We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 46 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

Had to just add my thoughts about the Riverside, seeing what other reviewers had put. I can't agree more; it is a super place to stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and the breakfast is freshly cooked and makes a great start to your day. I have actually stayed there twice, on both occasions with my teenage son. We went down to Cardiff one Christmas to see the pantomime and I liked the city so much we went back the following year around Easter. It's only about a ten minute walk from Riverside to Cardiff Castle and you can easily get to the bay area, either by train or get a taxi down there. Loved the bay area, great places to eat and it's lovely at night when the lights all come on. I'll admit to being a huge Torchwood fan which is why we went, we saw the Dr Who exhibition too while we were there and that was a little expensive but worth seeing.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindseyWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    14
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
20
28
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

The B&B has an excellent location, overlooking the river and just across from Cardiff Castle and Millennium Stadium and just a short walk from all the shops.

We had a twin room on the top floor with a shared bathroom. The room was cozy and very clean. The bathroom has recently been renovated and was always clean.

The breakfast was tasty and generous, a good start to the day! The hosts were also very friendly and helpful.

The only downside, was that the walls are quite thin, so you will hear some noise when the other guests are coming and going. Also, as the B&B is in a typical terraced house, be prepared to carry your luggage in the steep and narrow stairs!

I warmly recommend this lovely B&B!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jalokivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

I drove to Cardiff without having a place to stay. i was lucky to have found this gem on my way from the Cardiff Castle to the Train Station (where I parked my car). I rang the bell and just asked if there was a room free. Luckily there was only 1 room left!

i stayed on the top floor that had 2 twin beds. The bathroom was shared with 2 other rooms (which I expect out of a B&B so this was not a problem or a suprise for me). I paid 50 GBP. The owner only takes cash.

The breakfast was at a big round table with the other guest. If you like to socialize in the AM, this is ideal. i personally like to eat in quite and am not a talker in the AM, so I did not like this. The food was good - hot english breakfast made to order, cereal, yogurt, and juice at the table.

The location is excellent. 1 block from Cardiff Castle, 2-3 blocks from the Train station, and 3-4 blocks from the shopping area.

Can't ask for me - clean rooms, great location, and reasonable price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast in the AM was at a big round table with the other guest
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank JOS1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
248 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2008

The Riverside B&B could not have been nicer. The rooms were large for a B&B, spotlessly clean and the breakfast was a winner! I was able to book the accommodation online and the owner did not require any deposit beforehand. She does only accept cash, however, no credit cards. The rate for our double bedroom en suite was 60 GBP including breakfast. The room with twin beds and shared bath was 50 GBP. On street parking was available. The location was perfect - right across the river from the castle and the stadium and just a 5 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants. The husband and wife owners were very accommodating and helpful. The only negative was that the three rooms that share a bath are all on the top floor and the other guests were noisy coming in late, but the double room en suite on the second floor was very quiet. I would definitely stay here again if we ever go back to Cardiff and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for an option to the pricey hotels in the area.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Inconsiderate guests
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank packedlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2007

The Riverside Bed and Breakfast, including the lovely host Irina, made my weekend when I was in Cardiff for 2 nights in late Feb 2007. We found her number from her website and no deposit was required.

We stayed in a twin room which included two chest of drawers, two small sofa chairs, tea/coffee facilities, fluffy towels and a nice view. The extra final touches, such as matching duvet covers, created a warm environment.

The bathroom, which was separate to our room, must have also been recently renovated, with great water pressure.

The hot breakfast was great and made to order. As well as cereal and juice, the hot breakfast was quite generous.

There was also a terrace and a sitting room, which we didn’t use, but looked inviting and well-kept.

The location is ideal!! We overlooked the river, directly across from the Millennium Centre, and were 7 minutes walk into the main shopping area. We enjoyed a comedy night at St. David’s Hall (comfortable seats with good views from all chairs) and drove to the National Museum Wales at St. Fagans. Both were well worth a visit!

I will certainly return to the Riverside Bed and Breakfast when I’m next in Cardiff!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
13 Thank mipronk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#3 of 46 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jolyon's at No. 10
Jolyon's at No. 10
#6 of 46 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Coldstream Terrace, Cardiff CF11 6LJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside is small B&B in the City Centre overlooking the River with free parking. From us its only 5 minutes walk to the restaurants and shops. There is also a river boat which will take you to Cardiff Bay. Here you can visit Dr.Who,have coffee or lunch in many restaurants. You can visit Welsh Assembly or go to Millennium Centre to see a show or Concert. There is always something to do there. You will never be board in Cardiff and Riverside B&B is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Riverside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside b&b
Riverside Hotel Cardiff
Riverside Bed And Breakfast Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing