We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Venue”
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Ipstones, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Business Venue”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during a business course earlier this month (March 2013).
Staff were very helpful, extremely efficient and very friendly. The evening food on the one night I ate here was just above average, but the wine was good quality. The breakfasts are outstanding, and you could fill up on a range of food to suit all tastes from full English to continental, or have it all and not eat for the rest of the day.
The rooms were spotlessly impeccable, and the bathrooms were fantastic. The swimming pool and spa were superior.
Definitely recommended, although some delegates were on the front of the hotel, and complained of the night life being very noisy, so i would recommend asking for a rear facing room.

Room Tip: Rear facing to avoid the noise of the night life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGD1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    716
    190
    73
    47
See reviews for
311
844
113
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Group of 15 of us stated here as part of a weekend sport event. Location is good in terms of getting to city centre and easy road access. On entering the hotel it has that grand look but is also backed up with friendly staff and generous sized rooms, which were clean. Food was good and the group did have a great stay. Price was competitive but like anything always worth looking for deals online. Will most likely stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamiesimpsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I booked my wife a spa afternoon and joined her for dinner in the evening and we stayed over. We have stayed before and the standards were fantastic now as they were the last time. The staff have a lovely relaxed but professional manner that seems natural and the whole experience always feels special. my wife thoroughly enjoyed her spa treatments and the food in the restaurant was fantastic. I had the lamb cooked in 3 ways and each way was perfection. We were recommended a great Rioja to accompany my lamb and my wife's pork dish and it really worked well. All in all it was great and we will definitely be back (the next time we can convince granny to babysit overnight)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and toddler last year and have only fond memories.

The hotel is located in a trendy part of the the town and is very close to the shops. When we arrived checking in was efficient and the staff were warm and friendly.

Great decor (modern) in the reception and similar decor in the rooms. We stayed in a quite part of the hotel with views overlooking a small stream at the back of the hotel.

Room service was good, and the breakfasts were amazing... the staff were only too helpful and really engaged with my 3 year old and made a lunch goody bag and everything you would expect from a warm hotel.

The pool was good and the facilities were impressive.

The only pain was the parking which was across the road but was in an NCP that closed overnight - if you are popping in and out a lot then you have to revalidate your card every time. This is probably the case for all the city centre hotels so I guess it's to be expected - you can't expect free parking on site.

Also not an issue for us but there is a bar/club opposite and the area was very crowded and busy and LOUD at night (again to be expected given it's the city centre).

I loved the relaxed atmostphere, the room, the facilities and the staff. Would certainly stay there again for a short break and use the Spa facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maanam_abx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed in the Park Plaza in January for a spa break with my daughter and sister. The spa facilities are great, very relaxing and staff are helpful. We had a junior suite which was very spacious and the beds extremely comfortable, and the bathroom had the best power shower I have ever used at a hotel.

The food at the hotel is average, the waiter tipped a drink all over my daughter, apart from an apology there was no reduction off the bill, disappointing.

The bar has lovely cocktails although these are pricey, what you would expect in all fairness for a 4* city centre hotel, but very nice all the same.

I would definately go back for a relaxing break :)

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious and good value, deluxe room are also very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandy_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaCardiff, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Park Plaza Cardiff. First and foremost may we apologise for any inconvenience caused from one of our waiters accidently spilling a drink on your daughter and we are to disappointed to read that only an apology was offered at the time.

We would however like to thank you for your lovely comments with regards to the hotel and spa and we are delighted to read that you both enjoyed our range of cocktails. Our cocktails are priced at £8.00 each and our champagne cocktails at £9.50 they are all freshly prepared with the finest of ingredients to ensure the highest quality and taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Park Plaza Cardiff from Friday 28th Dec, for 3 nights, departing on Monday 31st Dec, aiming to enjoy its central location for post xmas sales shopping and a break from the endless turkey sandwiches at home! Because I've stayed in almost every hotel in Cardiff over the years, except the Plaza, I was intrigued to stay a little as word of mouth had been good from others.

Firstly, parking - there is a large NCP opposite the Plaza, it can fill up - get there in the evenings after 6.30 I'd say if your looking for a space or early on weekends. Location wise, its pretty much just off the core shopping/bar/restaurant streets of Cardiff, and only a short hop to the bay via cab (rank just to the left of the street if need be) so ideal if your a shopper and party goer. Even a standard room is big, very tall, double height rooms, gave the impression of big spaces, and a big bed and plenty of room in general. Bathrooms are a fair size with everything you would need. Can't comment on the better range of rooms, as the bulk of our spending money for the occasion was held back for 'the sales' a standard room was ample for our needs. What I would say is, if your looking for a good nights sleep, ask to get away as far as possible from the entrance street as possible - it gets noisy and stays noisy. There are bars and clubs the other side of the street and unless you enjoy the delights of hearing ladies from the valleys screaming at 1am "they need a kebab" (if your lucky that's the worst you will hear) then I suggest you ask for a room a bit further away from the 'fun'. If your actually here for fun, it probably won't bother you.

We enjoyed room service, have to say very prompt and not bad value - only place in living memory that offered a fish finger sandwich - which was a lot classier than you might think once it was delivered i'm pleased to say! The bar and restaurant are nice and the little lady enjoyed the spa, getting an excellent massage she tells me - which wasn't bad value again in comparison to other spa's we've visited.

I think the location is a big seller, and all the staff were helpful and courteous whenever needed - a solid 4 star, but for a bit of better sound proofing for certain street facing rooms I would remember our stay a bit more fondly I suspect.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper, ask for rooms away from the bar and clubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJHowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed for a 1 night visit to Cardiff. The staff were amazing - helpful and personable. The pool and gym also very smart and well maintained (it is exactly as in the picture). The location is good for the town centre shopping, but is a distance from the oggin and on a noisy road right opposite Wetherspoons, Tiger Tiger etc. As you'd expect, the noise went on until the early hours which didn't make for a great night's sleep.

The room itself was a bit on the small side, basically furnished and with an odd minibar that didnt't let you even open it without having left credit at reception (would have been good to know this when checking in). Some of the fixtures were also bit tired, eg towel rail hanging off the wall, and whilst the visible bits were clean, it was quite dusty beyond that.

Parking was around £15 for 24 hours over the road in the NCP - no valet parking which we were a bit surprised at for a self proclaimed "luxury four star hotel" - but that does include a 20% discount you can claim when checking out.

Breakfast was good if not amazing, with food left under hot lamps for too long, but also with a novel pancake machine and the usual selection of fruit, juices, breads etc. We also ate in the restaurant in the evening which was very impressive, will review that separately as it is a distinct eatery from the Hotel.

Overall, it was fine for a one nighter but the lack of sleep would start to take its toll after any longer. The staff were great, but the hotel itself a bit disappointing. When compared to other four star establishments, it felt like it had ticked the boxes to get its rating rather than really striving to be as good as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaCardiff, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to feedback to us your recent experience at the Park Plaza Cardiff. Please may we convey our formal apologies to you at your dissatisfaction with the cleanliness of the bedroom and we are embarrassed to read that you found the condition of the room not to our usual high standards and we can assure you that we will be speaking to our Housekeeping team as a matter of urgency.

We note your comments in regards to noise and may we apologise for the issues you experienced with the sound from the streets outside the hotel. As the surrounding area of the hotel is a popular city centre location you will find that there are a number of late night revelers in the area so we have added secondary glazing and then further sound proofing with acoustic panels and wall insulation to mitigate the impact of the street. We can assure you we do take all issues of noise seriously with management engaging in regular dialogue with the council regarding the policing and noise pollution caused in the city.

I am delighted to read that all staff you came into contact with during your stay you found to be helpful and personable and we will be passing your lovely comments on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing