We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Self Catering Accommodation in Cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road
Ranked #11 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stunning Self Catering Accommodation in Cardiff”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We travel abroad quite frequently and prefer to stay in self catering apartments as it gives us the independence to eat out or in whatever we choose. Never before have we experienced such wonderful self catering accommodation, it was spotlessly clean (including the cream carpets) had absolutely all utensils required, plenty of cupboard space, a dishwasher and washing machine all compactly hidden behind the kitchen cupboards. I can honestly not say one bad thing about the accommodation we had, my only remark would be to request a ground floor unit if you are elderly or stairs aren't your best. Being on the 3rd floor didn't bother us but I would imagine people with heavy suitcases would have trouble getting up and down. Well done SACO for offering 5 star accommodation!

Room Tip: Request a ground floor unit if you are elderly or have problems with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer196807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at SACO Cardiff. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the apartment spotlessly clean.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Cardiff.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
13
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

this is a second review by the same reviewer.
The apartment is nice and clean. Walking to the city center is easy. Free parking on the street. The bedroom is wide and new.
Stores in walking distance.
No free wi fi.
We got apartment 3 which is on the first floor. There is no lift and we had to take the Briefcases by the steps.
We did not meet the manager, but spoke with him on the phone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mraniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at SACO Cardiff. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Cardiff.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The apartment is nice and clean. Walking to the city center is easy. Free parking on the street. The bedroom is wide and new.
Stores in walking distance.
No free wi fi.
We got apartment 3 which is on the first floor. There is no lift and we had to take the Briefcases by the steps.
We did not meet the manager, but spoke with him on the phone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raniel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at SACO Cardiff. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Cardiff.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A short break to take advantage of a few days of elusively good weather saw my husband and me book a short notice trip to the Welsh capital. The apartment reserved for us by SACO was plain but spacious and very clean. We had a ground floor allocation with two double bedrooms (one with en-suite shower) and a large living room with a well-equipped galley kitchen. A second bathroom with a 'proper' bath allowed a relaxing soak for me; as required.
The apartment is situated on one of the major roads into Cardiff so there was a little traffic noise with us being at the front of the converted house but this was bearable. There are many pubs and restaurants within a few minutes walk and the City Centre was reachable, on foot, in 15 - 20 minutes. Parking and broadband are available at a reasonable daily cost. I would be very pleased to stay here again and would recommend it, happily, to others.

Room Tip: I would suggest, for light sleepers, that an apartment at the back of the house be requested as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at SACO Cardiff. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location pleasing.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Cardiff.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We had such a delightful relaxing stay here in Cardiff. The apartment had the wow factor when we arrived with absolutely EVERYTHING you would require at your stay.

We travelled to watch the Wales v Ireland rugby game. We came back to the apartment earlier than planned due to its comfortable atmospheric feel.

Most thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the accommodation. Would stay here when visiting Cardiff EVERY TIME!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nins82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at SACO Cardiff. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the apartment had the 'wow' factor.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Cardiff.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Excellent service - excellent apartments. Spotlessly clean, freshly decorated & furnished to high standard. Staff couldnt do enough to help. I will definately stay again. Car parking very convenient and I had an apartment in the back building which was very quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at SACO Cardiff. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found your apartment was spotless.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Cardiff.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Spacious apartment (Flat 10) well laid out and good furnishings, Spotless. The instructions as ever where easy to do. Leslie had made sure the heating was turned up (Sat 26 Jan - so cold). This flat has a dedicated patio so would be great for a summers day/evening :-). Used the washing machine as had to dig ourselves out of snow on the way down thus cloths needed washing - great facilities - Thank you Leslie for the easy instructions. Car parking is a slight disappointment as now it is extra - a minor inconvenience - but should be made a little more clear on booking. Internet: bring your own MiFi if you need to be in contact from a business perspective. Summary; Easy to book, spotless clean, Leslie always makes sure you are OK and if not is on the end of a phone... and she picks up !!!!! enhancements that would be good - mattress toppers ;-)

Room Tip: If you are a couple Book room 8 - if you are a family Book Room 11, if you just want a nice and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at SACO Cardiff. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found Lesley to be very helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Cardiff.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff
0.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Town House
The Town House
#14 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#2 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.0 mi away
A Space in the City @ Quayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road

Property: SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road
Address: Saco House 76 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning restoration of magnificent Victorian town houses provides one and two bedroom apartments overlooking Sophia Gardens and Glamorgan County Cricket Ground. The apartments have been interior designed in a contemporary style featuring a large living/dining area (some with sofa beds), fully equipped kitchen, master bedroom with king size beds and separate bathroom. Two bedroom apartments also have king size beds and additional en-suite shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saco Hotel Cardiff
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing