We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always high standards”
Review of New Theatre

New Theatre
Ranked #19 of 160 things to do in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always high standards”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I've been going here since I was a child. I can honestly say, I've never had a bad experience here. Its a gorgeous theatre but I would recommend sitting higher up because it's a much better view. The boxes are really good too because you are closer to the stage. Always top class shows put on all throughout the year. Easy to get to, walking distance to the train station and it's near really nice restaurants. The stair case leading into the theatre is really grand, like something from a palace, which always gets me in the mood to watch a show. I think there are three bars where you can get cold drinks and snacks from. There are toilets which are always nice and clean and the staff are always really helpful and polite.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    109
    28
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice Evening”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Went to the New Theatre in Cardiff to see 'All Creatures Great & Small', as it was a big birthday for one of our party we went for a Box to make the event special.

The theatre foyer was smart, modern, clean, fresh looking, the stair case is wide looks very elegant, the carpets look new. Inside the box was clean and comfortable and although I thought it may be difficult to see the stage we didn't have any problem.

The only downside was the bar maid seemed to lack experience and when asked for an orange juice and lemonade actually gave an orange juice with a splash of lemonade - not quite the long cold drink I was going for on a very hot evening!

The greatest shame was that so few people attended the show which was very well done but with so few people in the audience it must have been difficult for the actors to perform - they were clearly very professional and played very well.

Such a lovely theatre, worth going here to see anything here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMWBexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“All creatures great and small”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Go see this play! It is on from Tuesday to Saturday! Saw it in Brighton and it's brilliant.
It's the gritty true story of the vet James Herriot made famous by the TV series of this name. Despite the pig on the poster the only actual animal is a Westie! The other animals are there ok because of very clever staging and brilliant acting by Oliver Mellor, Mark curry, Susan penhaligan and Lee Latchford Evans. I don't want to say more- just go and have a wonderful evening or matinee out at the theatre.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tennisview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level Contributor
285 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Let it Be show”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Booked last minute to see this show & so glad i did, was wonderful, I sang along from start to finish, in fact the whole audience did. used the theatre's own website to book tickets, which was easy & great to be able to collect tickets at box office on day of show. Had great seats in the circle, great view & comfy. Theatre bar served good selection of drinks 7 snacks 7 all staff friendly & polite

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank helenyazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Let it be :)”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a fab theatre, so quaint and no matter what the seat you will have a great view of the stage.

The decor has so much detail, it is great to see a theatre with character

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rebecca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Theatre also viewed

 

Been to New Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing