We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be improved!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 44 Cardiff B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
459 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
“Could not be improved!”
Reviewed June 7, 2009

What an amazing find!

This old farmhouse is one of the best B&Bs I’ve ever stayed in.

It is an old farmhouse literally a stone’s throw from the M4 (but we didn’t hear it at all in our rooms). The view was towards Castell Coch.

Our welcome was most warm and friendly and the owner kindly gave us a flask of fresh milk to make tea after our long journey. She also recommended a pub within walking distance which did huge portions of food.

Both rooms were stylishly and thoughtfully fitted. I couldn’t find a single thing that wasn’t `spot-on`. We had a veranda overlooking the lovely garden which was a bonus. We could easily have stayed there all week.

Breakfast was delicious and served by the family who run a vineyard there. We could not believe what good value for money it was. It could be used as a lesson to would -be B&B owners as to how one should be run.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    21
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
57
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We stayed at the farm for ten days as we needed a base to visit our son who lives in the centre of Cardiff. We booked this B&B on the strength of reviews on tripadvisor and must say we were very pleased with our choice.
The farm was very easy to find following the directions provided on the farm website. It is set in a rural area by the Taff river and very close to pubs and restaurants providing you have a car. There is a pub within walking distance if required but to get the most out of staying here, a car is essential. It is also well situated for country walks and hikes.
We had the Bute room at the back of the farm overlooking the large lawn and garden which we enjoyed as the weather was so nice. Our room had a verandah which we enjoyed on several evenings as we sat enjoying a glass of wine which the farm itself makes and is well worth trying.
The farm also produces its own honey and jam which we enjoyed with our breakfast. There were three choices for breakfast, continental, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or a full welsh cooked breakfast all of which we sampled during our stay & enjoyed.
The information pack provided in the room was very helpful & made useful
suggestions where to eat of an evening. Our favourite was Gwaelod-y-Garth in the country just 5 mins drive away. Outstanding restaurant upstairs, extensive local menu,
traditional ales & good service. Highly recommended. Excellent venue for Sunday roast.
Our accommodation was kept spotlessly clean. Comfortable generous sized bed.
Bathroom always kept sparkling. Towels changed daily. Family members were without
exception very helpful & went out of their way to make our stay a very pleasant one.
This is a gem of a B&B and we are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockmonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I booked this B&B for the second May Bank Holiday less than a week in advance, based on reviews on Trip Advisor. Gelynis Farm definitely lived up to the reviews.

It was a surprise birthday holiday for my boyfriend, so it was a nice couple getaway, but also would be great for families. We did not have a car, and found the Farm easy to get to, although you must be able to walk 15 mins from the closest train station - Radyr along the river. Mind you, it was a very very nice daily walk.

We also made the trek into Cardiff by foot, which took about 2 hours along the Taff Trail by the river. It was a really really great walk, although I was wishing we had bicycles, as it seemed to be the main mode of transport. It would have been a great ride.

The farm is all set up for Pick-Your-Own berries in summer, and I would have loved to be there during that time to take advantage of the harvest! There is a garden to enjoy as well.

We were in the Morgan room, which was very very comfortable with amazing, clean and modern ensuite, and television, tea and coffe facilities in room etc. The bed was a really comfy twin double - but I didn't realise until the second night as they bed's fit so well together that I couldn't feel the gap! The best twin bed ever!

The breakfast was amazing both mornings - there was a choice of smoked salmon and eggs, full Welsh, or Continental. Between us we tried all 3 options, and all were really well cooked and tasty.

The owners were very friendly and helpful, and it made the holiday that much better.

The surrounds are beautiful, as I mentioned, the walks are great, and would be so nice in Summer also.

Two nights cost us £150, and I requested a room through the Gelynis Farm website, and got a reply the next day. The website has instructions to get there by car or train.

I would have preferred to have a car (and bicycle), as it would have been easier to get around Cardiff, and we would have seen more whilst we were there.

Overall, I would strongly recommend a holiday on Gelynis Farm for romantic outdoorsy (but close enough to the city) getaways, but also for families. It was a real pleasant surprise, and even after reading all the reviews, it was more than I was expecting.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustralianinLondon07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2008

We have just spent the weekend in Cardiff with our 2 teenagers. We booked a double room (for us to have some couple time) and a twin room (for the teenagers to have their own space). It was an expensive way to do it but we decided that was the way to do it for this weekend.
The rooms were amazing - very comfortable and spacious and the shower was the best I have had for a long time!
The breakfast was magnificent with berries from their fruit farm and home made jam.
It is quiet (even though it is close to the M4 the noise doesn't get through the trees) and right on the Taff Trail if you want to go walking or biking.

  • Liked — breakfast, location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwigirl44_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

I am a tough traveller to please. A working fruit farm with sheep and chickens both of which you can freely visit. We had Thomas, farmer/ breakfast Cook show us round the farm (very informally) with great enthusiasm, warmth and passion. This was without doubt one of the cleanest, comfortable, friendly and romantic places I have ever stayed. We spent a whole afternoon reading in the beautiful Garden, playing with Taff the one eyed dog and then followed the trail to Castle Coach. Rooms cleaned daily, towels changed whenever used and they never moaned when we were 30 minutes late for breakfast.
Concerned about the motorway (five minutes away as the crows flyes) it was mostly hidden and the noise very much disguised by the tall full trees. Ask for a room that faces away from it and complete tranquillity will prevail. The only way in/out of the farm by car is over a double-gated railway line that you have to open and close. This was fun and led you by horses in a small field, which are very friendly because of the public footpath that runs through the farm. Although I would love to go back I would be a little concerned about the skate-boarding park the Council are building near by. This could attract more people than one would like in this picture perfect family run hostelry.

  • Liked — Cleaniness
  • Disliked — Crossing the railway line at night
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

We came to stay at Gelynis Farm for a couple of nights to attend a friend's wedding near Cardiff, and I'm only sorry that we did not get to stay longer. Firstly, the location is perfect - in a misty (when we were there at least!) green valley with a gorgeous view across to the fairtyale-like Castell Coch; surrounded by farm buildings and fields holding horses; and best of all, you have to cross a little railway track to get to the B&B, all of which makes you feel as if you really are in the middle of the country. However, with your own car you are literally minutes away from Cardiff, so you get the best of both worlds for much less money and with far more peace.

Secondly, the B&B itself is fab. Delicious homecooked breakfast in a bright rustic breakfast room adjoining the farm kitchen - my boyfriend went for the full Welsh cooked and I went for the Continental, all spot on, plus more toast than you can eat AND a really good selection of fruit, cereal and jams and honey actually made on the farm itself. Our bedroom (the Garden Room) was much larger than most hotel rooms we've stayed in, spotlessly clean, a ridiculously comfortable bed and a sparkling modern bathroom with a fab power shower and more extras than we've found in a lot of hotels too (toiletries, cotton wool, toothpicks, emery boards - you name it). Tea & coffee, biscuits, flat-screen TV with Freeview, a folder packed with local info including maps and places to eat within walking distance and a lovely view of the garden outside.

It was a shame our visit was so brief, but if we return to lovely South Wales we will definitely be staying here. Very highly recommended - look beyond Cardiff city centre and you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Gorgeous peaceful location
  • Disliked — That we only got to stay here two nights!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swordette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Fantastic farm environment - horses and dogs. Margaret made us very welcome. Walk to pub. Lovely room with view across the farm to Castel Coch. Spotless home with great bathroom. Beautiful breakfast with local fruit, berries, honey and jam.

  • Liked — Farm life
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGTEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
2,257 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
575 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
565 reviews
5.8 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Morganstown, Cardiff CF15 8LJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gelynis farm is five miles North of the center of Cardiff with good links to trains, busses and M4. We offer all our guests a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and a hearty breakfast. A perfect place to stay for business or travel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gelynis Farm House b&b
Gelynis Farm House Hotel Cardiff
Gelynis Farm House Bed And Breakfast Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing