We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and clean.”
Review of Churchills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Churchills Hotel
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in a large room that could sleep 6, and we still had room to move around! The pull out bed was already made up on our arrival, and despite a wedding in full swing when we arrived, we were seen to quickly and politely at the reception. There was plenty of car parking spaces and a phone in the reception area to use to phone for taxis (the centre of Cardiff a 5 min drive away). Breakfast was served until 10 on a Sunday and even though we turned up at 9.50, we were greeted with lots of cooked breakfast still avaliable and we weren't made to feel rushed at all.
Overall, a good, clean, friendly hotel, an ideal base in Cardiff.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 205 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We found the hotel to be quiet and comfortable. Not too far from the city but too far to go back into town when everything we wanted to order for diner was not available. There were two large dogs in the next room. I'm not sure I really want to stay in a hotel room which my previously had animals in it..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a 2 room suite in the annexe. Two couches two desks and a king sized bed Best accom during a 6 week holiday. The hotel is a bit dated but the meals and the price were right. Bus at door and am and ample parking.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doobasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

A lovely litle hotel with immense potential.

What is lacking in terms of some refurbishment is well balance by the elegant and friendly and warm service by the General Manager Nick and his team. The staff are always eager to help and make you feel welcome. The suburban location is quite nice for those looking to unwind and relax and is a comfortable walk from the city centre. Well appointed rooms are slightly dated but can surely make you smile. All in all loved the experience, and will definitely come back.
Kudos to Nick, and his team too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Yes the rooms are a little tired but I have been in hotels at twice the price where the rooms are positively exhausted in comparison. I was a single traveller and instead of the pokey little hole that I have come to expect the room was light, airy and a double (admittedly not a large one). It was clean, well appointed, with a decent sized bathroom and being at the top of the building I even had a good distant view of higher land and trees ( the near view was not so good but I could see how to escape in case of a fire-very important-). Breakfast was generous. There was a buffet with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, pastries, croissants, fruit juice and really quite good coffee for a hotel (there could well have been more but I lost count). On top of that there was the option of a cooked breakfast which I declined but saw being delivered to another table (a very large plate). So if you want a good night's sleep in a good location with the opportunity to breakfast till you burst for £45 (yes £45) then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francis161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

THIS HOTEL IS TIRED!!!!!!!!!!!!!. The staff are fantastic. the carpet is threadbare in places , the walls are scuffed and in need of a lick of paint. the day we arrived there was no chef, due to a bad back. the reception was not manned as the skeleton staff were busy elsewhere in the hotel.
the window in my room did not lock and as i was on my own and the room was at the front by a busy road i asked to move. i was put in a room at the back of the hotel. i felt a bit tucked away but the room was fine. the bed was spotless. the bathroom very clean. tea and coffee facilities are excellant and replenished every day. the staff more than make up for the hotel. as does the food in the bar. chicken, bacon and stilton salad well recommended. also the raspberry pavlove sundae as recommended by debbie. shame the breakfast was not so good. cold plates soon cool food. would of loved a fried egg but felt i could nt add to the staffs overloaded itinery. debbie and dale are both excellant members of staff and carry this team and more than make up for what else is lacking. it is due a refurbish and would be happy to return at a later date to see this lovely house restored to its former glory. come on brains its time to invest in this little jewel. c. owen

Room Tip: any room here would be good. there was a wedding on the weekend we stasyed but it did not impede our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarabel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Churchills is an attractive hotel not far from Llandaff cathedral. My room was large and had been well appointed. However, running repairs to the curtains and the wall lighting had not been carried out so the former did not close and the latter were hanging off the wall. The bathroom was generally very clean but was let down by the fact that the toilet brush was standing in a pool of very discoloured water. Also the quality coat hook on the back of the bathroom door had punched two holes into the wall as there was no doorstop at the base. What was basically a pleasant room was let down by a need for some very basic repairs/maintenance.
However, the food and the waiting staff were excellent. The food was varied, of good quality and very reasonable, served by smiling staff.
The hotel could easily be so much more!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bayston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
1.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,309 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wynford Hotel
Wynford Hotel
#40 of 74 in Cardiff
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
1.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchills Hotel

Address: 3 Llandaff Place | Cardiff Road, Cardiff CF5 2AE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Hotel Class:3 star — Churchills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Churchills we offer a traditional style hotel with modern facilities and excellent service. It is the ideal venue for any occasion. So if you are to stay for business or pleasure or just want somewhere to 'pop in' on the way home from work, Churchills is just perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Churchills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchills Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing