We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great position but....”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here in January after heavy snow, so the lovely harbour side position lost a bit! The hotel is alright but nothing flash - the staff try hard but everything is not quite right. Good position for restaurants etc but the rooms all need a bit of sprucing up - I felt quite nostalgic watching a television like the one I had before flat screens were released. Personally, I would avoid room 1 as whilst it is big with a generous bathroom and shower, the thumping bass from the bar downstairs and the light from the spotlight outside the window make sleeping difficult, esp for light sleepers. Probably would not go back.

Room Tip: Avoid 1 - noise/light etc Avoid 3 - dodgy shower set up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolyons-hotel, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Andre1982

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all of your comments. We are looking towards modernising the bedrooms in the not so distant future with flat screen tv's and a mini bar alongside other items. I can confirm that the light outside room 1 has now been moved and shower in room 3 has been carefully looked at, i can only apologise for the music coming from our famous Bar Cwtch, we do our best to keep the noise levels to a minimum and try to give good warning on our website prior to arrival.
Again I would like to thank you for your comments and would very much like to see you back again soon !
Many Thanks

Owen Denman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    98
    34
    31
    24
See reviews for
27
219
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at jolyon's in Cardiff Bay for 2 nights. Very comfortable, clean exclusive b&b with good size rooms and bathrooms, room had all the necessary amenities good wifi and with a comfortable big bed. The room could do with a little modernisation flat screen tv/audio system and better shower heads for people who don't have the time to relax in a bathtub. Breakfast is basic and could do with a better continental selection and fresh breads, condiments would make a big difference.

The best part of the establishment is the hidden bar downstairs "bar Cwtch" it's a small intimate warm bar which reflects the welsh word "Cwtch" perfectly!! They offer a small but adequate food menu with a large selection of pizzas what they seemed to be known for are fantastic. Owen and his team are very welcoming and went out of there way to insure my stay was a comfortable one.

Perfect location and a comfortable room makes Jolyon's a must stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Calum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolyons-hotel, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Mr Calum R

My sincere apologies for the late reply, your comments are very valuable to us. Thank you for your kind remarks in regards the bedroom, we are very happy that we could provide you with a comfortable nights sleep! At our hotel we pride ourselves on our luxury baths resulting in a basic yet comfortable shower for the quicker guests stay ( except for room 1 where we offer a Large walk in wet room shower !) In regards to the televisions and the sound system, we are looking to modernise the bedrooms in the not so distant future, alongside offering a more extensive continental breakfast option.
Thank you also for your kind remarks towards Bar Cwtch, the bar is still as warm as ever and we hope to see you here at Jolyons and bar Cwtch again soon !

Many Thanks

Owen Denman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife & I stayed 20/21 Dec 12, We were in room no 1. A 4 poster bed at least king size, large bathroom with wet room shower and separate bath, T & coffee (Instant & cafeteria) and free Wifi. The room was large and bed extremely comfortable, shower hot & powerful and the towels actually dried you. This room is above the kitchen in the Bar below(Bar Cwtch) so it stays warm. All the members of staff we encountered(Chris, Steph, Rimana and Hannah) were exemplary in their customer service and totally genuinely friendly, quite refreshing! After our evening out at the theater we returned for drinks in the cellar bar(bar cwtch pronounced kutch means hug & this is where the breakfast is served) In the morning breakfast was cooked to order and of the vegetarian type with cereal, pastries, fruit etc all available. Overall an extremely pleasant stay and would return.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms there and no 1 was ours, I would therefore request this one again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icdabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

stayed at jolyons last night lovely clean spacious room staff were friendly and very helpful.. had an extra treat that the band the saw doctors whom we were seeing that night came back to the Cwtch bar and we had a singalong to end a perfect night.. .. the only draw back of being in room 5 that the bathroom window though had a blind wasnt frosted so any1 cld see u if u was sitting on the loo.. i will def be staying there again.. great little place

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We chose Jolyon's because it was near to the theatre - we were not told that parking would cost £7 a day! At first they told us they had not received a booking from Laterooms until I pointed it out on their computer. We were offered a room for one night and another room in their other hotel.Room 1 was over the bar (noisy), and over the boiler (extremely hot). it was not safe to open the sash windows because it faced the street.
Laterooms were useless. After telling them all about the booking problems they then offered to put me through to their complaints dept. I have suggested they have one dedicated number which you can dial and THEY can sort it out. Shame - because my other bookings have all gone well. I guess you find the real value of a company when the going gets tough.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in Jolyon last friday to go and see a show.It is the perfect place with very friendly staff.We stayed in room 6 and the place was spotless with breakfast was great.We would go back again.I would recommend this great little hotel.
Mr+Mrs Moghaddam from Neath.

Room Tip: Room 6 with lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saeid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defford, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here to watch rugby at Millenium Stadium it was easy to get too the match and lovely area to visit. The room was clean and warm with a lovely view of Wales Millenium Centre. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend. Breakfast was very good and cooked in front of you so fresh again very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Room 5 had the amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolyon's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Property: Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Address: 5 Bute Crescent, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolyon's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegantly restored Georgian town house is situated in the oldest terrace in Cardiff Bay, opposite the millenium centre. We offer superb luxury accommodation, comprising of six lavishly furninshed, luxury bedrooms. Facilities include king-sized beds, Wi-fi facilities, free-to-view television, beverages, some with views of Cardiff Bay. Sumptuous en-suite bathrooms, include one with a whirlpool bath and one with a wet room appointed to the highest standards, with extra large fluffy towels, .Delicious full welsh breakfasts or a generous seasonal buffet are served in our Bar Cwtch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Jolyon's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyons Boutique Cardiff
Hotel Jolyons Boutique
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing