We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely two nights at Gelynis Farm!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 18, 2013

A friend recommend Gelynis Farm to me, as it was near to the location for a party I was attending. I needed a "get-away" and a B&B was the answer. Margaret at Gelynis Farm is amazing and my stay was absolutely wonderful. I stayed in the Bute room which has a view of Castle Coch. The room was comfortable, quiet, warm and extremely clean. Nice modern bath facilities. Gelynis takes pride in their guest rooms! I also enjoyed the lovely full British breakfast each morning. The food was great, but I also enjoyed the chats with Margaret who cooks the breakfast! Gelynis is close to the M4, easy access, and as others have stated, you get used to opening the level crossing gates for your car. It adds to the charm & seclusion of Gelynis. While you are there, take a walk along the footpath -just follow all of the other people that pass by the B&B and they will show you the way along this beautiful river path. I will definitely stay at Gelynis again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EuroShanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 116 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

This farmhouse just off the M4 was perfect for visiting central Cardiff. Our room was clean and light and the solid door shut out all noise at night-time. We were in the valley below Castle Coch (shrouded in mist and rain) on a popular walking route and got used to managing the level crossing gates having been a bit nervous at first. Lovely breakfast and Margaret offered to lend us umbrellas and helped us make the most of our 1 day to explore Cardiff city. The residents' fridge meant we could picnic back at the farmhouse in the evening - with wine - after a good lunch out!

Room Tip: We were in the annex and at first were concerned about motorway and train noise, but could hear noth...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r0sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. Margaret made us so welcome and the breakfasts were lovely. The room was spotlessly clean, there was plenty of parking space and it was a novelty having to open the level crossing gates and crossing the track each day to access the farm. This also meant that we were just a short train ride away from Cardiff and Margaret gave us plenty of advice concerning sightseeing. A lovely B&B with a charming hostess.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EzzyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Delighted to stay here having been past the fascinating building so many times in the past. The welcoming and cheerful approach was amongst the best I've ever experienced in any B&B. All facilities were meticulously cleaned in all corners, showing someone who must really care about what they are doing - others in the area who charge a lot more, would do well to take note!

It's a lovely environment here - although roads and rail are very close you hardly notice it - no doubt due to the stout walls provided in an earlier age. Even in an heatwave it was cool enough to get a good night's sleep. The breakfast room is especially charming, and one feels well-tended and looked after as one leaves for the day ahead.

The breakfast was of exceptional quality, with superb fresh ingredients - and Worcester sauce readliy to hand, which is always a bonus. Quantity not quite as much as usual in B&B but with quality this high that is a small quibble. The only element not up to the same high standard was the orange juice - it might be nice to have an alternative, e.g. grapefruit or apple?

The one slight drawback is the lack of soundproofing between the bedrooms, I was woken at 11.00 p.m. by the extractor fan from the neighbouring bathroom. Although there are signs asking for consideration after 11.00 perhaps these need to be more explicit? A suggestion could be to ask for shower not to be used after this time, and for light above basin to be used rather than the main bathroom light (this one does not activate the extractor)

Would have been nice for there to be some way for guests to take away a jar of the excellent home-made jam - if not through sale, maybe by asking for donations...?

Apart from these small details, this is a superb place, which I would heartily recommend!

Diolch yn fawr i'r holl deulu am y croeso arbennig ac ansawdd eithriadol y llety.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwylasbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Wonderful innkeeper – great local info. She made sure we knew our dinner options, and that they keep Sunday hours, so we needed to hurry. She also provided information on Castell Coch.

Nice room with adequate storage. Great location, with lovely view of Castell Coch from our room. The grounds have farm animals and a well-kept garden that’s open for guests to enjoy.

We hiked the Taff Trail from the Radyr train station based on the website’s directions. Only trouble is, the Taff Trail is unmarked from the station. So if you do it, look for the sloping walkway before you hit the street. It took about ½ hour with our 45lb packs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMWinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night in the kingsize room, it was spotlessly clean with some nice touches, the only thing missing were maybe some biscuits to have with our tea! The breakfast was just right although a little hectic. A second person could have relieved the lady from a lot of extra work, cooking, serving, replenishing tea and coffee etc. we did have a cold shower in the morning however, not by choice, all the hot water had been used it seemed! We didn't complain as we had enjoyed our stay despite the fact the M4 is definitely within earshot!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poshpaws77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Gelynis Farm B & B for a couple of days in early June while vacationing in Wales, and we absolutely loved the place! We made our reservation a couple of months in advance via telephone, which was easy and painless, and we promptly received a confirmation email with all of the details. We were warmly greeted by the owner when we arrived and she personally showed us to our room, which was clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The bathroom was also clean, modern and well-maintained, and the free Wi-fi worked flawlessly.

Gelynis Farm is in a beautiful rural setting, even though it's only a 15-minute drive from downtown Cardiff. It is actually a working fruit farm with pick-your-own fruit during various seasons and there are horses and sheep on the farm as well. It is situated right along a scenic walking/biking trail along the river Taff (the trail goes all the way into Cardiff) and we enjoyed some nice evening strolls along the river. The farm has a cafe that is open during mid-day, but unfortunately we didn't have a chance to try it since we were out sightseeing during those hours.

Breakfast was included in the reasonable price and was made-to-order. It was delicious, and was made and served by the affable owner, an energetic one-woman show. She was extremely friendly and helpful and offered us tips and suggestions for our daily sightseeing.

Gelynis Farm was one of the highlights of our time in England and Wales!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davejeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
3.7 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
5.4 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 74 in Cardiff
2,484 reviews
2.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
643 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Morganstown, Cardiff CF15 8LJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gelynis farm is five miles North of the center of Cardiff with good links to trains, busses and M4. We offer all our guests a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and a hearty breakfast. A perfect place to stay for business or travel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gelynis Farm House Hotel Cardiff
Gelynis Farm House b&b
Gelynis Farm House Bed And Breakfast Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing