We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beaufort Guest House
Ranked #18 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked last minute to go to Cardiff and found the Beaufort quite by chance through TripAdvisor. We saw the great rating and decided to go with it. From booking we were impressed, not many hotels, let alone guest houses, have Super kingsize beds. A definite seller for us!!! The owner called us on the morning and sorted out arrival and parking. When we arrived he let us into the secure parking at the rear of the guest house and showed us to our room. The room had a super kingsize bed and was nicely furnished. The guest house was only ten minute walk from the castle which was perfect as we didn't want to be using our car all weekend. Breakfast the following morning was also very good. This is somewhere we would definately stay again and we would certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room 2 - super kingsize bed!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejcthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    58
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
48
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I really like our stay: a great value! Some minor inconveniences you'd expect in B&B, like no elevator. However nice bed and drawer space. Some great pubs in area like The Cricketer and others. Convent to central Cardiff and walking distance to rail station. Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marathon1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Free Wi-Fi and the BEST breakfast in UK are only two of the many reasons my husband and I will stay here again on our next trip to Cardiff. The location couldn't be better. Our room was quiet and cozy. The shower pressure was strong, just like home. The hosts, Jeff and Paul, are very knowledgeable and anticipate every possible need or question. Each of our excursions was much improved through following their suggestions. My fresh fruit salad each morning was a work of art and made to order. The traditional Welsh breakfast (egg, sausage, bacon, mushrooms and grilled tomatoes) sustained us all day. I enjoy herbal tea and was surprised at the many different kinds from which to choose. The decor of the breakfast room and conservatory is pure Victorian and quite beautiful. I felt that I stepped onto a film set each morning and still smile when I think about the extreme care offered to each guest at this wonderful B&B in Cardiff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Last time I went to Cardiff I stayed in the Travelodge in Queen Street, which was a very unpleasant experience all round. This time I opted to stay slightly further out to avoid the noise of the pubs and clubs; and to take advantage of the free parking.
The Beaufort is the complete opposite of the Travelodge. It is a beautifully maintained Victorian house in a long road of similar properties, many of which are B&Bs. It's not my style, but I can appreciate a job well done.
Jeff, the owner, has a quiet, pleasant, yet unobtrusive manner.
I stayed in Room 3, a small double which was perfect for one, but would be very cosy for two! The bed was comfy and I enjoyed a good night's sleep until I was woken up at 7am by noise from the next room, which sounded like someone wrestling with a door handle - several times!
The shower could do with updating. The water pressure was good, but the temperature was temperamental - alternating between freezing and boiling until it settled down to lukewarm.
Breakfast was superb. I opted for fresh fruit salad, followed by a full English (or should that be Welsh). Either way, it was first class and kept me going all day!
The Beaufort is a good quality, but slightly dated B&B. Cardiff is very busy this week as parents are taking their kids to university and many of them seem to be staying overnight. I assume this is the reason for the shortage of rooms and high prices. Tripadvisor quoted £80 per night for this room, which I think was pricey. I found it on Laterooms for £60, which was ok, but £50 would have been about right. That said, I would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motherofthree78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

What a delightful Guest House. Convenient location with regular buses to town if you don't fancy the 15 minute walk through the beautiful Bute Gardens. Clean and well maintained rooms with tea, coffee and biscuits in them. Great breakfast selection from fresh cooked full breakfast, tea, coffee, juice, fresh fruit salad or cereal. Extremely generous and every taste catered for. If that's not enough for you, just ask Geoff or Paul, nothing's too much trouble for these delightful hosts.
Great local pubs with good food on the doorstep and a few blocks up the street you'll find a coin op laundry, corner store, coffee shops and restaurants. Next time I'm in Cardiff I know where I'lk be staying!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crissie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely hotel, close to Cardiff centre and nice walk through the park. The onsite secure parking is great and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked. We had a triple room which was great value. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanson-Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I spent a night at Beaufort Guest House. The location is great and the free onsite parking is an added bonus. The rooms are clean and well kept. The breakfast is great! Paul even phoned me on the day of arrival to confirm what time I will be checking in!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanD2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,264 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#12 of 74 in Cardiff
2,135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort Guest House

Property: Beaufort Guest House
Address: 65 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9HE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaufort Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beaufort Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Guest House Hotel Cardiff
Beaufort Guest House Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing