We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cafe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaspers Tea Rooms

Jaspers Tea Rooms
Ranked #3 of 87 Coffee & Tea in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Jaspers has been nominated as on the 11 BEST places to have Afternoon Tea in Cardiff! If you have enjoyed one of our afternoon teas please vote for us on the Wales Online website and help us achieve this fantastic status. Thank you, The Jaspers Team xx
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely cafe in picturesque setting, friendly staff, yummy cakes and good coffee, what more could you ask for from a cafe!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs M, Owner at Jaspers Tea Rooms, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for visiting Jaspers and taking the time to write a kind review. We hope you will return and enjoy your nextt visit just as much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    41
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Nice place ,excellent service and delicious sandwiches but bit disappointed that none of the gorgeous looking cakes on the counter appeared on our cake stand instead of plain victoria sponge, plain madeline and cookie. They were however nicely baked.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueMCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs M, Owner at Jaspers Tea Rooms, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for visiting Jaspers and taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea and received excellent service from my team. i have taken your comments on board with regards to the cakes in the cabinet not being on the tiered stand. We have tried various options and in the past have used the cakes from the cabinet but have found they were too rich following scones clotted cream and jam. For sometime now we have been using a home made plain jam victoria sponge along with various other cakes and biscuits, we have had positive feedback from customers. However, if you do return and would prefer a slice of cake of your choice from the cabinet, please mention this to the staff serving you and we will be happy to accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
169 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely little find in Llandaff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Have been here a few times with friends for lunch & have never been disappointed. The food is lovely and fresh and the cakes a real treat! Service is always with a smile, swift and efficient.
There's a lovely, quiet atmosphere and the layout is quirky.
A great little find in Llandaff village and well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eleri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs M, Owner at Jaspers Tea Rooms, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for visiting Jaspers and taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you and your friends enjoyed you visit and look forward to your return, which we trust will be just as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Visited here with a friend recently. We had afternoon tea. The sandwiches were lovely, the scones melted in your mouth and the victoria sandwich was perfect. A special thanks to the staff- they were very accommodating in booking us a table and when I rang to rearrange the time of our visit as we were running late, they were fabulous and very polite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ge0Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs M, Owner at Jaspers Tea Rooms, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for writing a review with regards to your visit to Jaspers. I am pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea. It was definately not a problem to rearrange the time of your booking, we always try to ensure customers are looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely for a light lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I live in Cardiff I'm retired and once a week I meet up with two old colleagues and we use a different tea room or coffee shop every week for lunch. Last week we went to Jaspers in the pretty High Street Llandaff. What a gem, The food was excellent and very fair value, the place itself is very quaint cosy and inviting. The Sandwiches and the Corned beef pie were fresh and tasty with good sized portions, but the cakes were terrific one portion of the Guinness cake was enough for two of us. We'll definitely be going there again, thank you Jaspers and to all the young staff who were most accommodating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank champs1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs M, Owner at Jaspers Tea Rooms, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for visiting Jaspers and taking the time to write a review. I hope yourself and work colleagues will visit us again for another piece of Guinness cake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaspers Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Jaspers Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing