We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Church Guest House
Ranked #3 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights for the concert at the Stadium. We were made to feel very welcome and the room was very quiet to say it was on such a busy road and just a ten minute walk across a lovely well kept park to the city centre. Breakfast was excellent, I hardly ever have a full breakfast and normally when I have asked for just bacon & toast, I am presented with two rashers plonked in the middle of a huge plate & the toast with the tea beforehand, I was pleasently surprised then when I received my bacon beautifully presented on two slices of toast as well as the toast rack full. I would definately book again if I ever get the chance to return to Cardiff. The city itself was one of the most attractive, cleanist, friendliest cities I have ever visited.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsdining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    78
    22
    3
    9
See reviews for
46
141
55
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had come down to stay for the Bruce Springsteen concert and found this lovely bed and breakfast online. When we arrived we were greeted pleasantly by the manager, Andrew. He was very attended to all our needs, for instance direction to the millennium stadium. We had a fab size double room, clean and well decorated. The beds were spacious and comfortable, which was very much appreciated after hours of standing in the concert. In the morning we tucked into a freshly cooked breakfast, with friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara_johns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed only for one night visiting friends in the city - we were impressed with the central location and the friendly welcome. The night life on hand was good, but at the back of the hotel, it was very quiet.
The breakfast was good - we had it outside and meanwhile studied the back fence and worked out how it had been made and so copied the design of the fence when we got home - a very fruitful trip! Thank you :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed one night for the Springsteen gig. Looked after very well, lovely room, great breakfast with excellent coffee and knowledgable host. Easy walk to town on a nice road. Good shower water pressure.

Very civilised!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vallo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I only stayed one night as I was attending a concert at the Millennium stadium
Owners were very friendly and welcoming and genuinely seem interested in their guests
I slept really well beds very comfortable and breakfast choice was very good
Location is excellent only 15 minute walk to the city centre through a very pleasant park
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenBallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed last night, 23rd July, at Church Guest House as we were in Cardiff for the Bruce Springsteen Concert.
Cathedral Road is a wonderful place to stay, a pleasant walk into the city, castle and of course the stadium.
Andrew was very helpful, our room was just what was needed, both after the journey and after the concert. The room was well furnished, clean and tea/coffee were available.
Breakfast this morning was served in a delightful room, which was buzzing with fans!!. The service was quick and the food good.
Would we stay here again- you bet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara04_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Have just returned home after spending two nights at Church Guest House. On our arrival we were greeted , but by Andrew, who was extremely attentive and helpful but not overly so. Our room was located on the third floor and although not massive, was decorated tastefully and was very clean, as was the bathroom. Only downside was the small bed, I'm used to a Super King at home, but it was comfortable enough and the linen was fresh and clean. During our stay it was incrediably hot, and as heat rises, our room was overbareably warm despite the window being fully open. We did have to resort to buying a fan after a sleepness first night as there was no air con/fan in the room!
The guesthouse is within a few minutes walk from the centre of Cardiff which was great. A lovely local pub, as recommended by Andrew is the Cricketers (a few houses down the road from the guesthouse) Blink and you will miss it as we did the first time of looking!
Continental breakfast was included in the £60 a night charge. A cooked breakfast was an additional £5. I can't comment on this as we never had it, although i have stayed in lesser priced B & B's where this has been included.
This B&B is defiantely worth a visit - excellent central location and friendly host. I would book again x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Guest House

Property: Church Guest House
Address: 109 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Church Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located family run bed and breakfast in the centre of Cardiff. Established business close to the Millenium stadium, Swalec Cricket ground and shopping to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Church Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Guest House Hotel Cardiff
Church Guest House Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing