We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely cottage, convenient for Cardiff”
other travelers have booked this property
Cardiff Cottage (entrance)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cardiff Cottage (entrance)
Comfortable Lounge View from lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Cardiff Cottage (entrance)
Comfortable Lounge
View from lounge
Kitchen/Dining
Dining/Kitchen
View from kitchen to private garden
Double Bedroom 2
Patio surrounded by flowers in summer
View towards rear of cottage in spring
Cottage Garden
Garden in spring
Front of cottage in spring
View from front of cottage
Access road to Cardiff cottage
A walk along the Taff river, very near the cottage
Llandaff High Street (Pubs, coffee shops, restaurants)
Cardiff Bay area
Mermaid Quay at Cardiff Bay
Millennium Centre in Cardiff Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Cardiff, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
happylitt...
Queensferry, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely cottage, convenient for Cardiff”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

had a lovely stay, nice well equipped cottage and owners very friendly and welcoming. Cottage was so lovely and rural, yet very close to the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
60Norma
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet but perfectly situated”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the cottage and Helen and James made us very welcome. The cottage has all you need. Very near local railway into Cardiff centre and also local shops.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tberry199...
1 review
“An absolutely lovely cottage ideal for a Short break or holiday with lovely service :).”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We was going to a concert in Cardiff and wanted a lovely place to stay. We found this beautiful cottage, Nice location and nice welcoming owner. Was ideal for our short break and not to far from the City center where the stadium was that our concert was at. Overall was brilliant and would love to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseVoi...
Wertheim, Germany
1 review
“very pleasant, comfortable and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We enjoyed our stay very much - thank you for the friendly and warm welcome!
It's a perfect place to stay with children and a dog. The cottage itself is very nice - you just must feel at home.
The surroundings are perfect for a walk and to relax after a trip to Cardiff town or Bristol.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Docking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing find”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We've stayed in a few self-catering places in Cardiff and this one is amazing. It's so quiet and rural and yet only a few minutes by car or train to the city centre. Llandaff is very pretty with some great restaurants and pubs, but you've also got easy access to a huge supermarket if you want to eat in.
Helen and James were very quick to respond to our enquiry and friendly and welcoming when we arrived. The cottage is very comfortable, clean, warm and well equipped. We hope to stay again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet and rural location close to the city.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uva82
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ms Ellen Lyons”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I stayed for four days on a business trip to Cardiff. The owner, who lives next door, met us, and was friendly and honest about the limited nearby dining options. The cottage was clean but spartan; there was no welcome pack apart from a pint of milk and a roll of biscuits. The beds were nicely made up but miserably uncomfortable. The cottage appears quite rural as it sits beside the river, and there are quiet periods. These are regularly interrupted, however, by a busy adjacent rail line, making it difficult to sleep in or to work during the day. Our biggest objection came when the charge appeared within days on our credit card. To the rent of £390 had been added a previously unmentioned £55 "booking fee" (we booked it ourselves online) and a £35 cleaning fee which must have been charged before we even left the cottage (which we left quite clean, never having used the kitchen, sitting room or one bedroom.) The effect was to increase the cost of our stay by more than 22%. This may not have been a problem if we had avoided working through holidaylettings.co.uk, a company we'd never used before and certainly won't again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2015
This review is from the same source as one entitled Avoid Avoid Avoid, so my response is the same. Suffice to say, please don’t be put off by this and the one other negative review as they represent a minority of one and none of the comments are factually correct. All my other guests have been very happy with the cottage and I would ask you to please read the other reviews, which are all more realistic. This pretty cottage provides self-catering facilities for a reasonable price in a convenient and unusually rural location in the capital city of Wales and is really good value. All the relevant facts about cost and facilities are clearly listed on the website, together with photos of every room and the location. Sincerely, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginiaD...
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Avoid, Avoid, Avoid. Hidden fees.”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Basic cottage, but if all you need is a foam mattress it'll suffice. A busy rail line is only a few metres away, so there is considerable noise. Central Cardiff is closer to 25 min away with traffic. The most irritating aspect, however, was that on a 4 day rental for £390, we were charged a £55 booking fee plus a £35 cleaning fee (for two people who only slept in the cottage), neither of which was disclosed in advance and which increased the cost of the rental by 23%. We've used holiday lets for 20 years, but this was the first and last time with holidaylettings.co.uk.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2015
Please don’t be put off by this review as it is in a minority and the comments are not factually correct. All guests except this one have been very happy with the facilites at the cottage, and I would ask you to please read all the other reviews, which are more realistic.
The local rail line, with few trains, is not close to the cottage. It is not “noisy” as stated and this same guest in contradiction to themselves commented to me by email about how lovely and quiet it was. In addition, the local station is what makes the cottage so convenient for guests without a car.
It is a fact that the cottage is only a 10-12 minutes easy drive to the centre of Cardiff which is 2.5 miles away. It is not a 25 minute journey as stated.
The quote includes all costs and there are absolutely no hidden costs. This comment is totally untrue so this person obviously did not pay attention to the quote.
Be assured, there are normal mattresses on both beds and no “foam” mattress.
This pretty cottage provides self-catering facilities for a reasonable price in a convenient and unusually rural location in the capital city of Wales and is really good value. All the relevant facts about cost and facilities are clearly listed on the website, together with photos of every room and the location. Sincerely, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing