We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
34
75
49
26
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
75
49
26
21
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 205 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My son and I stayed at the Chuchill recently and we found the hotel a warm and inviting place to stay. The staff are super friendly and efficient. I suppose if you look hard enough you can find little faults like peeling paint and the marks on the walls etc but who really cares when you stay in an old manor house like the Churchill? We think it adds to the character that is often lacking in the typical mainstream hotels on similar room budgets. Breakfast was hot and served with a smile and we had enough food to keep us going way past lunchtime .If your looking for a nice place to stay for a few nights that's ideally located for the city centre, look no further. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maljinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Your comments are very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Shower pipe work is musical and can be noisy and the water stream works at the same frequency but all things considered it is a very beautiful hotel with many old fixtures and fittings long gone in the over restored alternatives

Plenty of free parking and within a short walk to all of the hot spots in central Cardiff or about £7.50 back in a local taxi. Very quite and restful even being on a main road and close to the action you would never know inside the hotel. The double room is recommended which are very nice size and big bathroom plus cupboards etc.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice from a full English to cereals and loads of Danish pastries yogurt and fruit. The choice is yours to enjoy.

The staff are very helpful and friendly which adds to the hotel and its clean and tidy condition. Good value so close to a city centre and far enough out not to be part of the full and games in the city centre over any weekend

Room Tip: Double room or better as the single is very small
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Apologies for the musical plumbing, I think we have that issue in hand now. Your comments are very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

superb everything perfect would reconmend 100% the rooms are perfect with all the home comforts.the bar well stocked and the food good one does not have to travel to eat.
cardiff centre is only 5 minutes away
just stay abnd enjoy

Room Tip: Just stay and enjoy
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmark1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We decided to see the new yr in this yr at cardiff, we booked the churchills cottage, we found that not only was this great value for money but it was clean, warm and nothing was too much trouble, from asking for extra pillows to booking our taxis. The rooms need a lick of paint but overall we were very happy. The breakfast was hot, brought to us quickly by friendly staff. I will definatly be returning next yr and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: For an extra £15.00 a night i would definatly book one of their cottages
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed for one night and the bed was super comfy and the staff were excellent. As far as I was concerned it was good value for money and I would stay there again or recommend that you give it a go and stay there

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews