We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive with some flaws”
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
164 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Expensive with some flaws”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This is a rather expensive hotel, especially for Cardiff (but the Park Plaza chain is expensive). That isn't a problem if you get the quality and service that goes with a high price but this one doesn't quite come up to scratch.

The good points are:
- Location - couldn't be more central
- Decor/style - smart and up to date
- Restaurant - good choice, well cooked, friendly service, good wine list
- Nice bedroom (but see below)

The bad points are;
- No car park and the NCP they ask you to use across the road is very expensive
- The reception staff are a bit snooty and officious and not always efficient
- The first room we had smelt and the bathroom, which was a wet room type, didn't drain properly and became a swamp for the second user (and the toilet didn't flush properly and the shower was broken). This really isn't acceptable in any hotel, let alone a luzury hotel.
- It took 1/2 hour to bring our bags down from the 1st floor. Ok a lift had broken but they could have walked them down the stairs in 5 minutes. The real problem was that the weren't putting the customer first.

I want to be fair here because there is a lot that is good about this hotel, for example we have 3 excellent dinners and breakfasts, but they really need to sharpen up on the bad points.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 105!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Covenant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,170
    715
    190
    73
    47
See reviews for
311
841
113
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Stayed here for one night before a work meeting. Having read the reviews I felt slightly disappointed by this hotel: it is a comfortable and well decorated hotel but nothing exceptional.

Check-in was friendly and quick. The room was large and well furnished (although no radio channels on the TV, which disappointed me). I was in the front of the hotel but had no problems with noise.

Dinner in the restaurant was good but the service was extremely slow: more than an hour to wait for our main course despite it not being particularly busy. We didn't mind as the conversation was good, but this seemed excessive. Breakfast involved queuing for several minutes to be sat at a table which was more annoying. However the food was good once we got there.

Overall this hotel is fine (if a bit bland) but I would read the glowing reviews with a pinch of salt.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mxlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

First and foremost, may I please convey my formal apologies to you that your stay did not meet your expectations and you left feeling disappointed.

We take all of our guest’s feedback very seriously and I have reviewed your comments with our management team so that we may improve on the areas you feel we fell short. I do hope that if you return to Cardiff, you give us the opportunity to deliver the 4 star standard and service that we pride ourselves on and prove that the comments listed below are more than justified.

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to convey your comments to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This is not only my favourite hotel in Cardiff but also one of my favourite Park Plaza's.

Everything is spot on and the value for money is quite brilliant as the price is so speacial for such a great hotel.

I love the staff, the rooms, the common areas and the bar and restaurant (especially when it's all on expenses).

What made my last visit all the more special was an incident in the restaurant. Dining alone I was busy reading a local magazine at the table. To my horror I knocked my Mojito over and it smashed everywhere on the floor. The staff, sensing my embarrasment, quickly cleared it away and brought me another drink and also gave drinks to the couple on the table next to me. Great service and we had a laugh about it, although embarrased I still left the table and went to my room.

10 minutes later there was a knock on the door and the restaurant manager had sent another mojito for me to drink safely in my room. Now that is what I call service going to the next level.

I always look forward to staying here and would happily recommend this hotel as one of the best value for money in the country.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Stayed for two nights, had room service both nights for dinner and was fantastic.

Parking across the road would be the only minor minor niggle but was fine - and 20% off via reception.

We had a room facing the road with the bars on, and no noise issues at all.

Usual Park Plaza standards (stayed in a few of the london ones) so all in all very good.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobsterlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I was a guest at the hotel from 9th - 111th April, during which the X Factor contestants happened to be staying in the same hotel! They were very pleasant people, however the hotel manager treated myself and my group of friends like hooligans, marching us to our hotel rooms and generally talking to us like we were children. We were not causing any problems at all and were quite respectful of the guests and other staff that were working that weekend.

Best feature of the hotel had to be the spa and swimming pool. The executive rooms we were staying in were very roomy. A special thanks goes to Steve who was working that weekend and treated us respectfully and not like children.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SophieSpencer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

The weekend in question was exceptionally busy for the hotel with many fans of the X Factor Contestants visiting the hotel both day and night.

All of our team here at the Park Plaza Cardiff continually strive to maintain the exceptional 4 star standards which we are renowned for on a daily basis and this was no exception on the weekend you mention. Please accept our sincere apologies if you feel that this was not the case for you and your friends.

On a positive note, thank you for your comments regarding your room and our leisure facilities and I will pass on your thanks to Steve.

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to convey your comments to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingersoll, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

perfect location for exploring the city, most attractions within walking distance and extremely helpful staff. Beautiful and clean room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPC-ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

very good city hotel.modern, clean and in a good central location.requested a quiet room as there are several bars directly opposite.-( would recommend doing so).All the staff are very manerable and courteous.Gymnasium is of a very high standard.parking is on a ncp public car park directly opposite on which you receive 20% discount. we also saw the x factor tour performers who were also guests;. one direction, cher,matt ect .overall would recommend and will return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,027 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing