We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Future visits? We'll be @ the Future Inn...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
mid wales
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Future visits? We'll be @ the Future Inn...”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Back again for a fourth time and now feeling quite at home here. Last time we were here , we had asked for a 'quiet' room and were allocated one on the sixth floor overlooking mostly a car park, so yes, it was very quiet.
This time we asked for the same thing and were given 414 - fourth floor, overlooking dual carriageway. The traffic noise was pretty constant and as the windows were a bit draughty, I think it was worse. The weather was bitterly cold and the wind whistled through the building - literally. the whistling wind was really loud in the corridor outside the room, coming from the fire escape at the end of the corridor, which again, wasn't completely sealed when shut..
This did not deter from our stay - with earplugs in, all noise vanished! The breakfast was much improved this time too, though the scrambled egg still resembles dry yellow polysteirine - someone should really show them how to scramble and egg without doing it to death. This time, the fried eggs were a) fresh and b) not swimming in fat like last time, and the bacon was beautifully cooked, unlike the anaemic white rashers of December.
The reception staff were helpfull and friendly and no question was too much trouble...
Being so bitterly cold, we couldn't be bothered to walk to the Millenium Centre to catch the No 6 bus into town, so booked a taxi two mornings running, arriving in 5 minutes and costing £5 from the hotel to the back door of John Lewis in the town centre - and great for carrying all the bags back at the end of a long day...
Only one complaint - this room needed a new shower - or descaling - we tried all the settings and none were very good or powerful.
No doubt we will be back again before too long..

Room Tip: For a good night sleep ask for a room higher up (floor 5/6) overlooking the car park - not a road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBag23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Medyrs

Thank you very much for your lengthy and in depth review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to note down anything good and bad, so we can balance our services accordingly. The fact that you have returned for a fourth time is obviously a good sign that you have enjoyed your stay at The Future Inns Cardiff but we don’t only look at the positive comments. Instead we spend a lot of time improving our services and criticism is as important as praise in this respect.
We are currently looking into different ways to limit any noise that can disturb our guests. Our location has the benefit of easy access to link roads and public transport routes but this also means that light sleepers can sometimes be affected by the noise. As you have experienced, if you do want a quiet room then we have other rooms that are barely affected by noise. The wind however is a rarity. I have experienced what you have described as howling winds. Though this is something that was due to a loose vent on the hotels roof and has been replaced meaning silence again prevails.
We are very glad to hear that you can already see the improvement in the breakfast. Our new Head Chef has been making some really important changes of late and we are sure that this improvement will continue.
We have also passed on your kind regards to our reception team, they are always very pleased to know that their efforts are noticed. Finally we have spoken to our maintenance department about the showers effectiveness in this room. Hopefully the issue will be resolved immediately and again I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. We can only succeed if we know where we are failing so your review is much appreciated.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,505
    1,480
    441
    144
    77
See reviews for
1,051
1,334
105
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here during a business trip in March 2013. The hotel is of a very high quality, as was the food (evening and morning). Really impressed and good value as well...

The staff were great, very freindly and helpful.

BUT, there was "still" no WiFi (receptionist's quote). The WiFi was working but apparently had no network. For me, as this was a business trip, it really let the hotel down. If it wasn't for that, it would be 5 star without a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameswameek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Jameswameek

We are really glad you enjoyed you overall stay with us. With the help of our staff we try and raise the level of our service to be able to compete in what can be a cutthroat industry for many smaller chains like our selves. The way we attempt to achieve this is through offering an achievable standard and then letting our staff bring their positive traits to the table. We are glad that you had a positive experience in this regard. We are very sorry for the trouble you had using the WiFi in the hotel. It has only been unavailable on one day for the past 12 months and is not a regular problem. It is a very important part of the modern hotel experience and when it has gone down in the past we have put in every effort to rectify the problem ASAP. We do appreciate that you can be let down when this service is unavailable for any reason. We really do hope that you will stay again, as the proof of improvement will be there to experience.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed with friends for a Theatre break. What a friendly and welcoming hotel,ideally situated for a visit to Cardiff centre and the bay. Service was exceedingly good with nothing too much trouble. Food was of a high standard and I must say that it was most enjoyable.My friends and I will certainly be returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Gill F

We are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be returning. When we see a positive review like yours it fills us full of joy and pride for the work everyone here puts in to make sure your stay is stress free and enjoyable. There are many shows coming up in the WMC and you will always be welcome at the Future Inns. We will always do our best to make your stay as perfect as possible and we send you warm Easter Wishes.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my partner and two children. We were visiting the Dr Who experience which isnt far. The staff are very friendly and the hotel is very clean. We stayed in a family room which had two queen sized beds the room was very spacious with plenty of room to put your stuff. Had a big tv,a good hairdryer and iron.
The restaurant served the best breast of duck I have ever tasted and the rest of the menu was equally yummy. The restaurant staff are so lovely and nothing is too much trouble.
I shall defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear LisaWolverhampton

Thank you for your very kind review of our hotel. Not everyone takes the time to note down what they thought and your opinion is what can help us better our business and services. We have passed on your comments to our different departments and all the staff were very happy that this was a positive experience for you. We also must pass on the appreciation from the kitchen who are always striving to make delicious food. They were all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Breast of Duck you were served, especially as Duck can be a meat that is very difficult to get right. We really hope that next time you stay with us your experience will be just as good, if not much better.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was in the area attending a conference at the millennium centre and despite originally being from Cardiff and having free accommodation available to me I decide it would be easier and more social if I got a hotel near the event.
The hotel is well placed for access from the bay link road but suffers a bit from the poor city planning as to get from the hotel to the main bay attractions it's a bit of a wander around the carparks of the Red Dragon arena and other hotels; it could really do with a footbridge over the main road to avoid this.

The staff at reception were at first friendly and helpful and check-in was easy and hassle free although it would have been nice if we could have checked in before 2pm so we could have got everything sorted in the break we had from the conference at lunch time.

The room was large and clean with a good size bed and a sofa, as would be expected from what was billed as a superior room. The hotel did however feel a bit like a Eastern European block of flats with dimly lit long wandering corridors to get to the rooms, and the view from my window over the steel factory next-door doesn't do much to dispel this feeling.
From the 5th floor you could still hear the road in the morning but it wasn't enough to really wake you or stop you getting to sleep.
The hotel bar was reasonably comfortable and had a pretty good selection of drinks but you can find better in the bay area.

My only real gripe was with the breakfast, not so much the food which was OK but the service. Food was self service from a buffet bar but drinks were being served to various tables around ours, however, when I asked a member of staff if I could get a pot of tea I was bluntly told if was self service and directed towards a table around the corner with a few mugs and a bits on.
I'm happy enough to make my own tea but it was the two-tiered system in place where those in in suits and ties were happily being served to their tables where we were told to get our own.
I was half tempted to go to my room, put my suit back on and return to see if I was treated any differently.
For £9 a head I'd expect a better breakfast, you'd probably find much better if you go elsewhere.
I mentioned this to the lady at reception as I checked out but here response was that I must have been making things up, not really what you'd expect.

Room Tip: You'd probably be better getting a room facing the bay rather than facing the steel works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear GJ82

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Future Inn Cardiff Bay.

As you will have noted and experienced our check out time is 12 noon and check in is 2pm, we always endeavor to check early arrivals or delegates in when they arrive but sometimes we are constrained by the occupancy of the hotel the night before and the departure time of those guests.
I am pleased that you found the room satisfactory , the hotel is a modern simple design and I am sorry that you did not find the aesthetics of the building or the position in close proximity to the Bay area to your personal liking. The 197 bedrooms are split across 6 floors and 2 wings and we have never had a complaint previously of long or dimly lit corridors-most comments are that the common areas are very open and large compared to most other hotels.
We do offer a coffee/tea station on busy days and weekends, there is no two tier system- the staff will step in and serve guests in addition to the stations to avoid a build up of queues at the drink stations .We certainly do not differentiate between guests because of the way they are dressed.

Kind Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel seemed a bargain on Booking.com, so we decided to splash out on a suite. This turned out to be a bit of a mistake... The "suite" turned out to be 2 rooms with a connecting door. The seating area was comfortable enough with a large television, but not that big - it must have originally been a single bedroom. Decor-wise, it was a bit of a mish-mash, with a small Beko fridge that stuck out from its housing; the remainder of the furnishings looked like 1970s remnants. The bedroom itself was comfortable, but again with decor that would have looked more at home in the 1970s.
At check-in, despite being on their system at the reduced price we'd got through Booking.com, they firstly tried to charge full price (which would definitely not have been worth the money), until the reduced price was pointed out to them on the booking confirmation. After that, the staff were helpful enough.
The hotel itself is a cross between a Travelodge (i.e. a bit down at heel) and a Premier Inn, but frankly it was fine for one night. The bar area was clean and they had a good selection - but do note that they advertise themselves as a great venue for stag and hen parties in Cardiff Bay, which is not exactly what you'd want to experience after a night at the Welsh National Opera.
Breakfast was something of a feeding frenzy, partly understandable because it was so good, but this meant lengthy queues. They could have made a bit more space available in the bar for, say, the bread rolls and pastries (they use one bar counter for teas and coffee, but the other isn't used, which leads to the breakfast counter being overcrowded).
Parking was free (always a bonus) and access to the attractions of Cardiff Bay very easy. In fact, this would be a good place to stay if visiting Cardiff city centre as access by bus to the centre is also very easy.
All in all, would I stay there again ? Probably yes, because of its location and ease of access (and the breakfast) but I'd not make the mistake of booking a suite again, opting for just a standard room instead. Think of it as a cross between a Travelodge and a Premier Inn and you'll get the picture.

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the upper floors if you want to avoid potential noise from stag and hen part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P8h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales U K
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is my second review following another visit
Within walking distance to the Millennium Centre for the opera
Huge comfortable room
Large bed ..had a good nights sleep
No traffic noise
Free parking
Skipped breakfast and went to Barkers in the Castle Arcade
Plenty of buses from the bay to the City centre
Taxis cost £6 approx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyfreithwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,110 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Property: Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing