI access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cardiff
Etap Cardiff
Hotel Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing