We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRIGHTENING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Twin room booked, double offered on arrival. Polish receptionist (Thomas) did not understand concept of twin beds!! "But the bed sleeps two people" he said.
Room changed for a twin, the bed had not been changed, only noticed on close examination after seeing bloodstains on pillow.
At 6 pm management promised to have it cleaned before we got back from dinner.
At 8 pm when we returned it had not been attended to, and on complaining at reception were informed it would be attended to shortly i.e. after they had finished processing a group of late arrivals. After loudly complaining that finding bloodstains and d dirty linen on the bed the offered to change the room, it is now our third bedroom!
Noticed the standards had dropped dramatically, no longer wifi in room, no courtesy bottle of water, no tissues and most worrying of all no sanitary towel disposable bags in any of the three bedrooms Also, Note: having been there on many occasions over the years we were told that the Thomas's the restaurant is sub contracted and not actually part of the hotel after we had complained that the ham sandwich we ordered in room service was actually a piece of bacon left over from breakfast and put between two pieces of bread (not buttered).
Also you will note the food on display is not covered and we decided not to eat thee having seen the guy in front of us actually sneeze of the hot food laid out uncovered on the counter.
Will never ever go there again and certainly won't ever recommend it.
I can't offer an alternative because we have always stayed there but it has deteriorated beyond comparison now, visit it at your peril.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamsaddened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P.Lago, Group Operations Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest
I am disappointed to read the review of your stay at Cardiff and apologise sincerely for the experience you have had.
I have asked the General Manager to carry out a detailed investigation and I will report back to you with my findings as to why things went so badly wrong.
I am anxious to put this matter right and if you would like to contact me direct at the hotel I should be pleased to have the opportunity to discuss this matter further with you.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,255 - 3,261 of 4,003 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel has huge rooms, two kings size beds in a single room :-) Neat and clean. I liked the fact that you have the possibility to make some coffee and tea, a possibility that not all hotels offer you nowadays.

Unfortunately, I could not get rid of the heat in my room despite opening my window during the day and having set the air-co at the coldest degrees possible. I am convinced that they can save their money on heating!

Room Tip: nothing in particular to say about this. My room faced the motorway, which caused noise during night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The room was spacious, mostly clean and well-appointed (apart from slightly old towels). Breakfast was decent, pretty standard hot and cold buffet, though they wanted to charge my husband for a hot chocolate (on top of the high room cost! - no thanks). But, the location was really odd and it has no character at all. It's at the edge of a car park for the red dragon centre (cinema/bowling) so to get anywhere you have to walk through a massive car park. Also, looks out on dual carriageways on all sides, so it's not very quiet and the views are terrible (ours was road then office block). Less than 10 mins walk to Cardiff bay though (which is a plus). Free parking, which is a bonus, and why we booked it. Strangely, our standard double room included two queen-size beds. One king size (or even standard) double would have been better...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayak_girl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Easy to find and ideally located for the Cardiff Bay Area.
The hotel is fairly new and well appointed with the bar and restaurant at the front overlooking the car areas. The room was smart, clean and fresh with excellent views over the Cardiff City as I was on the 6th floor.
Quiet during the night and an excellent sleep.
The breakfast was superb, with hot and cold choices.
Excellent value for money

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I returned to Cardiff this September, for the first time since 1988. Felt I'd done quite enough traveling this year, but some friends of mine asked me to join them because they wanted to see the Dr. Who exhibition. They chose the hotel, and I got a room there as well.

Once we managed to find the hotel (arriving by train from London after our flight from Oslo, we opted to walk, as we thought it'd give us some idea of the layout of the area, got lost and ended up on the motorway south of the hotel, something that happens from time to time apparently), I must say we were very pleased. A fairly new building, it is pleasantly roomy, with a nice bar and restaurant, and very helpful and chatty staff. Mind you, after the long walk we had, getting lost and all, any place would have been welcome.

Anyhow, the room I got was very nice and big. The tv was large, there was a sofa (since I had a single bed room) and I sat down with a couple of beers and some UK tv while the others rested. The bed was very comfortable, and for maybe the first time ever, I got really good pillows, nice, firm, and more than one of them! So I slept really well here. Only slight irritant was finding a nearly finished roll of toilet paper left on the holder in the bathroom when I first arrived. I know it isn't much to go on about, but I don't reminders of the previous occupants. It's just one of those little things that nags at you.

Hotel is surrounded by parking lots and those US style eating chains that need a lot of parking around them, something that looks a little bland and sterile, but also helps making the place fairly quiet.

So, all in all, I had a nice stay here.

Oh, and Doctor Who and Cardiff was very nice as well, so do take a trip to Wales if you can.

Heads up, walking from the train station, when you reach the Red Dragon Center, don't walk past it and turn left by the Millennium Center, turn left as you reach it, that way you avoid getting south of the highway you don't see on Google maps, due to the fact it comes up from underground, which cuts you off from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north are probably quieter than those facing south (due to the highway), but won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Splitenz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Booked a two-room suite via Expedia on a room only basis, and asked for a travel cot, and the sofa in the suite to be made up as a bed as we had a 4 year old and a 2 year old with us.

Checked in and was given a room with two queen beds in it. Went back to reception and said that was not what we'd booked. They then found us a suite (room 501/502) but the sofa bed hadn't been made up and there was no cot. Good job I brought my own just in case.

Room itself was clean, well-appointed, and very spacious. The suite room with sofa, chair and desk was also roomy, and contained a fridge and a TV. Genius door configuration in the bathroom (bathroom door doubles as toilet door). Unfortunately when we tried to make ourselves a hot drink after the kids were in bed, the kettle shorted out the electrics to the entire suite, and the kids' nightlight went off (epic bedtime fail). Someone came to reset it, and we gave it another go. Same thing happened. 20-minutes of wrangling with the front desk and ascertaining that the kettle was faulty, they offered us a tray of tea and coffee to be brought up to the room, free of charge. This was a really good solution.

We had a peaceful night's sleep, and checked out the following morning, but were disappointed to find the "free" tea and coffee put on our bill! After explaining what had happened, they were happy to remove it.

The gym facility was closed until further notice, and the vending machines only sold a limited selection of drinks.

All in all, the facilities are good, but it's a lot of little things that let it down. Wrong room, broken kettle, having to make beds myself or bring them with us, no gym facilities despite being advertised, tea and coffee not taken off bill before checkout, etc.

The staff were friendly though, and willing to help which is why I rated it as 4* not anything lower.

Room Tip: On the hunt for a functioning kettle, and also having the wrong room to start with, I saw rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsT777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear HaloHoney

Thank you for your very well balanced and honest review. It often happens that when somebody writes a review on trip advisor, it is very limited and contains only the negatives rather than explaining what went right as well, so it is truly appreciated that you took the time to write a comprehensive review.
I would like to address some of the issues that you experienced during your stay. Firstly in relation to you being given the wrong room type on check-in. This is something that seems to be a regular issue when people book through a third party website. They are very large companies who often fail passing over the correct details about peoples bookings. The main issues that we have with them is due to erroneous allocations, no special room requirements (cots and extra beds) and the number of people that will be staying. We have tried to speak about these issues with the companies involved but they seem to have an ‘our way or the highway’ approach to this sort of issues, and while customers like yourself continue to book through these sites they will not change. It is always recommended that you check directly with the hotel if all request have been passed to us as we hardly ever make those sort of mistakes.
At this point it is very important to note that we have Cots available in the hotel and someone would come to you set it up and make the sofa bed for you if you ask. When you encounter a problem like this then the housekeeping department can help very quickly, you have paid for such services and they are always available. The kettle tripping the fuse is regrettable, unfortunately this is something that happens but not every day and we should be faster when responding to such problems. To then get charged for the Free Tea and Coffee you were sent is also regrettable but we wouldn’t try to make you pay for things like that and that is why it was instantly refunded when it was brought to our attention.
The gym facilities are currently out of service and we are trying to rectify this. And we removed the Chocolate Bar Vending Machine from the 1st floor as it was barely ever used. Instead there are snacks available at reception and the bar stocks chocolate, crisps, nuts and cans of drink etc.

The main point I would like to make is that communicating directly with us, when making the booking and if troubles occur are fundamental in us being able to deliver a tailored service.

I hope you return to us one day, if you do then I would suggest booking in advance to gain potential discounts and offers. I’m very sure that this will prove to you that we are reasonably priced and very capable of offering superb customer service.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were in Cardiff for the Half Marathon and spent Saturday night (5th October) at the hotel.
The service we received was poor - in stark contrast to the previous year. One of the reasons we booked this time was because last year they offered a late checkout for runners, which was much appreciated. This time we were told that we couldn't check out late. We noticed posters in the lifts and bar area offering Sunday lunch and a 3pm checkout....we were told that option wasn't available either !
Rushed back to the hotel (before noon) after the race and just managed to have a shower -before a phone call from reception and just before a knock on the door. Finished getting dried and changed in the car park at 12.15.
Got the impression that guests were a real inconvenience to the hotel - poor customer service. Will not be using Future Inn Cardiff again. P.S. A hair in the bed and others in the bathroom didn't add to the experience. Free car park was only plus point.

Room Tip: Avoid ones near the road / roundabout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P.Lago, Group Operations Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. Our normal check out time is at noon but in previous years when the half marathon has been on we have allowed guests a late check out. Unfortunately because of an event in the City we were practically sold out on Sunday night and as our check in time is at 2pm we were unable to offer this facility this year.
We did inform guests on check in that we were unable to offer a late check out but we did offer to look after luggage for guests and offered a room for a shower for those guests who wanted a shower. We could not allow guests to stay later as the rooms had to be cleaned and prepared ready for 2pm check in. I am sorry that you were disappointed .I confirm that the General Manager did write to you informing you fully of the details and we have also posted a response to your review on Bookings.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 74 in Cardiff
3,392 reviews
1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $78 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing