We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Went to Park Plaza with my partner for an anniversary. Lovely hotel and great service from the staff. Breakfast far exceeded my expectations and was thoroughly enjoyed. Although, the breakfast staff were very eager to whip your empty plates from you as soon as you ate your last bite! Bedroom was nice and well kept. Bathroom was a decent size but shower was a little difficult to work but overall a great stay! I would recommend it. Also spa facilities are good!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea_Davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    694
    185
    69
    43
See reviews for
304
808
113
496
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We visited the Park Plaza in 2013 as a child-free weekend away. The hotel was well placed, beautifully kept and the staff were wonderful. We had an issue with the bed being wonky but the maintenance arrived and repaired within 10 minutes of reporting. We spent a lovely evening in Cardiff and went to a fabulous restaurant recommended by the reception. Unfortunately, our youngest was taken ill and we had to cut our break short by a day.

Having contacted the hotel to thank them for their help and support when we left in a hurry we were kindly offered to return on a Sunday to complete our stay by Margaret (who has been brilliant throughout). We took them up on this offer and finally returned (with kids in tow) in March this year. Well to say it mad up for the cut short holiday is an understatement. We had been upgraded to a family room, treats had been left for the girls. The size of the family bed was stunning and the girls loved their pull out sofa bed! The staff were just as wonderful (The only name I can remember is Lucy!), if not more, than before and my daughters had a pampering like they never have had before with use of the pool, hot chocolate, cinema trip and a jaunt down the river to Cardiff Bay and back. Topped off with a lovely breakfast at the hotel the next morning.

The experience at the hotel on both occasions was wonderful, but they really surpassed my expectations the second time. Thank you for a magical stay for my girls :) we shall be back!

Room Tip: The suite definitely outshone the double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is a very good hotel. I am extremely glad that we chose to stay here over other accommodation in Cardiff. I have no complaints about any of the services or facilities that I have used while staying here - not even the cost of the mini-bar.

An incident did occur during our stay (details not relevant) and I was extremely impressed with the way that the duty managers (Jordan and Amy) dealt with it. It is that aspect that allows me to rate the Park Plaza Cardiff as excellent overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

My mum and I stayed at the Park Plaza for a spa weekend and we both thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We booked a suite on the fourth floor, I wrote in my previous review that we had a poor nights sleep as the noise from the rooms above was constant through the night, so asked to stay on the top floor this time. The room was huge with a separate seating area with a sofa and two chairs, a large bed and a beautiful bathroom, we also received a welcome tray with wine, water and macaroons. We had a great nights sleep, no disruption from noise from other rooms or outside, so I would definitely recommend asking for a room on the top floor. Once again, the breakfast was delicious and the service was good. The service we received at the reception desk on check in and check out was also very good.
The Park Plaza is in a fantastic location in central Cardiff and the quality of the accommodation, standard of service and the breakfast is in my opinion, is the best in Cardiff. I would definitely recommend a visit to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor and at the back of the hotel for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyrhondda2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Arrived at the hotel to a lovely reception area and friendly staff. I'd booked the hotel for my boyfriends birthday so had ordered a cake and balloon in the room for our arrival which was lovely. Our room was 409 and at first glance was clean and spacious. I did notice that the room was looking slightly shabby, scuffed walls and quite badly chipped wardrobe doors and side tables etc but I thought that was me being a bit picky. Anyway, decided to plug my phone charger into one of the main sockets and the socket actually came off the wall! (I'm sure this is basic health and safety??) soo at this point I was thinking was this really worth the £105 I had paid for one night, i was a bit disappointed! Then came the broken window, we noticed straight away that the room was quite noisy so after about 10 minutes realised that the window was slightly ajar.. Tried to shut it and realised that it was broken, we thought it may have been user error until we noticed the mouldy curtains and huge damp patch on the wall! (Surely the cleaner would have noticed this when she was cleaning?? Or maybe not because there were bugs on the window sill) At this point I'd had enough and went to reception to complain about the general maintenance of our room. I spoke to a really helpful lady who moved us to room 405 which was fine and we had no problems at all. We couldn't fault the helpfulness of the staff and the breakfast in the morning was really good but there are plenty of other better hotels in Cardiff.. I would not recommend this hotel based on room quality at all, Overall it was ok.. But I won't be rushing back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Park Plaza Cardiff.
I am very disappointed to read your comments regarding the maintenance issues you experienced during your stay. Our housekeeping supervisors do check all rooms prior to guests checking in to ensure that they are up to our usual top class standards, but it appears that on this occasion certain things were missed, for this I can only apologise.
On a more positive note I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the reception area and our staff, and I hope you both enjoyed your boyfriends’ birthday.
Once again thank you for your review and I hope to welcome you back to the Park Plaza Cardiff in the near future. If you would like to discuss any of your comments then please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I had a great weekend at this Hotel recently. The rooms are spacious and modern and clean. The room we were in overlooked a very lively night-time scene, but didn't bother us.

The cocktail bar was a great start to the evening The cocktails a bit pricey, but delicious and what a brilliant atmosphere.

A great central place to visit Cardiff, with a bus stop outside which takes you to the bay area, which is a bit nicer than the chains outside the Hotel. Walking distance to the shopping areas of Cardiff.

We ate breakfast in the hotel, but not lunch or dinner. The breakfast was really good, with a lot of choice in fresh fruit, cereals, full english buffet style, and even a fresh pancake machine (I want one of these!)

The Spa was small, but had a lovely sized pool, jacuzzi and steam room.

All in all a fabulous weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobEarls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here with my mother and sister for a weekend break. We were very pleased with the hotel which was clean, well appointed and comfortable. Every member of staff we encountered was friendly, helpful and smiley, and the food in the restaurant was extremely good!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing