We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
34
75
49
26
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
75
49
26
21
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 205 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I didn't enjoy my stay at the church hills at all. My room and en-suite had a lot of damp, especially in the en-suite. My room looked very tired and in need of some urgent attention. And then to finish it of they messed up my bill and gave me three different prices. I would say to anyone thinking about booking with this hotel....DON'T THE HOTEL IS VERY RUN DOWN AND STAFF VERY RUDE

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cupcake2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

We are sorry that your stay did not come up to scratch, we would obviously like to chat to you about your stay, if you would like to make contact, please email us at churchills@sabrain.com Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I booked into this Hotel, as we were travelling from place to place, this was i deal to were we wanted to visit in Cardiff. We booked in for 5days. The building was grand, such a big building. The interior is very old but appealing. Staff very Friendly & Well Trained. Management checked every day to make sure we were happy in our room, with service etc. My husband and I made friends with staff members who we believe were very good at their jobs. Rooms were serviced everyday. As I am Disabled with Rhmatoid Arthritus we were put in a big room with easy access to everything. Parking right in front of room..
I recommend this hotel to anyone Travelling, Outstanding Customer Service . Good value for Money

Room Tip: We obtained Churchills Hotel by searching on the Internet for good value for money, where the hotel is situated for Buses, Taxies, how far to travel at places for sight seeing. I belive Churchils yicks all boxes
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for staying with us Barbara and taking the time to write such kind words on here. Hopefully, we will see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Value for money-£54.95 for a double room online includes a "you wont need lunch" sized breakfast and access to a Brains pub for evening meals.Staff (especially Mark on breakfasts) and Debbie on reception were as pleasant as can be.We were upgraded free of charge to a Mews cottage which should have been at extra cost so no complaints there. A few minor niggles like the mattress in the room had seen better days and the tea bags in the dining room were cheap and nasty-mostly dust of the floor of the tea factory judging by the taste! Everything else fine-convenient for Cardiff's attractions,why pay more for a probably superior (Lenny Henry approved)bed ! Note my sat nav showed the building on the opposite side of the road to where it is so we missed it on the first lap round.

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade to a mews cottage
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for your comments, I have passed over your praise to Mark (Sparky) & Debbie! We hope you decide to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We booked this Hotel for a Friday night stay before a 6 nations rugby game. The reception staff were very helpful and fas. We stayed in a Mews cottage, which is the best choice. They are at the rear of the hotel and nice and quiet. We ate here too in the bar. I had mixed grill and have to say it was one of the best,massive. The beer is Brains and a good choice. The staff are all great. This is a budget hotel and is well worth a stay. Only 2.5 miles from centre of Cardiff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you very much for the comments, we do get a lot of love for our mixed grill and we are glad enjoyed, see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I booked this hotel as a last minute choice as I had a four day course to attend = thinking that I would be refreshed and ready if I stayed locally. I was booked into a single room and was asked to pay for the whole duration of my stay the moment I arrived. The reception had a welcoming open fire and comfortable seating. I was informed by pointing where the breakfast would be served and the directions to my room, I requested a daily newspaper and given my key. My room was directly above the reception on the first floor. I cannot recall and please or thank-yous or even any pleasantries. during the first evening I heard the music coming from the reception, however, when I went down to ask it to be reduced in volume, there was no-one to be seen. This became rather repetitive throughout my stay. I went back up to my room and suffered the boom boom boom of the music until 11 pm where it was stopped. My first night was not very comfortable as the bed was like a board, hard and very uncomfortable, however, I was sure that I would sleep the second night. I decided to go out for dinner and returned just after 9 pm. I waited in reception for approx 15 minuets before someone came to give me my key. I mentioned to the receptionist that my daily paper was not delivered, only to be told "it's nothing to do with me as I was on leave last week" In my room I decided to watch TV, however, the music again was so loud I could hear it over the TV i was watching, again it finished at 11 pm. I was disturbed all night by loud talking and laughter coming from the reception area I awoke three or four times throughout the night. When asking in reception that morning I was told that there was only one person on night duty and so it could not have come from there. I returned to the hotel later that day around 6:30 in the evening to find the receptionist reading my paper. When mentioning to her that I had not had my paper delivered she said " oh this must be yours" and handed it to me. The new two nights were the same as the previous in terms of noise, not paper being delivered and having to wait for the receptionist to attend either in taking my key or providing it upon my arrival. The hotel itself was no more than I expected although think that the three stars it has should be more like two. The room was basic, the bed very uncomfortable, lack of service in reception annoying, not having a paper outside my door frustrating. On a positive note the food was hot and not too bad, but that is about it.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us. Thank you very much for your honest review.

We would obviously like to talk to you about your stay in more depth, if you would like to do that please get in touch churchills@sabrain.com.

Kind Regards

Craig Sutherland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews