We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant halal food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chicken House

Chicken House
Ranked #248 of 1,215 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Fast Food, Barbecue, Grill, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: If you love chicken then this is the place for you. Chicken House specialises in fresh chicken. No processed and no frozen. Our fried chicken is coated with our secret recipe breadcrumbs, which are famous for their distinct flavour. Our grilled menu offers a variety of authentic flavours - freshly prepared & delicious! We have extended our opening hours until 2am and don't forget, we are also open from 1pm-2am during school holidays! All kids meals £4.50, served with fries & drink!
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant halal food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great food and service! Visited before going to the cinema. Excellent value for money. Big portions and friendly staff!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1food1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    14
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“finger lickin'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

eat here about 2 -3 time a month on average. Good food, good service, consistent and clean.

I usually go for the half chicken in barbecue or lemon and herb with sides of steamed veg (when Im being healthy!) and some times chips and beans! If Im really hungry I will add a few fried wings .
They have refills and one of the few places you will find Vimto and Irn Bru on tap

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zishan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not quite nandos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Decided to try this place after a trip to Hollywood bowl, and was expecting a lot more than what I got. I assumed it was going to be similar to nandos, however I was disappointed to find the chicken rather bland , I would not label it as bad, because it was ok, I was just expecting a bit more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmdf1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Soon good we went again the next day lol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We headed to OFF in Leckwith but I'd completely forgot Wales were playing at home and it was traffic nightmare.
Hell bent on eating chicken my one daughter said Chicken House was supposed to be good as all her friends at school were talking about it.

I was really surprised
Cleanliness was exemplary,and the decor and furniture was great.
Plenty of space and seating.
The gentleman was very helpful in making our meal choices as there was a multitude of meal variations.
Value for money was great but most importantly was the quality ingredients and the fantastic TASTE
I had the half flame grilled chicken marinated in lemon and herbs.
It was so good my girls insisted on taking Mum the very next night lol

Please do yourselves a foodie favour....Eat here...you'll lo've it I promise!!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChickenHouseUK, Manager at Chicken House, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Chicken House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cold and Tasteless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I heard about this place but I never expected that I will end up there one day. Thanks to my wife who encouraged me to go and try and I agreed.

Peri Peri Grilled Platter was recommended by the staff as most popular, so I went along with his choice.

Our order arrived within 5 minutes which was surprise to me! One would expect grill order to take at least 20-30 minutes.

Started eating, the chicken, chips, rice every item was appeared as it has been reheated and there was no flavor or taste to it.

I was appalled by the standard. Staff never came around to ask if every thing is ok? Waht a waste!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SRaza330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChickenHouseUK, Manager at Chicken House, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Chicken House. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologise that we did not meet your expectations.

For future reference, please let the Manager know immediately if you are dissatisfied, as we would be more than happy to replace your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicken House also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Chicken House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing