We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great farm stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 42 Cardiff B&B and Inns
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great farm stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Fantastic farm environment - horses and dogs. Margaret made us very welcome. Walk to pub. Lovely room with view across the farm to Castel Coch. Spotless home with great bathroom. Beautiful breakfast with local fruit, berries, honey and jam.

  • Liked — Farm life
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGTEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
56
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2008

A lovely B&B on a farm just outside of Cardiff. It has a perfect view of Castell Coch. We had a very comfortable, clean and well-furnished bedroom with a brand-new modern bathroom, LCD TV, heater in good working condition, all the little amenities like hairdryers, sewing kits and moisturisers, and most thoughtful of all, a little package of information with maps of Cardiff city and other attractions that we might want to go to!

Breakfast was delicious - other than the made to order English breakfast with farm fresh eggs, there was fresh yoghurt and raspberries, fruits, bread etc. The owners are really warm, gracious and efficient - it feels like staying with a nice family rather than a standard B&B.

For lunch/dinner, there is a Ty-Nant pub a short walk from the farm, that serves surprisingly good pub food.

We stayed in about 6 or 7 B&Bs throughout our trip in the UK and this was undoubtedly the best we have been to. Would recommend this to anyone who's planning to visit Cardiff with a car - it is so much more relaxing to stay outside the city and wake up to fresh air and fresh food in the morning!

  • Liked — Thoughtful owners and brand-new bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forestmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfield, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Gelynis Farm is perhaps one of the most unique places I've ever stayed in. We stayed for two nights in late May on a trip to England and Wales.

Never before have I seen a railroad crossing like the one to get to the B&B. Once at the B&B, we were amazed at the beautiful setting, despite being 5 miles from downtown Cardiff. We had the Morgan Room, with its separate entry way. The room was nicely done and very clean. The bathroom, which looks recently renovated, rivals some top class hotel bathrooms I've seen. The breakfasts were excellent. The owner was genuinely excited at the prospect of her guests exploring the area and gave us a wonderful history of the surrounding area.

We had a car so it was convenient to get to Cardiff, Caerphilly, Brecon Beacons, etc but it was also conveniently out of the busiest of areas. We hope to return some day as we certainly missed some sites, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dschaff2874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

When we first decided to 'do' South Wales, it was almost certain we'd book a hotel in Cardiff city centre - so glad we changed our minds and went for Gelynis Farm after seeing their website!

From our window in the Morgan room (situated in an annexe which felt pleasantly independent), we could see Castell Coch clearly every morning, it was lovely to wake up to after arriving late at night! The breakfasts were made to order (already missing the smoked salmon and scrambled egg every morning now) and nothing seemed too much trouble for the owners, with cheerful conversation and advice about local events etc.

As for aesthetics and functionality, the room was perfect. The bathroom seemed brand new, as you might find in a really right-wing hotel, and I was impressed with the flatscreen digital tv. The room servicing was very thorough and everything literally sparkled with cleanliness!

The level crossing did take us a bit by surprise late at night; perhaps we should have read these reviews first! However, by the end, we were confidently manoeuvring the large gates for the car and when the lights did turn red, there was a reassuring amount of time before the train came through.

It's worth bearing in mind that you'll probably need a car to do any decent shopping trips, unless you don't mind a 20-30 minute walk down to Radyr's Co-op and the resulting 20-30 minute walk back uphill to the farm! For dipping into the main city occasionally and exploring the countryside, the location was ideal, with bus-stops at the end of the drive and Radyr train station a walk away.

All in all, it was a lovely experience - although we did have a little hiccup with reserving our room in the very beginning! After using their website to book, and receiving an email confirming our stay, we phoned on the day we left to find that they seemed to have no clue as to who we were! They explained that it had been recorded in the wrong month, or something, so for that reason, I would recommend making reservations by telephone - and that way, of course, you'll be made to feel welcome before you've even got there!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tangled_up_in_dylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2007

We have just returned from travelling around the UK for two months and we stayed at Gelynis Farm for one week co-inciding with the 2007 rugby games tickets we had, being played in Cardiff. What an absolute little gem. From the moment we arrived to the sad moment we left we felt like a part of the family. Nothing was too much trouble, We loved listening to Roger's stories about the farm and surrounding areas. They were happy to answer any questions about places to go etc. The farm was only a 15 minute walk along the river to the train station and then only a 12 minute ride to Cardiff - so easy !!!! Or you could drive the 5 minutes down the road to the station but walking along the river was more relaxing. Along the other end of the river there was their local pub (10 minute walk) with excellent food. The accommodation itself was brilliant, so much room and excellent king sized beds. The food was plentiful and there was so worry about going back for seconds. All in all our stay at Gelynis Farm was excellent and if we ever do decide to go back to Cardiff I know where we will be staying !!!!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Orangelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It's lovely and peaceful and clean and the owners are very friendly. The breakfast was delicious and we were treated very well.

The only problem was we were there for a stag and hen weekend so didn't get chance to relax!

One thing I would say is that there is a train track you have to cross to get to the house, without a proper crossing, and at night it's an interesting experience!

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissWhitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
2.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
5.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#2 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Morganstown, Cardiff CF15 8LJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gelynis farm is five miles North of the center of Cardiff with good links to trains, busses and M4. We offer all our guests a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and a hearty breakfast. A perfect place to stay for business or travel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gelynis Farm House Hotel Cardiff
Gelynis Farm House b&b
Gelynis Farm House Bed And Breakfast Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing