We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Ranked #29 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hotel and room spotless, bedding smelt lovely and towels were thick and fluffy. Wasn't expecting this standard as stay was such a bargain. Will certainly visit again and wouldn't hesitate to book for other regions.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David2000_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Please accept my sincere apology for taking so long in getting back to you. I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team is looking forward to welcome you back in Ibis Budget Cardiff on your next visit to the Welsh capital city.

Kind Regards

Michael Schmidt

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southwest_travel84
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Everything about this hotel is poor apart form the location.
We were told that this hotel had just had a total re-vamp with new beds and decor!
Utter nonsence the beds were awful and uncomforable, the 3 rooms that we had were so small the bed took up most of the available space, the washing and shower were tiny and the toilet was matchbox in size. There wasn't even a kettle in the room.
This is advertised as a 'Budget Hotel' well at £69.00 per room, ( 3 rooms. £207.00) not including breakfast I would consider it as no better than a 'Flop house'.

Room Tip: Don't stay here is the only 'help' I can give.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Please accept my sincere apology for taking so long in getting back to you.. I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Ibis Budget Hotel in Cardiff I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. The prices at the weekend are much higher due to high demand for rooms close to the city centre. Most hotels with location similar to ours are charging starting prices of £90 for a room that sleeps two. Our rooms sleep up to 3 for the price of £69 that still makes a competitive price for the essentail comforts we offer. Nevertheless I am very sorry that Ibis Budget Cardiff did not live up to your expectations.

Kind Regards

Michael Schmidt

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had some trouble finding the hotel as it is located behind the adjacent Novotel. Once inside we were booked in immediately and throughout our stay there was always a member of staff available at the desk to deal with any enquiries. This is a fairly new hotel so the paintwork, carpeting etc. is still in good order. Guests should remember that this is a BUDGET hotel - so there is no kettle or hairdryer in the room but are available to hire for a £10 deposit. There was hanging space for clothes and a small table /desk provided, also a full length mirror. The shower was exceptionally clean but you step out of it into the room. The sink area is also in the main sleeping space. My only gripe was that the only plug was situated across the room from the mirror above the sink which was useless for us ladies who want to use hairdryers, hair straighteners etc! Other than that - if you want a clean, basic en-suite-ish room in which to sleep, then this is ideal!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiGwynedd_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Please accept my sincere apology for taking so long in getting back to you. Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you managed to express some very important points for us to improve, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Ibis Budget Hotel on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kindest Regards

Michael Schmidt

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwari
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Good short stay.. the Hotel now makes hot pizzas so no need to leave the Hotel! Staff are always friendly and helpful and happy to go the extra mile if i ever need help with stationery, printing etc. Good to see that recent refurbishment has provided more electricity points!

Room Tip: If available, take a room facing the carpark.. these tend to be quieter than the ones overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frostyfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Please accept my sincere apology for taking so long in getting back to you. Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I am very glad you are enjoying our hot pizza selection. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Ibis Budget Cardiff on your next visit to the Welsh Capital.

Kindest Regards

Michael Schmidt

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very basic, small rooms. I went for a rugby weekend and was charged over £100 per night for an exceedingly cramped room. No toiletries, thin towel, no tea making facilities, no wardrobe or drawers for clothes, no carpet and poor heating. Thin duvet in Winter, thin mattress. Nothing to sit on other than the bed or a bright green plastic cube. I found it ridiculously expensive for what it was - avoid!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Please accept my sincere apology for taking so long in getting back to you.. I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Ibis Budget in Cardiff I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. During the Rugby Internationals in Cardiff prices in most of the hotels with higher standards start from £150.00. We are a Budget hotel and offer essential comforts for the smart price which is still competitive to other Cardiff Hotels. The price offered was much lower starting from £64.00 if you wanted to book that date online early in advance.
Both tea and coffee making facilities and toiletries are available to purchase in the reception area.

Kind Regards

Michael Schmidt

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Address: Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF10 4BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $40 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Cardiff is a hotel in the City Centre of Cardiff with affordable prices. All rooms are en-suite, with double bed and a single bunk bed. TV with freeview channels. Snack are available at our 24 hrs reception and Continental Breakfast Buffet for only £5.50. On site car park for just £4/24hrs. Free WIFI access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cardiff
Etap Cardiff
Hotel Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing