We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but breakfast very average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but breakfast very average”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel itself is pretty good. The location is easy to get to, there is a very large car park, and the room rates are reasonable (we paid £75 for B&B).

The rooms are well appointed. Good size bed, quite firm but that suits me. There was a sofa and easy chair, desk area, 32in FreeView TV, free wifi (which is pretty fast - I made video calls on my iPad and they went through fine). The bathroom was clean, with a very good shower (albeit over the bath).

I had a good nights sleep, which is rare for me when away from home - the hotel was quiet, despite being close to a main road / roundabout.

The only disappointment was the food at breakfast. It was a buffet style, whic I have no problem with, but the food was generally overcooked, except the bacon and srambled eggs, which were barely cooked at all. They had also run out of coffee, and I spent 5 minutes waiting for some then gave up. I ended up having ceral and orange juice. If the breakfast had been as good as the room, I would have given 5 stars.

Room Tip: I was on the north side, which was fine, but the views are beter on the South.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicked2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    1,424
    424
    140
    75
See reviews for
997
1,267
101
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at the Future Inn this weekend and we were impressed with the hotel. Location is ideal, only a short 5 minute walk to Cardiff Bay, the rooms were very clean and spacious. There is plenty of parking available. If I were to find a minor fault with the whole experience, then I would say the staff on the reception could be a little more welcoming. However, this did not detract from our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomJ147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed for two nights at this hotel. I found it to be top quality - extremely clean, quiet even though pretty busy, and top quality. Very spacious rooms, great breakfasts with lots of choice including fresh fruit etc, very friendly staff and easy to get around and navigate. very convenient location although may be a bit tricky because of the roundabout and main roads. I felt safe, comfortable, and all conveniences in room were great including hand held shower (relatively rare these days). Free local calls from hotel phone system and free wifi internet! brilliant!

Room Tip: I was on level 4 and it was ideal - very quiet certainly despite the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stav1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Excellent location for a trip to Cardiff. Close to millennium centre and docks. Short walk to Dr Who experience.

Clean spacious rooms were good value in this modern hotel. Restraints both on site and close by.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I am staying here a lot at the moment for work. The rooms are OK, nothing special but they are clean and well furnished though the electrical fittings in my last few rooms have not worked properly (strange twist light switches on lamps which seem to break easily and are not repaired). Restaurant average and breakfast served from 6:30 can be a a bit greasy. Man problem is form the noise which is the same both front and back as the hotel is one a very busy intersection - my advice is to go as hight as you can to try and avoid it. Good parking and access to the cinema etc but its a stopover hotel not a stayer.

Room Tip: Noisy - get as high as you can (rear seems to be slightly quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HyddaMedras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
186 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was generally disappointed with my recent one night stay at this hotel. I was downgrading from my usual range of 4 star hotels because the Future Inn was about £20 cheaper at £73 B&B. Check-in was carried out in a robotic and unwelcoming fashion by one of three girls standing behind the desk. They continued chatting to each other whilst the process of checking-in got underway and didn't give me any information about the hotel and its services. My room and bathroom was spacious, clean and offered everything that I needed, but the quality of the bed and linen was disappointing, even for this type of hotel. In consequence to the inclement weather conditions during the evening, I decided not to venture out to any of the good restaurants in Cardiff Bay, and decided to give the hotel restaurant a try. Whilst the service was friendly enough and appropriate, the quality of the food was a major let-down. Both my starter and main was almost inedible. (Minestrone soup appeared to be tinned spaghetti in tomato sauce with some veg thrown in.) Although the self-service breakfast contained the usual fare, it was uninspired and lacking in quality. Thankfully,check-out was much friendlier and the free parking was very much appreciated. To conclude - my future when staying in Cardiff is not at this hotel and I will be looking elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshman_on_2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visit this hotel regularly when we attend performances at the nearby Wales Millennium Centre for which it is very convenient. We are always very disappointed if we cannot get a room there because they are already fully booked. This alone suggests that it is a much used and liked hotel. We must have visited this at least 30 times and the standards of the rooms and their cleanliness set a standard by which we judge other similar establishments. Also, the rooms are all of a good size so that you never feel cramped. The beds are amazingly comfortable! We'll be back soon ........... and by the way there's good parking at the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th. or 6th. Floor are better if there is a function downstairs on the Ground Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
1.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Property: Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing