We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable, Fantastic breakfast,” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaufort Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beaufort Guest House
Ranked #14 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, Fantastic breakfast,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed for one night, but had to review to comment on the excellent breakfast.

We stayed in a room for 3 adults, which although small (up in the attic) was nice and comfortable and clean. Had a surprise when we went down for our breakfast, the dinning room was traditionally decorated in the victorian style of the house, we ate on a lovely large table with full size candlarbres as centre decoration. The actual breakfast was not only freshly cooked but the food was of the best quality. Just across the road from the national sports centre Sofia Gardens and very close to the city centre, will definatly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    58
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
48
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redruth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Situated only a short bus ride from the city centre, the Beaufort is a very convenient place to stay. The bus stops are within a very short distance and there are a couple of pubs just a few doors away that do excellent meals at very reasonable prices.
The Beaufort itself is very tastefully furnished and obviously, a considerable amount of thought, time and money has gone into creating a dining room which is really special.
Breakfast was excellent with all quality locally sourced food being cooked to perfection.
Mine hosts were always willing to help in any way that they could and saved us a lot of time by checking information on the computer and providing maps as well as a wealth of local information.
The rooms were very clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very conveniently located for the town centre & university. Secure, off road parking a bonus. Full of character, spotlessly clean & very comfortable. Our room was located at the rear of the property & very quiet, so enjoyed an uninterrupted sleep. Excellent breakfast, freshly cooked, set us up for the day. Hosts helpfully supplied a map & local information. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 130Kate130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

On the whole, our stay at the Beaufort Guest House is something we have treasured. It was our first trip to Wales, and our first stay in a UK-style Guest House. We enjoyed the location, the food, and our host.

Our host was largely on his own during our particular weekend (through no fault of his own) and one would have never known it by the excellence of the service. The food was always ready on time and nicely cooked, our host was always calm and pleasant, and the guest house always looked as though it was perfectly neat and comfortable. What a lovely place.

The food: wow. It was our first try at Welsh food and we loved it. I still think wistfully about those breakfasts! The coffee was lovely (yes, a Yankee thing, I know - but it was fresh and tasty), the meats and breads were fresh and flavorful. We loved the juices and eggs. Very nice.

The dining room is a real treat. It seems almost like what it would be like to live in a home in old times - with good service. I was exhausted the first day we were there - and the dining room and our guest room were a sanctuary while we slept a jillion hours to catch up to ourselves.

We were late and our host was gracious (yes, we're always late - but we have a blast!). The parking is nice with a closed gated area.

The location is superb. We wandered Cardiff several times while we were there, and it was always awesome to come back to the Beaufort to crash for a well-deserved siesta nap. We spent lots of time downtown and at the castle - with the knowledge that "home" was right down the street.

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs room... Although there wasn't a lot of foot traffic in the house, we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vividpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were thrilled, first of all, how well situated this is for reaching the centre of Cardiff without need for transport. Our car stayed in the secure (free) parking for most of our stay. There are excellent eating establishments within a short walk. The owner met us outside the property when we arrived and helped carry our case to our room. His reception was warm, personal, and helpful. The Victorian decor is very appropriate to the building and our room was cosy, clean and spacious. An electric kettle in the room with copious amounts of tea and coffee puts many more expensive hotels to shame, as does the provision of free wifi throughout the guest house. The breakfasts are great, whichever options you choose for. The friendliness and personal attention of the lady who serves at breakfast is a real credit to the establishment. All in all, you cannot be but very satisfied if you stay here. We would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here while in Cardiff for an Olympic football match. I loved it! The single room was nice sized, the bed comfy, and the owners are incredibly friendly. I'm not much of a breakfast person, but when I went down on my last day, I wished I was! The inside and outside breakfast areas are just lovely! Had coffee and nice conversation with some other guests. I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minoubean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in this magnificent Victorian guest house for one night on the 15th September 2012. Greeted at the door by a very gentle gentleman called 'Paul'. He had a lovely gentleness and pleasant smile to greet me on my (late) arrival. I was taken to my beautiful en suite bedroom which was very tastefully decorated and to a very high standard. Had everything I needed. The car parking facilities was a pleasant surprise as I had laptops, mobile phones,sat nav etc as my son was about to start university and was moving in that weekend. The owner gave me a key to access the car park at the rear where the car was totally safe. The dining room was exquisite and certainly the best I had ever stayed in. Breakfast a delightful experience and again excellent. All in all excellent value for money. Wish I had stayed longer. But I'll be back and this time to see Cardiff and enjoy the surrounds. The only negative things I can think of is that check -out at 10.30 a.m on a Sunday morning was a little too early for me as my flight wasn't until 20.45. I was tired after all the coming and going with my son and would have liked a little longer in the bed. Also the handle on the toilet kept falling off. That said, everything else more than made up for it.

Room Tip: There is a smallish hotel nearby - to the left. As it was a lovely evening people were outside drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeleneTullamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 45 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jolyon's at No. 10
Jolyon's at No. 10
#7 of 45 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort Guest House

Property: Beaufort Guest House
Address: 65 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9HE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaufort Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Beaufort Guest House Hotel Cardiff
Beaufort Guest House Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing