We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here on a sat-sun basis in mid January as was going out in Cardiff sat night. Staff were friendly at the desk, rooms were clean. Only two problems toilets and showers are really small but I understand that buildings can't be changed and that they are trying to fit everything available in the one room, also trying to sleep there were two boys banging and kicking the door next to mine but to be fair security came straight up to sort them out. Overall it was an ideal place for one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkbean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your comment. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Budget Cardiff. Our team is looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Michael Schmidt

Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    435
    255
    88
    107
See reviews for
202
350
80
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This normally 25 pounds per room upped their prices for rugby weekend, we paid 80 pounds per room, as per the last number of reviews the rooms are not suitable for persons suffering with claustrophobia, they are ridiculously small, something you mind if you were only paying 25 pounds per night but not 80! the bed is approx 5mls off the ground, the toilet is very very very small as is the showering area.

to give credit where its due it was a spotless room/hotel in general. there was little or no noise that we heard anyway and it is fairly centrally located approx 10 mins walk from main area of town, pubs and clubs. staff in all fairness sorted out an error made by booking company so a bit of credit where its due. ideal kind of accommodation for stags/hens etc, personally wouldnt stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sineadandbrendan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your comment. I am really sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Considering the location of our hotel we still offer a budget price for the Rugby Internationals. The prices of our competitors on those dates start from £160.00 per night. As a budget hotel we offer modestly designed and clean rooms at competitve price in the central location. Our reception staff and myself were very glad we could help you with your booking problem. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Ibis Budget on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Michael Schmidt

Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My friends and I arrived at the Ibis Budget with our expectations set to low (the clue is in the name). Our intention was to simply pass-out after a night of merriment. The hotel was clean enough, the staff were not rude and the location was not too bad. However, despite this I feel compelled to warn any man, woman or child to never set foot in this dystopian nightmare.

The rooms: Claustrophobic chic is the design principal for the identikit rooms, with a toilet that can only be described as a cupboard. Usage of said toilet was an innovative form of self-harm due to the pitch darkness and the inconceivably small space provided. Overall the room seemed to be inspired by the Big Brother house built for a troubled youth programme. Despite its strangely oppressive stylings, the room was not the main inspiration for this damning review it was my fellow customers.

The customers: Readers, who are currently living on an exclusive diet of microwave meals and food the shade of orange, please look away.... The clientele can only be described as an ASBO ridden, hen party fuelled mass of limbs, fake tan and cheap aftershave. They were unbelievably loud, choosing to spend their time vomiting, crawling and arguing until 7am in the morning. It was like being trapped in an Iceland commercial without the solace of a drug-addled Kerry Katona. In sum, a Kafka-esque parody of the 21st century made flesh.

So please give the Ibis a miss on the weekend. Unless you are curious to see what society would be like if the guests of Jeremy Kyle ruled the world.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your valuable comment. I am very sorry you were dissapointed with your stay at Ibis Budget Cardiff. As a budget hotel we offer modestly designed rooms at competitive price. Considering our location and prices we attract a lot of guests who enjoy nightlife of Cardiff much more than the others. We employ a security company to maintain piece in the hotel at night however as a budget hotel we can not be exclusive only to certain type of guests like our higly priced competitors. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Ibis Budget Cardiff on your next visit to the Welsh Captiol city.

Kind Regards

Michael Schmidt

Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Ibis Budget is superbly located in the centre of Cardiff and is almost charming in its appeal to those with a misplaced nostalgia for their former student or prison accommodation. Its innovative space-saving use of bunks is inspired. Its space-age touch screen lighting is fun, both to admire and to operate, and the clinical combination of white and lime stucco-effect walls is refreshing, providing you do not wake with a start and, forgetting where you are, believe yourself to be recovering from an operation at Bupa.

Waking with a start is however a small risk at the Ibis Budget; for this to happen, you would have needed to have fallen asleep in the first place. Rest assured (not literally), there is little danger of this at the Ibis Budget. Positively bursting with excitement at the weekends, the Ibis Budget seems unashamedly proud to be one of the few hotels in Cardiff whose clientele are almost completely nocturnal, as on Friday and Saturday nights, the lower classes descend like sheep from the valleys to celebrate their friend Chardonnay’s first hen do of the year.

The following morning, if at all possible, one should try to check out roughly one hour after the official checking out time. Although this is technically against published Ibis policy and may even be frowned upon, it does give the cleaners at least a sporting chance to clear the corridor outside your room of vomit and used prophylactics before you attempt your escape.

If you have the misfortune to be staying for more than one night, perhaps the only true disappointment is the presence of the safety catch on the window, crushing all hope of escape (or suicide).

If however by some miracle you survive your second night, and you are an individual more optimistic than Gandhi, you will have tried the Ibis Budget Breakfast (patent applied for). This may need to be the subject of a separate review, which will be submitted just as soon as breakfastadvisor.com is established. Suffice it to say, there is an M&S Simply Food at Cardiff station where you can pick something up before you brave the delights of First Great Western on your escape from Wales (also the subject of a separate review).

The Ibis Budget is perfect if all five of your senses ceased to function a long time ago. To describe it as a hotel is a bit of a stretch. ‘Hostel’ or ‘hole’ may be more appropriate. As one reviewer pointed out, the Ibis Budget is indeed only a five-minute walk from John Lewis. However, the Marriott is only a five-second walk from John Lewis. There, you can enjoy all the luxuries one expects: a toilet that isn’t housed in a cupboard (a literal water closet); an iron in the room that doesn’t come attached to an angry Eastern European lady demanding that you pay a £10 deposit lest you steal the one working appliance in the building; an ironing board (complete with legs); complimentary shower gels (plural); curtains; carpets; a Corby Trouser Press, a free Times newspaper to start your day, and of course, tea and coffee making facilities (complete with biscuits).

In conclusion, the Ibis Budget is ideal if, as the name suggests, you are on a budget. However, even in these dire times our country finds itself in, it is unlikely that circumstances can be so cruel to you that it is necessary for you to spend your last £18 (or at weekends anything from £35 to, unbelievably, £90) here. If you have any self-respect at all, hit ‘back’ on your browser now, and spend at least another five seconds to scroll down to the next hotel on your list before you make your decision.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your very elaborate comment. I am sorry that we did not lived up to your expectations. As a budget hotel and we only offer essential comfort for modest price. Comparing other hotels like desccribed by yourself Marriott we still offer a very competitive price considering our location. Prices of our competitiors on weekends start from £160.00 on normal weekend. We only charge £90.00 per room if there are a major events in Cardiff like Rugby internationals. Marriott prices on those dates start from £200.00. We offer 157 en suite rooms which does not make Ibis Budget a hostel. Hostels offer drmitory rooms of 10 people + with shared bathrooms. As a budget hotel we also attaract guests that enjoy the nightlife of Cardiff more than the others and we are employing a security company to maintain the piece in the hotel at night. However as a hotel we can not be exclsive to cater only for certain type of customers. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the Ibis Budget Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Michael Schmidt
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here for a night out. The rooms are very basic but the location is perfect ..close to the nightlife and shops. The rooms were very small however, not much room to get ready in and no plug by the mirror for hair straighteners. The hotel was also very noisy, thin walls and doors and full of young groups of people. However the noise didnt bother me as I went for a night out so didnt go 2 relax. The night staff however were very rude we paid for 3 adults to sleep in a room but one of my friends couldnt come so only 2 of us checked in. however we met a friend who lives in cardiff and to save her getting a taxi home we thought she could stay in the spare bed in out room seen as we had paid for it but the staff would not let her in and were very rude. They would not let her ring a taxi from the hotel and the security guards were physically carried her out of the hotel and were making jokes about our friend and taking photos. They told us we had to come in or they wouldnt let us in again so my friend was left in the early hours of the morning to get a taxi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimxx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your comment. At the checki n to the hotel we ask everyone to put their name on the registration form. We inform you about the terms and conditions that at night no gest is allowed in the hotel unless previsouly stated on the registration form in the textbox at the bottom of the page. We ask for the signature to make sure you understood those terms. We are a budget hotel in town centre and we attract a lot of poeple at that are not our residents but try to get into the hotel to cause problems. For safety of all the guests we are very strict with that policy and do not allow any non residents in after midnight. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Michael Schmidt

Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very very cheap and basic but what can you expect. Very clean ideal for a night out. Really good staff will do anything to help. Perfect location, don't really know what to say did what I expected but the staff went above and beyond. We stayed when it snowed heavily and they were knowledgable and friendly. Very close to train station and pubs so just what we wanted.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with room selection for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. Our team is very happy you have acknowledge their freindliness on here. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Michael Schmidt

Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night. It was a Saturday night and I'd only booked about 2 weeks in advance so it wasn't cheap, at around £50, but as most other hotels in the area were either fully booked or out of my budget, this was the best option. I'd booked online so check in was fairly straightforward - I had to fill in a form though which repeated a lot of the information I'd already given when I booked. The room was on the third floor. It was also on a short corridor which you needed the key card to get onto - that was good. The room was what I expected - very basic (shower and sink in room, matress on chipboard base), but it was fine for my needs as I was going out and just wanted somewhere to sleep for a few hours that night. The room was also really clean as well. My only gripe was that there was no power socket next to the bed. I also felt it was a little more basic than it needed to be. It would cost hardly anything to provide a kettle and some complimentary tea/coffee in the room and it would be a nice touch to have it. Late at night when I returned there were some young girls arguing in reception - and a broken wine bottle and vomit in the lift - nice. There was also a security guard who asked me my name and which room I was in. I guess being a cheap hotel they must sometimes get undesirable clientele so that was probably a good thing, but it felt a bit strange. I didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. Also there's no wifi available - that would be useful. The location is really handy for the station and the city centre. I would stay again, but would not pay more than £30 a night unless there were no other options in that area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sthmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments. As a budget hotel during weekends we attract a lot of customers that enjoy the night life of Cardiff much more than other residents. This is why we hire security company to maintain piece in the building at night. They check all the guest coming back after midnight just to make sure we do not have any non residents causing problems. I hope you did not feel offended by security checking your details but this is the only way to make sure that the risk of trouble is minimal. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Michael Schmidt

Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 73 in Cardiff
1,140 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Address: Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF10 4BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Cardiff is a hotel in the City Centre of Cardiff with affordable prices. All rooms are en-suite, with double bed and a single bunk bed. TV with freeview channels. Snack are available at our 24 hrs reception and Continental Breakfast Buffet for only £5.50. On site car park for just £4/24hrs. Free WIFI access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cardiff
Etap Cardiff
Hotel Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing