We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pure luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“pure luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Had 1 night stay with 3 course meal & spa treatments on daughters birthday, what a lovely experience it was. Lovely quiet room,fab beds, lovely evening meal, all staff were very attentive. Spa treatments were best ever with lovely staff. pool,hot tub,sauna all spotlessly clean. just 2 little moans, having to pay supp for sea bass & lamb shank, plus horrible orange juice for bfast, it was cheap & nasty, please get the real stuff. Thank you Park Plaza.

Room Tip: ask for room at the back or centre of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    694
    185
    69
    43
See reviews for
304
808
113
496
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I did so want to like this hotel due to the central location BUT the management is terrible and just puts you off ever staying again - which I will definately not. The staff put on a brave face and were great, but on the front desk they had to watch in pain as the manager was repeatedly rude to residents. I stayed a week and was rather shocked by his behaviour,sort of Bazil fawlty without the humour and more agressive - he chased one guest into the lifts to continue his assault !!
The rooms are ok but noisy. the walls are paper thin...But do be aware that at night the bar is one of the local drinking haunts and the whole atmosphere changes from a pleasant inner city hotel to a disco night club...complete unfortunately with door to door bouncers, which is not nice when you come in a from late night of work and just want to get to your room !
I did so want to like this place and I will write to the hotel to see if they can change the manager at least ! But for the time being avoid.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M121960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaCardiff, Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

As a management team we were very shocked to read of your experience and wish to apologise to you for any upset experienced. Our passion to deliver above and beyond and to exceed guest expectations at every encounter is what we pride ourselves on and what makes an experience at Park Plaza Cardiff as memorable as many reviewers on this site and other sites have described it to be. We go to great lengths to ensure that we employ team members and managers with great enthusiasm, friendliness and warmth and a genuine interest in looking after our guests.

Being a very popular city centre venue the security of our residents and our staff is of utmost importance to us and we would like to express our apologises if you felt uncomfortable by the presence of our security team. Thank you once again for your constructive comments and please free to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at about 5.00 p.m. on a Friday evening and the foyer was full of people getting ready to party. As it is the lead up Christmas, the hotel was quite full. There was a rugby team there, but they were given their meals on a separate floor. In this part of Cardiff you can expect lots of rugby supporters. The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. We had dinner in the restaurant, and despite being busy, we were given our drinks very quickly, and had a delicious meal without waiting too long. Our room was large and very modern, immaculately clean, and the bathroom was also big with a walk in shower. I liked the fact that the towels were white and fluffy, sometimes towels can be quite thin and worn, even in a nice hotel. So, that was a big plus for me.

Room Tip: If you can, book a room at the back of the hotel, as this hotel is very busy, and it will be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We travelled here for one night for a family member's birthday in October. On arrival which was around 7pm on a friday night, we were told there was no record of our name or booking, which took a little while to fix. Although it must be noted that the staff were very polite about this. Didn't leave us with much hope though. As we were meeting friends, this wasted rather a lot of time for getting ready. Once we got to the room, I didn't particularly think much of it. The duvet was pretty dirty; brown stains on it…lovely but we didn't notice it until morning. Similarly, the view of the car park was not particularly picturesque but this can't be helped. Liked the bar and the foyer area. luckily, we went to the club opposite until 3 in the morning and so missed the noise we would otherwise have heard. Try to avoid a room facing the road if you don't plan a trip to Oceana. Overall, it is of course a nice hotel but it just didn't seem to keep up the standards that you would expect for the extortionate price! The bathrooms are very spacious and clean but the rooms themselves seemed quite poorly kept.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JPExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Third time my partner and I have stayed. A really fantastic experience once again. Customer service at its absolute best. Staff are professional and friendly, the rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. Was very pleased to be given the room that I requested. Excellent service from Lucie on reception - absolutely flawless. Evening meal on our last night was fantastic, delicious food, fantastic atmosphere and our waiter, Michael, was professional, well mannered, efficient and very friendly. Cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaelz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We returned to stay for a second year, as part of an overnight rugby trip (Autumn International).
The hotel is in an excellent location, very close to the extensive shopping centre and within easy walking distance of the train station and of course the Millennium Stadium!
The rooms, spa and breakfast all offer excellent facilities and value.
The staff are knowledgable and professional, especially the staff on duty at breakfast - this has been the case for both stays.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the trees at the back of the hotel - the front of the hotel over looks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I travel on business a lot. In an attempt to avoid the awkward feelings of being a woman on my own in a restaurant ,I have had to endure many room service meals , but tonight I have had one of the best meals I have ever had the pleasure to order. The team at Park Plaza Cardiff have made my night by delivering the most impressive belly pork dish I have ever eaten....thank you.

I stay here a lot as the team are so friendly and they have a great gym, but tonight I have discovered another great reason to return. See you all next week!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to the theatre at panto time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshinteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing