We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One weekend...different story!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff
Ranked #34 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Just come back from Cardiff and had a cracking stay, The Beverley is what you pay for: comfortable room, good welcome, friendly staff, cheap drinks and pub food.

If the menu says £3-£8, Michelin stars are doubtful. £50 to stay isn't going to appear in Mr & Mrs Jones but what the Beverley does, it does very well.

I was made to feel like a local (of whom there seemed to be a bundle of happy characters with nothing bad to say about the place) and the staff couldn't help enough - they like a natter about the great things to do in the area and gave me many reasons to come back - not just to Cardiff but the Beverley itself.

The hotel and pub is full of happy customers and the atmosphere is really friendly and that comes down to the staff and the manager who were really helpful and even put up with me coming home late without my key! Ooops, sorry manageress!

I've read another review here for about the same time and all I can think is it's from a travel bore. If you want 5 star book the St Davids. But if you want a real place where locals and staff are happy to mingle and talk like friends, come and stay here. It does exactly what you'd expect - comfortable, 10 minute walk to town, great atmosphere, safe and friendly...all for £50, bargain!

This part of Cardiff, according to friends who've visited is pretty expensive but there's loads to do locally in Pontcanna and The Beverley is the perfect place to spread your wings. The happy staff made it easy to stay and hard to leave. Thanks...you should get a raise!

Room Tip: Make sure you have the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woolleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 224 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2011

On arrrival was well impressed with the cleanliness of the room. was traveling with a group of mates and was well impressed with having a room over a proper pub.With the close proximity to the stadium i can recomend this one to all the munster fans travelling to the next final.Very friendly staff, had a great time and looking forward to the next stay.

Room Tip: just phone, very helpfull staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I would firstly like to point out that i am very well travelled and have stayed in hostels to the best 5 star hotels across the world, and isnt one to moan but the female manager or owner of this place ruined my whole weekend ! i didnt have high expectations being in the center of cardiff but my god it was filthy,smelly roooms, curtains hanging off the walls old tatty furniture and stained bedding and even the toilet had poo around the rim !! very dusty televisions that dont work properly.
Rude staff terrible breakfast and as for the owner what a very messy,slobby and dirty looking women! i fell into a few conversations with some of the regular drinkers at the bar area and they seemed to agree that she does seem to be the cause of many problems! and can be a nasty lady. she was very rude to me. i will be making a formal complaint to the company as i think they should look closer into the buisness. I bet they have lost allot of money due to her awful attitude !! I WONT BE STAYING here again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seren00881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

on first appearance it looked good. Friendly staff you couldnt fault. The bar down stairs was great. good beer and cheap prices. HOWEVER, the rooms looked clean and tidy when we dropped our bags. Thats appart from the flys in the room. Never mind we got rid of them. Then after enjoying a lovely drink in the freindly bar we went back to the room. Some one elses poo in the loo. It hadnt been cleaned. Also an rotted banana skin on the floor. Maybe thats where the flys came from. The shower didnt work properley. There was no where to plug the shaver in by a mirror. There was a notE in room explaining, we dont change towels every day to to saving the enviornment. SAVING MONEY MORE LIKE.. Try the 2 pound breakfast. abused chicken eggs tasetless. But you do get what you pay for. Some one else payed for me so i have no idea of the rates. But I am sure there is better palces.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

This was an excellent choice for an overnight stay for a concert at the :Millenium stadium. Staff were helpful, food good and good value. Easy to walk to stadium and city centre and station. Car Park available. Most places were insisting on a 2 night minimum stay and were charging over the top rates but not The Beverley.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieNearSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Regardless of the beauty of the building and the perfection of it's location wild horses would never get me to stay in this hotel ever again. I was disappointed in my stay last year due to unfriendly staff and cleanliness of staff but chose to give the hotel another chance due to its location. I entered my room to find curtains barely hanging from the windows, rubbish in my bathroom bin, a broken bulb in my overhead light and a very unsafe unsecured carpet in the entrance of my room. My stay this year found staff to be more friendly but the cleanliness of the rooms to be equally appalling. Couple this with an extremely rude Owner/ Manager who chastised a colleague for collecting his key as the time had passed and she was having a private drink in the bar. After our apology it would have been great is she had just smiled and wished us a good night instead of berating us like naughty school children. As i say never again

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaffa112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

i have visited the beverley or 'the bev' as my friends & i have renamed it, on several occasions when going to cardiff for gigs & im actually quite shocked at some of the reviews i have read on this site.
my friends & i are all around the 24-28 age range & when there are 6plus of you we do tend to find many places are slightly reluctent in wanting us to book with them. we were therefore very surprised at the warm reception we all recieved when booking into this hotel. the staff even actually look like they were happy to be there & enjoying their job. we werent just signed in with basic plesantries, the staff took a genuine interest in trying to help us with any questions we had, even the odd strange one! the manager was in the bar on our 1st arrival & hearing that there were a few of us in reception came out to see if she could help with anything & to wish us a nice stay!
after signing in & making our way to the rooms, we were impressed to find nice clean rooms with extra blankets over all the beds, plenty of large & small towels more supplied on request & tea, coffee but most importantly biscuits! all our rooms were en-suite, which pleased me greatly as i have a phobia of having to use shared public toilets as im sure alot of us ladies do!
after making ourselves presentable we went down to the bar under the hotel, its reminded me of my local. lots of friends sat around enjoying each others company, no stares or dirty looks for not being a local, just smiles & the odd hello from people as they passed & caught your eye.
the staff, seeing a group of girls asked us if we were off to the gig in town & suggested several places we could try going afterwards if we were planning on staying out. we all had a a pub meal, which only one of us could finish as they were so huge, great value for money! breakfast was even better, a few of us were slightly worse for wear the next morning & we ate enough food to keep are bellies full for the rest of the week!
when checking out the manager asked us how our stay was saying that it was such a pleasure to have such a nice group of girls staying. we all agreed that we had enjoyed our stay & that we would be back. true to our word we have all been back at least once, some of us more. i wouldnt stay anywhere else in cardiff now & look forward to my visits with staff always remembering us & asking how things have been, another give away to how amazing this little find was for us, how often does a pub/hotel have such a low turn over of staff? they are definitley doing something right!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starsintheport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
1,264 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#22 of 74 in Cardiff
931 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 74 in Cardiff
123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff

Address: 75-77 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $76 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotels in Cardiff, our lodge offers budget accommodation close to the heart of the city. So whether you're here for business or pleasure, you'll be near enough to all the action, yet happily away from the hustle and bustle. The Millennium Stadium is just a 15-minute walk away, as is Cardiff Arms Park, and attractions such as Cardiff Castle and Cardiff Bay are also within easy reach. While you're sightseeing, how about stepping into the future - or the past - by visiting the Dr Who Experience? Of course, you won't need a Tardis to get to us because the M4 is on the doorstep, and excellent rail and plane connections are just a taxi-ride away. As for the lodge itself, our classic Victorian building was once a rich man's townhouse. Today it's anything but expensive to stay here. With a comfy bed and a cool pint or plate of hearty pub-food available in the pub downstairs, you'll find it offers a great-value base for exploring the Welsh capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverley Hotel Cardiff
Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing