We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has seen better days”
Review of Churchills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Churchills Hotel
Ranked #46 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Has seen better days”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Yes, has seen better days -a long time ago. I stayed here about five years ago and found it shabby, down at heel, threadbare then - all that but assumed some refurbishment would have taken place. It has not. The staff were largely friendly and helpful and there was a good breakfast but you have to feel sorry for them working there in an environment that has had so little investment and so little care taken of it. It is a great pity because it is in a nice part of the city, very convenient for roads west to the coast and east to England and for central cardiff. There are some lovely parks within walking distance too but none of this compensates for the low quality of the fabric of the accommodation. I'm sure you could find better deals for the price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trebor57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    75
    49
    26
    21
See reviews for
39
67
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at Churchills in February when we went to Cardiff to watch a rugby international. Whilst the staff were helpful and friendly the rooms lacked any welcome and there was damp around the windows in the bedroom and most of the bathroom. Despite the fact that we booked into a double room we were given one bath towel and one hand towel. We felt very let down. I grew up in Llandaf and my memories of this hotel were far better than what we experienced. I thought I must be suffering from a case of nostalgia but the breakfast proved me wrong. Anaemic sausages and bacon - broiled in chaffing dishes in very small supply topped the experience. Never again - if every hotel in Cardiff was full for £150 per night for a damp room I'd rather
Pitch a tent in Llandaff fields. I thought I had reviewed the hotel at the time but obviously didn't. The friends we booked to stay at the same time were offered a free night at any hotel in the chain at a time to suit them after they complained.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello, we are very sorry we did not come up to scratch during your stay. We do endeavour to please every guest that stays at Churchills and obviously we failed to do so this time. If you do want to stay with us again please contact us on 02920 401300 and we will make sure you have the perfect stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Lovely old Mansion House, but unfortunately was very tired and needs re-furbishing badly,
The room was clean and plenty of Hot Water available, All the staff were very friendly and helpful
for the price you can't go wrong, 1 room was upgraded from a single to a double at no extra charge which was really nice of them very close to Cardiff City Centre which we walked to through the parks , Breakfast was medico very basic water cold for tea/coffee staff nice hot food was edible but presentation was to be desired
All in all a nice Hotel - very reasonable priced and friendly staff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The carpet in the room could do with a decent blast, and there are aspects of the accommodation that might be due an update. However, all the people who help run this place and keep it going are really friendly; the breakfasts are excellent; when I stayed the hotel was busy but quiet during the night; the key elements of the room (ie the bed and bathroom) were scrupulously clean; finding the place and the free car parking is easy; and the 25 minute walk into town is pleasant, either via the main drag or the park(s). The hotel bar (though I didn't have time to use it) has a charm that properly sits between hotel and pub that isn't easily found these days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. - Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

we arrived early which was not a problem as the very friendly bar lady/receptionist sorted us a room straight away, for the price we found the hotel to be fine.The location was excellent a lovely twenty five minute walk through the park and along the river taff breakfast was very busy as one friendly waiter was running around on his own trying to please everyone,yes it does need a new carpet and a bit of bleach to rid some mould on the grouting but the bed was crisp white linen and lovely fluffy towels and for the cost and location worth it and we will go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Easy to find, good location or city centre with good car park facilities.from reception through bar to chef and waiters the staff were excellent, efficient and courteous .
The heat was exhausting for all, though the open windows throughout eased things. The food for lunch and dinner was great, good variety and well cooked and presented. Breakfast again good.
The room, although small, a single, had usual coffee/tea kettle and pack of biscuits, en suite bathroom with powerful shower and quality soap and shampoo,
Quality towels and bed linen.
Niggles ? Yes the fire alarm went off during the night.
Overall though great value for money.

Room Tip: See what rate you can get. Don't be put off by a room at the front, street noise not significa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments. Apologies about the fire alarm waking you up. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed during hot weather spell - ground floor 'apartment'. Windows opened without any security. Décor very dated and in need of serious refurbishment. Fire alarm went off twice during the night - no mention of this and no apology. Breakfast was served by one (very amiable) waiter but he noted that no toast was available due to no toaster. Cannot see why they couldn't have done 'something' - it is not as if they are not in 'town'. Bathroom was dirty - grouting disgusting.
Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canolbarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello, we are very sorry we did not come up to scratch during your stay. We do endeavour to please every guest that stays at Churchills and obviously we failed to do so this time. If you do want to stay with us again please contact us on 02920 401300 and we will make sure you have the perfect stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 73 in Cardiff
122 reviews
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Llandaff
Maltsters
Maltsters
#18 of 44 in Cardiff
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchills Hotel

Property: Churchills Hotel
Address: 3 Llandaff Place | Cardiff Road, Cardiff CF5 2AE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Hotel Class:3 star — Churchills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Churchills we offer a traditional style hotel with modern facilities and excellent service. It is the ideal venue for any occasion. So if you are to stay for business or pleasure or just want somewhere to 'pop in' on the way home from work, Churchills is just perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Churchills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchills Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing