We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Cardiff”
Review of Penrhys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penrhys Hotel
Ranked #37 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked to stay the one night. Rang to say we would be arriving around 9pm and no problem. Stayed in room 4. Cosy ground floor room with shower en suite. Breakfast is good wholesome English with help yourself to juice and cereal. Location is good with a 20min walk into the centre of the city.

Car park at rear and safe.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEJA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 178 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very enjoyable stay, ideally placed for the centre of Cardiff and the Millenium Stadium. We booked to go to The Judgement Day Rugby games and the hotel was perfect for what we needed. The breakfast set us up for the day, we didnt even need to get any lunch!!
Very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karoben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our en suite twin room was comfortable, clean, conveniently located, and quiet (even overlooking the street). The included hot breakfast was enough to keep a coal miner going all day - three meats, egg, tomato, beans,and toast, plus an assortment of continental selections, coffee, tea, and juices. After breakfast, we enjoyed a cup of coffee in our twin room at a small table and chairs with a nice view out the large bay window. Pay cash at check in to avoid a small service charge for credit/debit cards. At 60 pounds sterling for a convenient, safe, friendly, clean place that includes en suite bath, coffee/tea in room, HUGE hot breakfast, and secure off-street parking, this place is a bargain,

Room Tip: First floor is very convenient to dining room for breakfast, and only one flight of stairs from entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you want a hotel room,that is clean,good value for money and near to the Center of Cardiff, The Penrhys is just the ticket. This hotel is steeped in history and the decor reflects that; but the friendly staff and hearty breakfast completed our stay, if your looking for a bargain break in Cardiff and good service try The Penrhys. thanks again for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed for a Xmas shopping trip good location approx 20 min walk into Cardiff, staff helpful and let us park early,room and hotel was clean although dated in style, bed was a little soft for my liking but that's just a personal preference. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casperboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I just wanted to let people know what a lovely weekend my partner and i have spent at Penhrys! The building is beautiful and as i work in the building industry I really did appreciate all of the original features, we even got a stunning four poster bed and breakfast thrown in too! My partner can't usually sleep away easily but i needn't have worried, he was out cold both nights thanks to the comfy bed and peaceful environment.
The location is perfect, barely a five minute walk into town, i was worried that the road may be a bit busy (only as the Rugby was on) but the second that front door closed behind us we couldn't hear a thing from outside.
The staff are as warm and welcoming as you could ever wish for and extremely helpful, a real credit to the business!
I will be recommending the hotel to my family, friends and clients and i will definitely go and stay with them again when we next visit Cardiff x

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor in a four poster room and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here in October great little budget b+b can't fault it. Lovely breakfast and close to town center. Have booked again for next year, if your looking for somewhere close to city center with a lovely breakfast and great price then you can't ask for no more

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Elen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.6 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 74 in Cardiff
600 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#2 of 47 in Cardiff
594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
2.2 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
4,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhys Hotel

Address: 127 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range: $68 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penrhys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy bed & breakfast ideally situated within 10 minutes walking distance to the millennium stadium. Free wifi and free secure parking. A warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Penrhys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrhys Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing