We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location.”
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My favourite hotel in Cardiff, stopped here for one night on business this week....the rooms are clean, large with well appointed en suites , location of the hotel cannot be beaten, good value for money..4 star for £ 85 PN including an excellent breakfast, the only down side is the parking £ 14 PN in the NCP car park opposite which looks like it was built around the turn of the century. I'll be back next month!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,634 - 1,640 of 2,444 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

A very nice 4 star hotel!!,spacious rooms, high end decor, friendly staff, very good bar and restaurant, good breakfast and very good service. Very good postition in city centre. Can't wait to return.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had booked for the more expensive hotels but based on other reviews changed to this one, Glad I did. Perfect location, It is clean, good staff and service all around. Small niggles but I choose to ignore them, as well, it is Cardiff and it is in the centre. Great for night outs and restaurants. Everything is walking distance. My companion visiting from Australia shopped till she dropped - and we returned to hotel with the bags of shopping. She actually cancelled a shopping trip to London though that hotel refused to refund the £200 per night! Doesn't matter as she enjoyed it in Cardiff and got what she wanted. We stayed 3 days. The coffee /tea making facilities are great. Free usage of the pool which opened at 6:30 and I was standing there at 6! Brilliant . All in all a very good choice indeed. PS the noises we heard in the early mornings are the seagulls rather than drunken and leery clubqoers ...plenty of clubs opposite the hotel etc. I slept very well. The aircond in the heat is ACE!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 01Ella01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at Park Plaza for just one night in up-graded room.(needed a safety deposit box for our paperwork and jewellery). Room of low standard with regards to cleanliness. Tea cup had sticky handle as did the kettle in room. Curtains looked 'grubby' and the net curtain is very grey and looks dated. Bath robes well worn and need replacing. Bedding Clean. Safety deposit box did not work and leaking tap in the bathroom meant that we had to keep putting one of the batroom towels behind the tap as the whole vanity unit was wet.

we reported these faults.

on check-out the following morning after some dispute with the duty manageress, she told us that we were not entitled to a refund of any kind as that the safe being inoperable was not really 'any big thing'. She then told us that she would need to go and inspect the tap to see just how bad it was!!! ( i can only pressume that they operate a severe tap leak - minor tap leak policy)

The previous evening we had to take our passports, e-reader, mobile phones, all credit cards, a wallet, large ladies purse and my jewellery with us to THE THAI HOUSE, where we were eating as we did not feel that we should leave them in the bedroom un-secured.

eventually and reluctantly she gave us £20 off our very over-priced room.

Last time we stay at this 'middle-of-the-road, over-priced hotel.

Staff seem to be so miserable in their jobs it seems to be reflected in the service and attitude.


Try another hotel.... it has to be a better option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RUTHIE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaCardiff, Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We were most concerned to read your comments with regards to the standard of cleanliness and maintenance in your room. It is most unfortunate that you did not bring these concerns to our attention during your stay thereby giving us the opportunity to correct them. Our Team were not aware of any concerns until you were checking out when you demanded a discount.
We fully understand that guests need to have their valuables kept in a safe for security reasons and if we were aware of the issue, this would have taken priority with our maintenance team. Following your feedback they checked the safe in your room and it needed a replacement battery. With reference to the leaking tap in your room our maintenance engineer could not find any fault or drips.
I am very shocked by your comment with reference to staff being miserable, as you will read from other reviewers, our staff are our biggest asset and we receive positive feedback on a regular basis about the friendliness of our team members. We take great pride in offering our guests top class quality accommodation and friendly service and we wish to sincerely apologise to you for any shortcomings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Park Plaza in Cardiff on a Friday night. As we have 3 children we stayed in a suite which was such a fantastic size and had enough beds for all of them. As it was our youngest was in a cot and there was more than enough room for that as well as a sofa to relax on!

The room looked out over trees in the river despite the fact that it is really central.

The bathroom was fantastic - absolutely huge with a separate shower and bath, loads of nice products and great bug fluffy towels which were really nice.

Breakfast also great - a pancake machine which the kids loved! And then all the usuals - pastries, fruit, lovely selection of breads as well as hot food so you can have a full Welsh breakfast if you decide.

A really nice hotel we will definitely return to.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in a Junior Suite which was very nice but I personally wouldn't put it in a 'suite' category, it was basically a bigger size room with seating area. There was a mini bar in the room, but this was locked. The room was clean, well maintained and very tastefully decorated/fitted, as was the bathroom with a walk-in shower and bath with shower head. There was a large 42' flat screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities, bottled water, half bottle of red wine, regular toiletries, slippers and robes. We had turn down service, think this is however only for the higher grade rooms. I did find that the walls were practically thin to the point you could clearly hear other residents running the taps, flushing, talking, coughing, turning in switches etc, plus there is a clock tower nearby the hotel which sounds every 15 minutes, understandably these things are out of the hotels control late at night and early in the morning they are frustrating if your trying to get a good nights sleep. We had booked breakfast which was hot and to a good quality with plenty of choice. All staff from reception, maids, dinning areas were professional and friendly. There is a spa/health club at the hotel which residents can use free of charge, this includes, large swimming pool, steam room (which wasn't working properly, so was more like a humid room) and a whirlpool. There is no car park at the hotel but there is an NCP right across the road in front of the hotel which you have a 20% discount, we paid £14 for overnight. All in all a very nice hotel, would I stay hear again? With the vast choice of similar hotels in Cardiff probably not as, as I said we found it a bit noisy. Hope this helps you with your choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
4,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $99 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing