We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for the Millennium Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel seemed a bargain on Booking.com, so we decided to splash out on a suite. This turned out to be a bit of a mistake... The "suite" turned out to be 2 rooms with a connecting door. The seating area was comfortable enough with a large television, but not that big - it must have originally been a single bedroom. Decor-wise, it was a bit of a mish-mash, with a small Beko fridge that stuck out from its housing; the remainder of the furnishings looked like 1970s remnants. The bedroom itself was comfortable, but again with decor that would have looked more at home in the 1970s.
At check-in, despite being on their system at the reduced price we'd got through Booking.com, they firstly tried to charge full price (which would definitely not have been worth the money), until the reduced price was pointed out to them on the booking confirmation. After that, the staff were helpful enough.
The hotel itself is a cross between a Travelodge (i.e. a bit down at heel) and a Premier Inn, but frankly it was fine for one night. The bar area was clean and they had a good selection - but do note that they advertise themselves as a great venue for stag and hen parties in Cardiff Bay, which is not exactly what you'd want to experience after a night at the Welsh National Opera.
Breakfast was something of a feeding frenzy, partly understandable because it was so good, but this meant lengthy queues. They could have made a bit more space available in the bar for, say, the bread rolls and pastries (they use one bar counter for teas and coffee, but the other isn't used, which leads to the breakfast counter being overcrowded).
Parking was free (always a bonus) and access to the attractions of Cardiff Bay very easy. In fact, this would be a good place to stay if visiting Cardiff city centre as access by bus to the centre is also very easy.
All in all, would I stay there again ? Probably yes, because of its location and ease of access (and the breakfast) but I'd not make the mistake of booking a suite again, opting for just a standard room instead. Think of it as a cross between a Travelodge and a Premier Inn and you'll get the picture.

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the upper floors if you want to avoid potential noise from stag and hen part...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P8h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,726)
There are newer reviews for Future Inn Cardiff Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,146 - 3,152 of 3,726 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is my second review following another visit
Within walking distance to the Millennium Centre for the opera
Huge comfortable room
Large bed ..had a good nights sleep
No traffic noise
Free parking
Skipped breakfast and went to Barkers in the Castle Arcade
Plenty of buses from the bay to the City centre
Taxis cost £6 approx

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyfreithwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is bright and modern with a busy feel to the bar and restaurant area. I used the bar for a pre-opera drink and the restaurant for a self service cooked breakfast the following morning which was above average although the coffee was not very nice! A bit watery and weak...
The room was well appointed with plenty of space, nicely decorated with modern furniture and a clean bright bathroom.
The hotel i situated about 5 minutes walk from te bay front area which has a great selection of restaurants to suit all tastes and a lively atmosphere in the evenings. Although I didn't visit the city centre for shopping, I understand it's only about 10 minutes away by cab, bus or train.
Over all, a good value comfortable stay.

Room Tip: If you are disturbed by traffic noise, ask to be situated away from the busy main road which runs al...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Jon E

We are very glad that you were pleased by our location, our furnishings and that you had a comfortable stay. We are very surprised to hear a negative comment about the standards of our coffee. Our coffee is often noted to us as excellent, freshly percolated and with a fantastic aroma, so to hear you did not find that during your stay is a disappointment for us all, especially the breakfast team. I would like to apologies for that and I can make a promise that your next coffee you have with us here at the Future Inn Cardiff Bay will be tasty, fresh and humbly served.

Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to write your review of our hotel.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I wasn't visiting Cardiff for pleasure and therefore chose a hotel that would have free parking and a big bed! And that is just what I got. Check in was very easy, our room was really clean and big, bed (although a bit hard) was huge, and there was plenty of free parking (and I didn't have a problem in finding a space at 9pm). Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR-LOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear JR-LOR

Thanks for taking the time to jot down your thoughts. We are very pleased to have met your expectations. Your comfort is the number one priority for my colleagues and I. I hope that your next stay with us will be even more enjoyable and maybe next time your visit can be to enjoy the leisurely side of Cardiff. With the Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff Bay and The City Centre just around the corner there are many things to do in Cardiff than hard work.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Have used the Future Inn many times over the last 4 years as it is my standard business stop in Cardiff. The key point here is value for money. This isn't a spa hotel but it isn't trying to be, it is however a good stopover with a reasonable breakfast, clean and well kept rooms with plenty of space.

My only complaint would be the rather odd but still functional cupboard where it is only easy to access one garment at a time. Still I always stay here and have a good service and my complaint isn't a major thing.

Breakfast is pretty good with a wide buffet selection for a full english.

This isn't the ideal hotel for the centre of Cardiff or sightseeing but is only a short taxi ride to get in there and is well place for motorways etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliftTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear CliftTravels

Obviously as a regular visitor to us at the Cardiff Bay Future Inns, your opinion is vital to our continued success, so we would like to express our gratitude for your review. You are correct in recognizing that we are marketed as a value for money option in Cardiff. Though it is not all we intend to be. We want to make sure that we hold on to you as a customer by supplying a service that we believe is generally unmatched by our competitors. We have a hotel with character and one part of that is our very large beds and sizable rooms. We do understand that our cupboards are not the largest but we hope that we will continue to mark highly in other areas and that you will keep staying with us as long as we do so. You can sign up to our rewards point scheme, as a regular customer you’ll be able to earn points really easily.

Thanks for your time and continued support.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel convenient for the Bay.
Good large rooms which are invariably spotless. Even better since they have got rid of the computerised tellies!
Big firm (and for me therefore comfy) beds.
Will be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westwalesfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear WestWalesFoodie

Although your review is short it is also sweet. We are very happy that you will return again and we hope that each time you stay you will have as good an experience, if not then much better.
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, your opinion is very much appreciated.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Spent a night here with friends as we were going to the Opera in the mellenium Centre. Check in and check out was easy, quick and efficient. The room was nice very clean, with two large double beds, well equiped bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV. Didn't eat dinner here but had a drink in the bar after the concert. Staff were friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble.
Had a good night sleep but breakfast was chaotic. We arrived at 10.10 on the sunday morning and there was a queue of about 10 people waiting to be allocated seats and to pay. We had already paid for breakfast when making booking. When I told the cashier that we had paid she said we still had to wait. Breakfast finished at 10.30 and by the time we got to the food there was very little left and staff started putting things away before we could even make a cup of tea. Breakfast food was average. Judging from the amount of hens and stags here they should make the breakfast till 11. Not many people want to get up early after a Saturday night out! If this could get sorted the hotel would be perfect. However, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Candicemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear CandiceMarie

Thank you very much for spending the time to review our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your overall stay and that the services we offer were to your satisfaction. We will also take on board your suggestions about breakfast. One of the problems that any hotel has on the weekend is the influx of people arriving for breakfast past 9.30am. You are correct that we have many stag and hen parties on the weekend and they do tend to wait until the last moments to take breakfast. We are also very sorry that you found breakfast rushed towards the end. We will discuss your comments with all of our F&B department at our next meeting and we hope that we can find a solution that will help ease the queues and heighten the professionalism of our services.

We are delighted that you would stay with us again and I hope that we can make your next stay perfect.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
3,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $78 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing